We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Stay at the Setai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay at the Setai”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We wanted to have an amazing first visit together in the city. We looked at luxury hotels and found the Setai after searching several different choices. We wanted to have a great time and decided on the Setai given it's good ratings on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel was top notch, the room was fantastic (we had reserved a Suite and were upgraded to an Apartment Suite!). The service was fantastic. I worked ahead of time with the personal assistant and had a dozen roses and a bottle of wine waiting our arrival. They helped select the two restaurants we visited. The first place was Marcony's which was a nice small Italian restaurant which had sidewalk tables. It was the nicest dinner for two on our first night. Walking distance to great shopping. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    283
    93
    39
    23
See reviews for
590
805
87
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We went for a weekend break to NYC and got a good deal for a room. The check in was quick and we were given street facing room with a lot of daylight coming in. The room is very tastefully decorated with few LED (one of my pet peeves with hotels) that allows the room to be very dark. It is also one of the larger ones I've stayed in Manhattan. The bath is great - my fiance who is over 6 ft could comfortably fit in it.

There were also several nice touches like complementary water, wifi, clothes pressing and shoe shining. Shoe shine however wasn't great. We were also given complementary breakfast coupons. The American breakfast was very good. Even the salad was exquisitely dressed.

I would definitely want to come back and also take advantage of the spa which I'm sure will be great given the attention to details shown everywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyprufrock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located in the heart of midtown and is close to everything. We loved the location and the room. We stayed in a studio suite in 16th floor with a view of empire state. The hotel staff is excellent and they will make things happen for you. You have to try the Moscow mule at the bar.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Visited the Setai again in late March, with a smaller but much better experience this time. The staff was significantly more courteous, the food better and overall much more consistent this time.

Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_road_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at the Setai and loved it! I had a one bedroom suite with a perfect view, the bathroom has big ceilings and feels like a spa. The service is great and friendly, also the spa is friendly and warm. I think that the Setai is a much better deal then e.g. four seasons which is just too old and the Mandarin which is just too expensive. The Setai concierge knows what he's doing, he booked a cool restaurant for my birthday and as a gift from the hotel I got a driver in a Maserati which was a nice treat! I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BerlinMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great location. Large room. Fantastic service. 5 stars for sure. Everyone on the staff goes the extra mile with a smile.

Room Tip: went to hotel on a business trip so not exactly sure what it cost. I heard around $800 which is exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I tried to book a room here for my husband and another for my sister and my three year old. They wanted to charge me a $300.00 premium because i was bringing my kid. Despite the fact i told them he does not sleep in a crib or a rollaway and would sleep in the bed with my sister they refused to accept this reasoning. We could have paid for the hotel but on principle i will not pay a premium just because i have a child.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank limore t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is most disappointing to hear of your experience as The Setai Fifth Avenue prides itself on being particularly children friendly. We provide an array of amenities for children, ranging from in-room amenities to Tunes with Tina Sunday Brunch, catered exclusively to children, during certain months of the year. Additionally, we do not charge for children (up to the age of 12 years) requiring additional bedding.

It would be my great pleasure to assist you with any future reservations need you may have.

Sincerely,

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,018 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 467 in New York City
378 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing