We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #87 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was neither impressed nor disappointed by this hotel. The wood floors in my room needed refinishing. Maid service was very good and I would like to send compliments to housekeeper Lejla. My bathroom did not have a bathtub.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wow, I was really impressed with this hotel. The service was very good. Everything is very modern, from the open concept check-in to the library/coffee bar off the reception area. The rooms are very boutique and although not huge, the high ceilings make them feel much bigger than they are. It is also a nice touch to be able to take items for free from the mini bar, except alcohol. Even though this is offered, you really don't over indulge. They also have some really cool local products for you to try. Nice touch. The only downside is that it is just a little too far to walk to a show and too short for a taxi. Would definitely stay her again though.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Galen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I had an exceptional stay at the Andaz in NYC, largely due to the outstanding staff, spectacular layout of the room and great location. As with the other Andaz properties, complementary beverages are available in every room. While the rooms do not have closets, the layout makes sense for the needs of a modern traveler. My only complaint would be that my room did not have blinds that were dark enough to block out the lights from the building across the street. Will look forward to staying again soon - just in a different room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear CarissaR,

Hello from Andaz 5th Avenue!

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We're looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the city. Try out one of our spacious suites next time with extra closet space...maybe even one of our Splash Suites overlooking Empire State Building?!

Hoping to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were there for business May 30 - June 3, 2014. We stayed on the 14th floor in a suite. We had a great view, the furnishings were high quality and comfortable. It was quiet. The bathroom was very nice. Yes, the bathroom lighting was a little dim, but there was a lighted makeup mirror, and big mirror over the sink. The staff was nice. AND THE LOCATION IS FABULOUS! The free water and soft drinks and (very minimal) snacks on the minibar were a plus. So was the refrigerator. The A/C worked very well, which isn't always the case at other NYC hotels, in my experience. The only even slightly negative comment I have is that there is very, very little space to hang clothes. However, the staff will apparently bring a portable closet upon request. I would definitely recommend it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherFla.Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great rooms!!!!!, u will have everything u need from make up remover to nail polish remover..., very modern beautifuly designed rooms, tasty breakfast, excellent pub restaurant, easy location in the 5th avenue. I love it <3 i tried a lot of hotels in Manhattan but this one was one of the best ever;))

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maryann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I took my wife to NYC for her birthday. The Andaz had been recommended to me.
The hotel itself lived up to the positive expectations but the key benefit for us was the personal attention we received from the concierge/checking in team. They proved to be invaluable in their assistance to us. They had a perfect style of providing their local knowledge in an informal and friendly way. These guys made all the difference in making this a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debcheshireuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Another wonderful stay at the Andaz. First, the staff are most friendly, and most accommodating .
Our room was available early with an upgrade. Very clean and well supplied with everything needed. Love the huge shower with rainforest spray and foot soaking tub. The beverage refrig and snacks were great. Also, since it was our anniversary, the management surprised us with champagne and strawberries......how special.
The location could not be better......there is truly no other place to stay while in NYC.
Thank you Andaz!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCTravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear NCTravel0R,

Thanks for the compliments!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Ratna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#146 of 471 in New York City
3,063 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,722 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 471 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £204 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing