We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #88 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Andaz for 4 nights for our trip to NYC to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. Smooth check-in courtious staff, best of all the location of the hotel is perfect. Near enough all the major tourist spots are walking distance. The hotel grew on us day by day. We would defintely go back.
Special thanks to Joy, Zara and JD who were very helpfull at all times.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor - 14th, amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaggy_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Jaggy_boy,

Thank you for staying with us for this special occasion. Happy belated birthday to your wife!

I'm very happy to hear that Joy, Zara and JD took such good care of you and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the compliments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back. Maybe for your birthday this time?

Best regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    516
    161
    60
    35
See reviews for
496
939
137
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed with my fiance for 4 night at the end of May 2014. We knew what to expect at check-in based upon the reviews. We stayed in the north tower, which was great and there was virtually no street noise, though you do not get a view if that's important to you. The rooms, as others have mentioned, are modern, clean, and simultaneously soothing (the blackout shades help). Higher-end toiletries, snacks and n/a beverages plus Grumpy's coffee (delicious!) in the morning were nice touches that I wish more hotels would include in their rates.

In regards to the staff, Joe was incredibly helpful and accommodating during our stay. Other staff members were also helpful, offering advice and suggestions when we inquired. A note: the staff is very unobtrusive, which other reviewers may have interpreted as aloof or rude. I never found any of the Andaz staff to be rude, I just found that most left you alone unless/until you approached them. The location for a first-time visitor was perfect, close to subways and major attractions while being able to retreat into the Andaz at the end of a day of sightseeing. We prefer the vibe of the Chelsea/Meatpacking district, but if we needed to stay in midtown, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Andaz again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Linds B,

Thank you for choosing Andaz 5th Avenue for your NYC retreat.

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service and had a memorable stay. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to Joe.

All the best,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just returned from a short stay in New York and each time we visit we stay at a different Hotel. This time our trip was made just that little bit more special by being at this marvellous hotel. For NYC regulars like ourselves or for people making their first visit, it's position on 5th Ave is terrific. We stayed in the Splash suite, which is a spacious 787 square feet corner suite with views overlooking the NYC Public library and the Empire State Building. Amenities included a marble bathroom with amazing walk-in rain shower, separate free standing bath, 54" inch HDTV and complimentary soft drinks and snacks. Only downside was a slight hiccup with room service on our first morning and the windows could have done with a bit of a clean! Otherwise the room and service was excellent and thanks to JD for arranging our upgrade at a reduced cost. The splash suite is for couples but we had another bed put up in the main seating area that fitted perfectly. Thanks to the whole team at the Andaz for making it such a great trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Blants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I booked a weekend for my boyfriend and I at Andaz 5th Ave., and I'm so glad I did! The location was phenomenal. I've lived in New York and its surroundings for most of my life, and many things I enjoy are in the Bryant Park area. This hotel put me in the middle of all of that.

The room itself was beautifully appointed. I fell in love with the design: modern, clean lines, classy yet remarkably comfortable. Lots of yummy snacks and non-alcoholic beverages in the room at no extra charge. Great toiletries as well.

I'd love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed at this amazing hotel from 24th May to the 28th. The hotel is brilliantly located. It's extremely clean, decor is amazing. We checked in early evening to be greeted with a free glass of very good wine. Shown to our room and our cases taken straight to the room. There was a problem with our room as we were supposed to have a twin room, (2girls). They only had a large single which had 1 queen bed. They rectified this by putting in an extra single and taking 25% of our total bill. The service we received was fantastic. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Meals in the restaurant were very good. We had a continental breakfast one morning which was 2 croissants, 2 glasses of orange juice and 2 teas. The charge was over 50dollars! We thought this was a bit over the top! Especially as we had exactly the same in Pret across the road for less than 15dollars for both of us. All in all I would definitely recommend and would revisit. The only thing I would ask for if I returned would be tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17EmmaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for six days while visiting Manhattan. The central location made it easy to visit the various sites and be able to stop off to refresh and relax. The room was very comfortable, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Will definitely use this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great stay here for one night in May. Arrived late, fast check-in. Room was wonderfully designed, modern, with an incredible bed, elegant lighting options, a waterfall shower (hard to operate), tasteful art, and the complimentary mini-bar. The bed and linens were phenomenal. We also had a lovely breakfast downstairs at the restaurant, with good service. The location is excellent, as well. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Starwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,336 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing