We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #94 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ohio, U S A
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Andaz 5th Ave is a great place to stay -- as is the Andaz Wall Street. Friendly, accommodating people in front, lovely modern, clean rooms with big windows and terrific baths. Have stayed here several times. The 5th Ave hotel is a very convenient location, close to museums, restaurants, shopping and other visitor interests. Complimentary mini bar snacks and wine at happy hour. We used the Wall Street hotel as guest hotel & for rehearsal dinner for son's wedding last April and we got rave reviews from friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anewadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Anewadventure,

Thanks for the terrific review! Please let me know when you're back so I can meet and thank you in person.

My very best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,655
    528
    165
    62
    35
See reviews for
506
957
140
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a very quick stay at the Andaz but would stay there without a doubt for an extended trip. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was huge by new york standards and the high ceilings are refreshing for a hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and the mini bar has snacks and refreshments included. The location is great, but if you don't want to leave the hotel offers a great coffee shop and restaurant. Loved the Andaz!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear jleyva,

I'm happy to read that you loved our Andaz! Yes, please stay longer next time. There's too much to do, see and eat in NYC for a quick trip...so make us your home for an extended stay soon.

Very best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The weekend we traveled to New York City this time was Valentines Day so I thought that I should do something special for my family. Ever since the Andaz Fifth Ave opened a few years ago, I had a desire to stay there.
The room that I booked was a two bedroom suite and it was approximately $1000 a night. This is a little stretch from my usual $700 budget but it was worth every penny. When we walked into the hotel we were greeted by a few people and were checked in very quickly which was nice. When we went up to our room which was on one of the top floors of the hotel we were amazed by the views of the Empire State Building, the Freedom Tower, Bryant Park and Fifth Ave. The room itself was beautifully designed and was very spacious. Both bedrooms offered king beds with large on suite bathrooms. The best room in the suite though was the great room which was on a corner with very large windows that offered the best views of any hotel I have stayed in, in New York City. There was a kitchenette with a large refrigerator and freezer that had complimentary beverages along with a few snacks.
Wonderful rooms aren't the only thing that was nice about the hotel but its service is just as good. My family was treated like royalty. About two hours after we arrived we were surprised by a person that was sent up by the general manager to give us a tray which had cookies, fruit, a bottle of wine, and a hand written note welcoming us to the hotel. This was probably partly because we had one of the largest suites in the hotel.
No hotel is perfect and this one is no exception. One of the problems I thought was the way the TV system is designed is absolutely terrible. It is so confusing and I would have preferred a normal cable system set up like in most other luxury hotels. Also another thing I found slightly annoying was there was nobody standing outside opening your car doors and calling cabs, but only someone standing in the vestibule holding one set of doors for you. All of these things are little problems that I would advise the hotel to fix because people spending the amount of money that we spent that weekend, like us, expect nothing but perfection.
Overall I think that I found our new favorite hotel in New York City and without a doubt will be making a reservation for a special occasion in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTripTrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Travel E Z,

Thank you for your detailed review. You are right, the view from our 2-Bedroom Suite is quite amazing! You can never get used to that view! Do come back when it gets warmer, and try our Empire Terrace Suite; it has the same room configuration as the 2-Bedroom Suite but has an enormous outdoor wraparound terrace.
Sorry to hear about the TV system and service at the door. We do aim for perfection so I appreciate the candid feedback.
Let me know when you're planning your next trip to NYC. I would love to meet you and your family in person.

My warmest regards,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west orange, nj
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a great hotel. It's across the street from the main branch of the New York Public library and a short walk to Times Square and theaters. Beautiful rooms and great views. Great bathrooms and great showers. Lobby is small with a Mac for guests to use and free coffee and tea 24 hours per day. Wine reception in the evening in the lobby. Best hotel I have ever stayed at in NYC!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking 5th Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear isawbones,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! I know how many great hotels there are in NYC, so your "best" rating is definitely very much appreciated.

Come back soon!
Very best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I love everything about Andaz! The location, friendly staff, restaurant, high ceiling rooms, great service and comfy beds! Where else in NYC are soft drinks and snacks free! There is also a huge refrigerator in the suite room to bring in your own items. Only place in NY where they don't knuckle and dime you every step of the way. Only wish the bathroom doors locked.... We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelia S, General Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Laurie J,

I love that you love Andaz and that we're your'e favorite NYC Hotel!! You'll be happy to know that we just recently announced more Andaz openings...Andaz Munich and Andaz Bali. The Andaz Family is expanding. All Andaz locations will make you feel at home.

Hope to see you soon!

Very best,
Cornelia Samara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Hotel is in good location and doesn't look too grand from the street or in the lobby, but it does everything well, from the key that works first time to the spacious and well appointed high-ceilinged loft rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Windows could be better and let in a fair bit of traffic noise (on 5th floor) so might be better to go higher. But overall a great place to stay - will return on next NY trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 676 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is the third Andaz hotel we've stayed at over the past six months having previously stayed at the Wall Street and Napa locations, and the Andaz 5th Avenue delivers the level of quality we've come to expect when staying at an Andaz property.

We regularly stay at Park Hyatt's and Hyatt's around the world and Andaz is Hyatt's boutique line of hotels. Modern rooms, technologically advanced features, casual, laid back style of check-in and reception and many other amenities set the Andaz apart from other hotel chains.

Check-in was quick and efficient. As with other Andaz locations there's no front desk as you'd find at most other hotels. Instead you're greeted by a staff member with an ipad who confirms your reservation, swipes your credit card and hands you your key within 3 minutes or less. While the address indicates the hotel is located on 5th Ave., the actual entrance in on 41st street approx. 30 feet from the corner of 5th and 41st.

We were upgraded to a two room loft which is basically a large room with a divider wall between the bedroom and the desk. You couldn't really call it a living room since there was only the desk and two chairs, no sofa, but there is a second TV.

Best feature of our room (as it looks to be in all of the room styles), was the bathroom with the huge shower, double sinks and separate toilet.

There is a small gym on the basement level along with the hotel bar called the bar downstairs. While we only had drinks there, it looked like a good place to eat as well with the open kitchen being the center point of the bar. The restaurant on street level and that you may think is the main entrance of the hotel is the shop.

The Andaz location is perfect and is within walking distance to all of the popular mid-town Manhattan sites. If you're driving in, valet parking is available on the 41st side of the hotel although it does come with a rather hefty $78 per night charge which is on the high side even for NYC.

In all this was another great stay at another Andaz location. If you're looking for a hotel in mid-town, you won't be disappointed staying at the Andaz 5th Ave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing 5th Ave. if your looking for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,585 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
3,979 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,914 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
6,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#51 Green Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing