We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were welcomed in a genuine and thoughtful way. Among the pleasures of the hotel was an espresso machine with all the fixings in the room. The room was lovely and we emptied the espresso supplies-delicious. The next day we left around 9am for a day of sightseeing in the city. We had a wonderful day and returned around 3:30 for another round of espresso's and a nap before dinner and a play. The day was rainy and as we walked a great deal we were soaked. So a hot shower, espresso and a nap. However, the room was not made up. By the time it was there was no time for any of the planned rest before dinner. When the room was finally made up the espresso supplies were not replenished nor were they resupplied at turn down service. Reading the ratings in more detail I see this is not a rare occurrence. The staff apologized but no explanation was given. I think the saying is you only have one time to make a good first impression. At a less exclusive property no big deal but in hundreds of stays at hotels this had only happened to me once before and not at a high end property.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We truly apologize for not exceeding your expectations and failing to replenish your in-room amenities. Your feedback has been shared with the appropriate departments in order to avoid this oversight from repeating.
We sincerely value your business and do hope you will consider us for a future stay. It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your reservation.
I may be reached at 212-613-8733 or at anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com at any time.

Best regards,

Anne-J Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    283
    93
    39
    23
See reviews for
590
805
87
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing experience from start to finish. The hospitality throughout is unsurpassed. We enjoyed all the extras great espresso in the room, complimentary refreshments in the fridge, amazing dark chocolate, housekeeping with pressing of 5 pieces of clothing daily, and complimentary shoeshine and newspaper of your choice. There is also no set check out time so you can leisurely utilize your room until your departure time. Our room 1011 had a great view of the Empire State Building and the bedding and shower were fantastic. Also the car service is awesome. Anytime you can ride in a Maserati you're having a good day and the driver Jack was great. If you can afford it I would highly recommend. Thank you Setai for making our stay a perfect memory. We will be back! Also a special thank you to our personal assistant Narissa she went out of her way to make my wife and I anniversary amazing.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mattfales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I'm not sure what a boutique hotel is anymore, but the Setai Fifth Avenue must surely rank as one. I was there on business but it would be a great hotel for couples who are exploring NY.

The lobby area is small but with very clean lines and a minimal feel to it. The service throughout the hotel is faultless. The rooms are small but again perfectly appointed for a luxury hotel. Don't expect a view you'll be overlooking another building, but hey when all's said and done you're in NY, very few hotels have a view. I miss the Plaza for that!

The bar area is ok, but again small and will get very busy. Even as a resident you'll need to be lucky to get a seat during the early evening.

I didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but I believe it was just the one restaurant. The breakfast was fine, if a little pricey. Nothing spectacular on that front.

Overall if you want to pay the price, it's a great hotel very well located, and I'd definitley stay there again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyfoxholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Setai for fashion week as we were invited to some parties and we thought the hotel was absolutely fantastic with huge room with nicest design ever,lovely restaurant,very profesional high top service,concierge manage to book us in recommended two Michelin star restaurant which is usually very busy and not easy to get in!We done lot of shopping in area,Empire state building is 5 minute walk and we had it as our window view.I will recommend to everyone who love luxury stay with amazing location and service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I was excited to try this hotel as it had many good write ups. But in all honesty there are many better quality 5 star properties in NYC. I stayed at the Setai as there was a UN event on and many of my usual hotels were fully booked. I had a one bedroom suite with views over the empire state building.
The guys on the door as you arrive are not training to a high enough standard. They are more like security guys that proper 5 star door men. I asked for a cab on several times during my stay and on more than one occasion something distracting them and they forgot me. The bar on the ground level is OK but not 5 star by any means. The restaurant on the 2nd floor is better and breakfast is a good standard. The rooms are decorated in a modern clean style but the fittings are not of a high quality and already have a lot of damage. The carpets were a neutral cream colour and were stained badly. The location, versus the price, versus the experience dont add up! The gym is a room with no windows and no atmosphere. Its dark and not inspiring to train. This is a shame as there is some good equipment. I trained in there once and then went to another local gym. The Spa is ok but there are much better ones in less expensive hotels.
I lived in NYC on Park Ave for several years so know the city very well and this is not good value or a good enough standard. When i read back some of the other reviews i think this is a reflection of what folks are used to. If you are used to travelling and staying 5 star, this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jezwilliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly apologize for any inconveniences caused to you during the United General Assembly Session. The Hotel was indeed fully occupied with a variety of clients to include delegates attending the Assembly. As a result, security was increased namely at the entrance. Regrettably, the additional support was not part of our standard cast thus may not have responded as appropriately as expected.
Our guest rooms are furnished with the highest quality materials ranging from Italian wood to Calacatta marble. Despite our efforts, some carpeted areas have been permanently stained. There are measures in place to address these areas.
We truly regret that you did not enjoy our Fitness Center. It is among the largest in the City, namely among the 5 star hotels ,with 3,100 square feet of space and the most updated equipment.
I would be most grateful if you could elaborate on Auriga Spa. We pride ourselves on offering unique and memorable services in an atmosphere like no other. We would appreciate receiving any details regarding your experience in order to address them accordingly.

Again, thank you for your time and comments.

Sincerely,


Anne-J Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
anne.maurice@setaififthavenue.com
212-613-8733
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Staff were very warm and friendly, rooms are exceptionally big. Location wise its very central less than two blocks from Macy's, five blocks from Grand Central Station/Times Square so really close to the hustle and bustle if you wanted to shop it was the ideal location. The checkin girl was friendly she asked was there a special occasion and my partner told her that is was my birthday, so whilst settling in to our room we got a knock on the door and we got a treat as a compliment from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at the Setai for one week . Booked a Capella King Room and got upgraded to the Capella king with view of Empire State Bld. Wether you had the view or not would not bother me but do ask for a high floor, you will still hear some noise from the street but it's that buzzy sort of NY noise that you learn to appreciate after a while.this Hotel is absolutely First Class in every way. The rooms are Huge by New York standards and the modern decor is very classy. Beds are ultra comfortable, the women will love the massive wardrobe and bathroom and everything you can ask for is in the room, nespresso coffee machine , fridge full of complimentary sodas , water etc... After walking the streets of New York all day it is an absolute delight to come back to this fantastic room. Being a relatively new hotel every conceivable thing is new and works . Internet is free and fast. The gym is well appointed , plenty of brand new equipment, free water and fruit.we did not dine in the hotel there are just too many other great places to eat in New York. We did have room service one evening and it was absolutely delicious. What really makes this hotel is the staff. They are genuine, friendly , courteous and treat everyone with a warm smile. From the doorman to the front desk to concierge, the cleaning staff, the charming man who fills your fridge up every day. I could not say how pleasant they all are . The management of this hotel are doing a wonderful job and everyone should be congratulated . In nNew York you get what you pay for so don't be put off by having to pay $700-$850 a night for these types of rooms , they are worth every cent.thankyou Setai , we will definitely be staying here again when we come to New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and pay extra for the Capella King , it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bags222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,017 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 467 in New York City
378 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing