We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York
Ranked #18 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Having stayed at Setai's SoBe property the expectations were pretty high. Luckily we were not disappointed, fabulous hotel and amazing staff. To start out our stay in NYC we ordered a magnum bottle of vintage champagne and the service staff was there in less than fifteen minutes with a big smile on their face.

Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are very well appointed. Would gladly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

From the moment we got out of the cab, we felt welcomed. More than that we felt we were expected. Better than coming to visit friends because we did not feel obligated to do anything more than enjoy ourselves. We loved the fresh fruit on our arrival and the fresh baked cookies every night, but a special little dessert..every night!!! We usually have to buy a gallon of water when we arrive at a hotel but the Setai provided us with as much flat or bubbly we could drink. And not the standard coffee machine here, an espresso machine, with fresh half and half every morning. The room, including bathroom are HUGE as is the tub which I believe was 5 by 3. Bath salts, were lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debralynn108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Plaza for a week and then moved on the the Setai for the second week of our New York trip. This was on a recommendation of our brilliant US travel agent Magellan. The two hotels are very different - Plaza - old world and charm the Setai - new modern and fun.... the one thing they have in common is great service!

We were told to go to the Setai and book a suite for the last part of our trip as the rooms are large and comfortable and we were not disappointed. Given the cost and its location it would be the first place I would stay when we go back to NYC without a doubt.

Note- there are some building works going on next door and you do hear the site noise BUT it is only during business hours and is minimal.

Room Tip: Go high and ask for a room with a view of empire state building - wow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RobertNYCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The only bad thing to say is that at some time yoni have to go home. The service was as good as I have had anywhere, the staff was professional yet not at all stuffy. My wife and I were treated like roylity. It was like a zin oasis in NYC

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StcloudPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stay in 120 hotels a year. Over 30% of the hotels I stay in for business are high end hotels, Ritz and Four Seasons. This is the nicest hotel I have stayed in. Rooms are incredible and HUGE for NYC. Espresso maker and complimentary wifi, water, and sodas- NICE TOUCH. People are friendly and it is in a great location. HIGHLY RECOMMENED!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CapeCod1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a chic stay forever bar. Only thing missing is some tables. You have to eat at the bar or on the couch.

The food was excellent and the bar tender from England was top notch. He knew it all - so refreshing.

Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Setai Hotel on Fifth is a real gem. The bed and pillows were perfect, we had complimentary coffee or espresso, soda and water.
There is even a TV built into the bathroom mirror. Great shower and large tub.
They bring cookies that were not even as good as Chips Ahoy. And a pretzel that was very doughy with no salt.

Room Tip: look for promotions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dutchessnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
4,141 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,696 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £333 - £951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Langham Place, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing