We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We just spent a week in The Setai 5th Av. That was for our family first trip to NY. We travel a lot, 5-6 time per year deferent hotels, but THE SERVICE at The Setai - the best we ever had. I could never even think that people can de their job as good as they do in The Setay. We always plan our trips, we do all research about where to go, where to eat, what to see.. If you come here - forget, they know everything way better then anybody. All advises that we got from the concierge where very useful and made our first trip to NY unforgettable.
Personal Thank You and absolute respect to Sohee and Luis.
the Hotel itself is great as well.. we found our suite huge, big comfortable bedroom with fantastic bed. Bathroom - wow, with TV.. Nespresso coffee machine, soft drinks... the rest you can find on their web.
Al the time, all 7 days the rooms were immaculately clean.
And the main - HUGE panoramic windows all around the suite, even from bathroom, with fantastic view. Loved it.
Location for the first time visitors - the best.. just 2 min till Empire Building, 10-15 min Time squire, 20 min till Central park..
Limousine service from the Hotel was great. The Jazz Bar - on the first floor was very nice. We were using Spa, and hairdresser service - all that was very good as everything in this hotel.
Perhaps I would change a carpet in front of the reception.:) but that was just a little "minus", that after all great time we had in NY, means nothing.
Unforgettable Experience.

Room Tip: We were staying on the 24th floor, and I think as hire as better for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karolina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We are quite fortunate to have an exceptional staff such as Sohee and Luis, which you kindly mentioned. We will be certain to share your feedback with them.
We appreciate the comment regarding our lobby carpeting. The flower pattern and color scheme can be misleading; the carpeting is cleaned weekly however, due to the high knot count found in the finest rugs, imprints are caused by anyone walking through the lobby area.

Many thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return to The Setai Fifth Avenue.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,643
    267
    87
    38
    22
See reviews for
550
760
77
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I stayed in the Setai 5th Avenue over Labor Day weekend. The staff was exceptional. Couldn't ask for a more friendly, accommodating group of people. The hotel itself, however, was just okay. It was nothing special. I booked two rooms and both had a view of a brick wall. The room was large and the bathroom was a good size. The beds were very comfortable. To be fair, I didn't ask if any other rooms were available so I don't know if they would have changed our rooms or not. I have stayed in quiet a few hotels in NYC (8 to be exact) and I do not think I would rate the Setai as 5 stars. Glad I gave it a try, but would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraLeaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We truly regret that you did not find The Setai Fifth Avenue to your liking. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future and hope you will give us another try.
It would be my pleasure to assist with your accommodations and ensure that you are reserved in one of our specialty suites. I may be reached at 212-613-8733 or at anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com

Again, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely hope to see you again.

Kind regards,


Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

i was so excited, my wife had invited me to recently stay at the Setai for my birthday, i was amazed first, how cold was the employees of the hotel, i know its NY but usually in a hotel like this you expect over the top service. the room, nothing special, pretty small with a non existing view, and even we checked in at 4, it wasn't ready (and of course didn't gave us a late check out when we asked for it).
the Al Fiori, after all the great things said (obviously) by the personal assistant, we tried it and wasnt good at all, so disappointed.
after all, will be so difficult to come back to the Setai, even i wanted to love it because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gfc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

It is most disappointing to hear of your most recent experience with us. Our entire staff prides itself on providing gracious and caring service to all of our guests. I would greatly appreciate hearing more about your negative experience with our team as well as with Ai Fiori. Your feedback is critical to our success and value any comments provided.
We would bery much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Setai Fifth Avenue.
It would be my pleasure to personally handle your accommodations and ensure that all of your requests are met. I can be reached at 212-613-8733 or at anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuwait
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I wonder how the reviews showing high level 5*,surely they are not familiar with what 5* luxury means and what is required to be a Leading hotels of the world member.This hotel has a serious management problem.

I booked one avenue appartment and one delux studio as a supplement room in this hotel through the leading hotels site for me,my wife and four children.I have requested ( high floors,adjointing rooms,room with balcony,birthday celepration)(very simple requests)

What happened during the check in was not acceptable under any measures.Im entilted for upgrade and Mr. Brian from the frontdesk ( introduced as on duty manager by hiis colleque..which i dought) has done the upgradation for the supplement room and refused the upgrade for the main, moreover he was offering 1 room in 5th floor and the other in the 21st.

I had to argue for an hour and more to get the two rooms in the same floor.He kept taking my hard copy of the reservation and checking several times although i had a confirmation email from LHW that my reservation dossier has been sent to the hotel.
For the first time in my life i was calling the LHW and complaining.

The hotel facilities and aminities and what im entiteled of was explained to me by the DOORMEN insted of the reception like any respectfull 4 or 5* hotel.

As for the hotel, the property is an appartment building which was converted to hotel ( not bad but still an appartment not suits )it is not bad and clean with highline furniture and amenities.IP phones worked only the first day,no bell to the room.
The one bedroom suit size is OK ( less than the size compared to same category in other manhatten hotels)
The location is bit far from the shopping and dining areas unless u like to walk for 2miles+
The breakfast in the Ai Fiori is not recomended since the room service is better in taste,time and frindlieness.
My advise to anybody who want to stay in this hotel to bring a hard copy of their reservation and call the hotel earlier from arrival to insure their requirements is being taken care of.
For LHW members, avoid this hotel unless you want to be treated as booked through travel agent, and be prepared to have more than 1 hour argument.Dont expect the usual LHW members treatment,dont expect a welcome note from the General manager or even email ( his secretary will sendyou)
For LHW is to review this hotel qualification as a member
For me, NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank rasheed_albader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are most disappointed to hear of your challenges.Regrettably, the room type configuration which you requested is one we do not have in the hotel. Our Guest Services Team works hand in hand with our Front Desk Team and is reponsible for escorting our guests to their rooms, reviewing the services and amenities offered at the hotel.
The hotel is a recent build, offering more guest rooms than Residences, which offers a separate entrance and staff.
We regret you did not find the location ideal for shopping; the finest shops are located within a few blocks of the hotel (Macy's, Lord & Taylor, Saks Fifth Avenue, to name a few).
We have shared your feedback with Leading Hotels of the World Membership Team, which was your original point of contact.
We sincerely apologize for any misunderstandings and do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Setai Fifth Avenue.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The location is superb enabling you to see the majority of sights on foot. The concierge service is excellent and friendly. The hotel itself is very clean and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The maid gave the room a clean 3 times a day!

Whilst this is not the cheapest hotel it does offer excellent value for its location, a 5 minute stroll to the Empire State Building and the shops on Fifth Avenue. We will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors are away from the traffic are a little more quiet, especially during the night. Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mycroft70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is absolutely spectacular. The rooms are very spacious. Bedding and actual beds are a little piece of Heaven. Absolutely the best hotel I have ever stayed while visiting NY. Service and staff were available for whatever was needed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was our first trip to NYC and we stayed at the Setai for 11 nights so we were very grateful to have such a spacious room with a large wardrobe where we could completely unpack and make ourselves at home. The hotel does not have any designated "check in or out" times which is great because they will work around whatever suits the guest. All staff were extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. The rooms were HUGE, clean and comfortable. We loved the addition of the Nespresso machine and small sweet treats that were delivered to the room each night - it's the small details that make this a special hotel. Great location, close to shopping and Times Square. Highly recommended! Oh and do try the wonderful restaurant on the 2nd floor - Ai Fiori - you must book in advance, but it's worth it !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristym84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#20 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing