We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea Mews Guest House
Ranked #41 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“superb location”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

wasn´t quite sure what to expect given the other reviews; it was actually quite good. The area is superb and so centrally located, right by Chelsea market and plenty of eateries. The house is a bit like stepping back in time, full of antiques and interesting artwork to look at. The owners, although hardly saw them were welcoming enough and helpful. The single room was clean, good solid bed, and had all you needed. There is no housekeeping though. Shared shower and loo were fine, I was hardly there so didn´t really matter, but the best was the price! Def ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arxitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed October 2013, great location, in fact the best! House is very oldie worldie, with antiques everywhere. No lift, lots of stairs and quite exhausting after a days sightseeing. You guys are great except please ensure that before arrival beds, sheets etc are changed and look and feel fresh before guests get there? Clean the bathrooms daily, and replenish what is needed in the bathrooms ie toilet rolls etc? Make more use of balcony without 'Otto'in middle of table? Allow guest to smoke outhere and enjoy a relaxed time. Gary is a great guy available to answer questions etc whenothers not around.

Room Tip: Accept you are in the heart of great Mahatten living, forget the issues and you are there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Policewoman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We went there in February of this year and I wish had seen some of the reviews before we booked. Totally agree about the weird guys that run this run down house.
Great location but that is about the only good this I can say about this place. Needs a complete rennovation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I planned a last minute weekend in NYC and found this to be a great value. You can't beat the location. I chose a single with a shared bath. The bed was very comfortable, and the place was very clean. Charles Lombardo, the Innkeeper is fascinating and has a multitude of colorful stories. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5, which was very quiet. There's no TV, but I did not spend much time in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay here, the service was great and the location perfect, it has an old charm feel about the building, if you into modern luxury then this is not for you. The hosts are very chatty and have a wealth of knowledge of new York better than any information you can get from the Internet or tour guides.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentvalencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our first stay in New York. The hotel is very convenient to the city with good travel links. The hotel was great and service was excellent. Staff were not as friendly and seemed a bit rushed but we had everything we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooge zwaluwe
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

After having read very bad critics, I hesitated to go there. The one person romms are really small with very good beds, one shower, one toilet and one sink for 3 rooms. It's clean, and OK for the price. Having to share stimulates contact.
They have also larger rooms with private or semi private bathroom.
I will come back

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xavnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#44 of 467 in New York City
2,099 reviews
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,517 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#146 of 467 in New York City
2,807 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Mews Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Mews Guest House

Property: Chelsea Mews Guest House
Address: 344 W 15th St, New York City, NY 10011-5901
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Chelsea Mews Guest House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing