We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to love?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #68 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What's not to love?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here at this very minute, lying on the clean comfortable big bed. We Brits would say its a king size but as we are in the USA sizing is different and they probable call it a single.(I'll point out the jokes)
The reception are is a little different, all very modern and trendy and even though we're over 40 (by 2 decades) it worked for us. Smiling helpful staff with a 'no problem' attitude. (Unlike the counter staff at Starbucks I asked for change for the bus yesterday - you'll think I'd asked them for a piggy back around the shop)
We figured out the shower after a few shocks ( husband fully dressed when I turned the dial and discovered the rain shower)
The very clean, beautiful fixtures were a really good style feature only issue was the amount of times our knuckles connected with the glass sides as we couldn't see them. (We can use spoons to eat dinner for now)
Free snacks, drinks and other treats in the reception are ( I leave some surprises )
We found the price comparable with other hotels. So if you want clean, plenty space and brilliant area. It's all here.
Will definitely be back. Especially if Hyatt see this review and offer me a free stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xtinabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,587
    496
    156
    56
    28
See reviews for
478
917
134
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here for the first time as I usually stay at the grand Hyatt down the street. The room upgrade over grand Hyatt puts it another class and is extremely comfortable and new. I didn't get to check out the restaurants or bar downstairs but hope to get back soon and will make this place my new choice to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank todddonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Assistant Director of Rooms at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear todddonat,

Thank you for staying with us at Andaz 5th Avenue!
Happy to know that you have found your new preferred place to stay in the city :)

Hoping to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Ratna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

3 ½ stars. But, since half stars cannot be awarded, I must round down as this was, in all actuality, a three-star experience. I wanted to love this place—truly, I did—but I have had much better Manhattan hotel experiences for considerably less. I reserved a two-bedroom balcony suite as this was my parents’ first trip to New York. And, at just $322/night, I can’t argue with the fact that this was a steal. But I only got that rate because of a ‘fluke’ between my travel agency and the hotel and, had I been paying the $1200/night sticker price, I would have been gravely disappointed. You see, Andaz tries too hard to be cool—to mimic Starwood’s W product—and it comes across as…well, awkward. We all remember that kid from high school, right?

From the moment I arrived, service left something to be desired. Pulling up at the curb, I was shocked to find no bellhops, doormen, or valet attendants in sight. Not only that, but there was no place to park temporarily; the hotel’s unloading zone was blocked by two chauffeured Chevrolet Suburbans. Oh, and while we’re on the subject, valet parking is $78/night. Yes—$78! Come on, guys. I’ve stayed at tons of luxury hotels in Manhattan and none have charged over $60/night…not even the Four Seasons!

I went into the lobby—or, like W, do they call it a living room?—to request assistance with my luggage when a young, petite girl in a skirt and heels offered to help. Really? I unloaded my car and loaded the luggage cart while she kindly pushed it inside.

Into the lobby and you’ll find a futuristic take on a check-in desk…a square ‘pod’ in the center of the lobby with four laptops. Where to stand? Behind her as she typed meaningless keystrokes with her back to me? It was awkward to say the least! When she turned around, she told me that our room was unavailable but she offered to hold the luggage and call me when the room was ready.

But she didn’t. I won’t hold it against her; if I had a dollar for every time I forgot trivial things like this, I’d be staying in the Ty Warner Suite at the Four Seasons! Joking aside, it was nice to arrive back at 7:00pm, get the keys, head upstairs, and…WOW. First impressions count, and suite 1404 did not fall short. It was gigantic with panoramic views of New York—down 5th Avenue to the Empire State Building, across Bryant Park with the New York Public Library down below. It seemed bland, at first, and we thought it was sparsely furnished, but that didn’t matter because the views were the obvious star and the sterile room did not detract from the focal point. In fact, the view was so stunning that it henceforth became difficult to persuade my family to leave the room! I also appreciated the comfortable bed—soft linens, down pillows, and a feather duvet. Superb!

As we spent more time in the room, though, we found several basic ‘design flaws’. First, the dining room chairs are incredibly difficult to move as the legs get stuck on the carpet and you can’t lift them up as there is no room beneath the table. I realize this is a minor inconvenience, but small wheels should be added to allow them to roll better on the carpet. Furthermore, while the non-alcoholic Minibar offerings were free (as, I feel, it should be), the refrigerator did not cool properly. Additionally, there were no light switches in either bathroom…they were halfway down the wall in the bedroom which made them difficult to find at night. It took us two days to discover that there was a light in the water closet! Additionally the shower was beautiful but water pressure was weak (granted, it is a rain shower head) and, perhaps more frustrating, the controls were very complex with no instructions. I took cold showers both days.

I did not dine in the restaurant nor did I visit the ‘cellar’ where a bar and fitness center are located. In the late evening, though, I did observe two men stationed at the door in shiny suits—they looked like bouncers at a nightclub, not doormen at a four-star hotel. Again, the awkward ‘trying-too-hard’ theme continues.

The saving grace—besides the large room and spectacular views—was the location! The Andaz 5th Avenue is centrally located within walking distance of Grand Central Terminal, Times Square, and Central Park. SoHo and Battery Park are just short, $15-30 UberX rides away or you can take the nearby N/R trains to access these neighborhoods.

The final annoyance occurred on the morning of my departure. I was told the bill had no charges besides the room. When I questioned the clerk about my travel agency taking the charges, she told me that, under their agreement, the hotel was to put it on my card which they had on file. I said fine and thought nothing of it. An hour later, as I was boarding a ferry to Liberty Island with my family, I received a bill from the hotel that was over $1,500 more than the rate I was quoted. A quick call to my travel agency got everything resolved, but it really frustrated me that this error happened. It turns out that the hotel double charged me for the room—once through my travel agency and once on departure—which would up taking days to get refunded to my credit card. It was a nuisance to say the least.

Put simply, I just don’t understand what all the hype is about. It’s trying too hard to compete with W and instead misses lots of little details—the truly important things in a hotel—left and right. I probably won’t be back…but if I can get that room for $300/night again, I’m not sure I could pass it up!

Room Tip: Room 1404 -- a two bedroom balcony suite -- has amazing views and is quite large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlingtonman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Would definitely come back to this hotel. Modern spacious room (Andaz Large Twin Room) with high ceilings. The beds were so comfortable. The staff were wonderful and consistently provided warm assistance. Loved the complementary (non alcoholic) beverages and snacks. Had a great location - we walked everywhere.

My only complaint was that because my room was facing 5th Avenue, it did sometimes get noisy at night (mainly siren noise).

Room Tip: The large twin room is good size. Had a great view of Fifth Avenue. However ask for a room not fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Andaz on 5th for a 3 night city break. Great location right on 5th Avenue opposite Bryant Park (which is wonderful btw and def worth a visit). Check in process super simple and Amber was very charming and looked after us while we stayed. Nice touches such as free soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar and complementary wine in the evening in the lobby were a nice touch. Had breakfast on the first morning (if you like a Bloody Mary you MUST order one with breakfast.... One of the best I've every tasted, I'm not kidding). We also had supper in their below basement bar, which was also amazing. If I would had to stay in midtown again on a return visit to NYC I would def return

Room Tip: Try for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iPhone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was neither impressed nor disappointed by this hotel. The wood floors in my room needed refinishing. Maid service was very good and I would like to send compliments to housekeeper Lejla. My bathroom did not have a bathtub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wow, I was really impressed with this hotel. The service was very good. Everything is very modern, from the open concept check-in to the library/coffee bar off the reception area. The rooms are very boutique and although not huge, the high ceilings make them feel much bigger than they are. It is also a nice touch to be able to take items for free from the mini bar, except alcohol. Even though this is offered, you really don't over indulge. They also have some really cool local products for you to try. Nice touch. The only downside is that it is just a little too far to walk to a show and too short for a taxi. Would definitely stay her again though.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Galen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#62 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,208 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing