We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, luxury accommodation. Loved it!”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Location wise, this hotel is ideal. Facility wise, it's superb.

This hotel is located directly opposite the library, & close to a subway station. Grand Central Station is less than 5 mins walk away, & access to all tourist attractions is easy.

The hotel is sophisticated & chic, & seems set up for business guests. We stood out a little in our sight seeing gear, but hotel staff did not bat an eyelid. Hosts (as they are known here) are super helpful & knowledgeable, & complimentary drinks & snacks are most welcome.

The foot spa in the bathroom was put to good use every day, & the shower was extremely refreshing - rain shower plus another more directional head.

The super king bed was comfy & the room was spotless. It had a really high ceiling & large windows, but the bedside controls for the dark out blinds ensured a great sleep every night. The hotel is spotless throughout & we felt very well looked after. Our room was 807 - directly opposite the elevator, but we had no noise disruption from other guests, or from the bustling streets below.

If I'm back in New York, I'll definitely stay here again. I'd thoroughly recommend you should too!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in September, the room was lovely and quiet which was probably a bit of a trade off because we didn't have the best view. The bathroom was completely spectacular though and the stone bowl to fill up and soak your feet at the end of a long day sightseeing was absolute bliss, the hotel kindly supplied some foot soak too :-). Complimentary mini bar and free wine in the lobby every evening was also a bonus and the staff were all uber helpful and friendly.

The location was great, literally a stones throw from Grand Central, so handy for the subway and with the Pershing Diner for breakfast. We had a cocktail in the hotel bar one evening too which was lovely, if a little gloomy being downstairs in the basement, really busy though so a good buzz.

The only thing I didn't get around to was visiting the city library which was directly across the road which was a shame but maybe just means I need to visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffypoppett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Fluffypoppelt,

Thank you for your review.
We're delighted to be your hotel of choice when visiting the city!

I hope you get to see the Public Library on your next stay...it's really worth seeing.
Did you know that we have books from the Public Library available in our very own library lounge?! You can enjoy a read while having a complimentary coffee or tea in our lounge.

Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Andez on 5th Avenue is this fabulous hotel a stone's throw from the NYC Library. The entrance is off of 5th Avenue and only has a small sign out front. A set of unmarked grey doors is your passage way...inside you find a relaxed urban vibe that seems more like you've stepped into a Modern Art Gallery rather than your NYC home base.

The focal point in the low- lit small lobby is a square table with a few individuals who eagerly welcome you to the place were the 'cool people hang'. Their welcome instantly makes you feel apart of the 'in crowd'.

Your room is anything but the usual boring hotel room. The beds are comfortable the rooms are fun and the showers (once you figure out) are great. All snacks and beverages in the room are comped (besides alcohol). First time in NYC for me and I was a solo tourist - they put my mind at ease - gave me a coupon for a tour that met my needs, equipped me with directions and a water bottle for my journey. It was the perfect way for me to explore the Big Apple.

Loved 'the shop' for breakfast= again that relaxed urban friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy good coffee and great people watching.

At checkout you even get to pick a small departing gift- such a fun place. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask the 'Host' for recommendations of anything you need - they have great insider scoop and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funinthesun223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear funinthesun223,

Thanks for your great review!
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay :)

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent 7 nights here over NYE 2013/14 with our family of five. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the two bedrom balcony suite was well appointed and roomy and there were televisions a plenty to keep across the big freeze that transformed NYC into a winter wonderland overnight.

The location was great to base yourself and set off each day to explore this amazing city. We could not fault this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerritoryLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A low table of lap-tops are provided to facilitate on-line check-in, but we were feeling timid about this and help miraculously appeared. Hotel's location near Bryant Park and the NY public library is convenient to Midtown attractions. Staff are friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complementary evening wine service and in-room snacks and soft drinks. Room decor was harsh for my taste, but stunning. The glass walled closet did not appeal to my interest in tucking possessions out of sight. Liked having windows that open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwest_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I've been to New York many times over the past 15 years and stayed in hotels with "big" names and some other smaller ones as well, but I have not been treated this well in any of these hotels as I was at the Andaz 5th Avenue.
The moment I arrived there was a young man who rushed out to get the bags from the car - which in New York, as far as I'm concerned does not really happen - and I initially thought someone was stealing my stuff!!
Check-in was a pleasure and I was offered a beverage, while I waited. It didn't take long before I was on my way to the room.
The whole setup of the hotel from the modern "foyer-cum relaxing studio" to the ultra-modern rooms are something I cannot describe in anything but AWESOME!!
I wanted to do some shopping, have a meal and a drink or two, but I had trouble tearing my self away from the room.
The staff in this hotel are like long lost friends, even though I only met them then. They are extremely helpful, friendly and it actually looks like they thoroughly enjoy their jobs, which makes the experience even more enjoyable.
I used to have a favorite hotel in another country, but that was changed in a few minutes after arriving.
The Andaz 5th Avenue is my new favorite hotel and it will take a lot to change that.
Well done guys. You have a lot to be extremely proud of.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HofArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear HofArabia,

We're proud to be your new favorite hotel in NYC. Thank you for the compliments!

Hoping to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Wow, amazing hotel! We have stayed in a few within the city, but this is far our favourite. From our very first encounter with the staff, they were friendly, helpful, and very generous. On arrival we told them we were on our honeymoon. We were upgraded to the top spec room. The hotel has free wifi, free use of the Apple iMac computers downstairs, free tea & Coffee and complimentary wine in the reception at certain times. On walking into our grand room/apartment, it was stunning. Lounge area with flat screen TV, bedroom area with queen size very comfortable bed, TV, IPod docking station, then the bathroom.....wow! Words cant describe. Huge walkin shower area, his & hers sinks, toilet obviously. The decoration was kind of oriental, but wonderful.
The hotel also boasts a restaurant and bar, however we didnt have time to sample the delights.
Location was brilliant, you are right opposite the New York Central Library, 2 min walk from grand Central, 10 mins from Empire State. Such a perfect location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Drucey2,

Thank you for your great review and for choosing to stay with us on your honeymoon!
How nice that you gave us a "6 star rating" :)

Hoping to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#74 of 473 in New York City
6,773 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 473 in New York City
4,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,847 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#153 of 473 in New York City
3,075 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £241 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing