We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #21 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Staff”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel and the staff are incredible. They remember your name and things you have told them you are going to do, nice personal touch! Our room overlooked 5th Avenue and was nice and modern. Nice location ,we have always stayed closer to Times Square on previous visits but didn't find this too out of the way at all. We walked everywhere and it was great to be on 5th avenue and be close to all the designer stores. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunicicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful compliments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. We always appreciate feedback namely when it relates to our staff.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to your return.

Happy Holidays.

Anne-J. Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,746
    283
    93
    39
    23
See reviews for
589
804
87
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

After researching many hotels in NYC for our break, we chose the Setai. When we arrived, they unfortunately were closed due to heating problems caused by Hurricane Sandy so we had to go elsewhere for our first night. The staff on duty were very apologetic and assisted us in getting to another hotel.

Thankfully, we were able to return on day two, so spent the rest of our trip there. We had booked a Capella room and asked for a high floor. We stayed in room 1401 which was massive......and I mean huge! The bed was six foot wide and was lost in the room. We overlooked Fifth Avenue and the Chrysler Building. The room had a decent sized seating area with a sofa and two armchairs and the bed. There was a dressing room which had two double open wardrobes and drawers. This then lead into a huge marble bathroom, with twin basins and plenty of countertop space. Shower was vast with two shower heads. You honestly have to see this room to appreciate the space. I do not like small hotel rooms and hate when your cases sit in the corner on open view, which serves to remind that you are going home.....no issues here though - suitcases were well hidden from view.

The Bar on Fifth has a nice, relaxed atmosphere and has jazz bands playing every night.

Location of the hotel is great for going to the various sights of NYC in both lower and midtown Manhattan.

Had a serious personal issue during stay. Brian Fahey, Concierge Manager, was absolutely fabulous with his assistance. He always made sure that he kept up to date with the situation and it helped me feel a little more relaxed.

Managed to use the hotel car (a Maserati) a couple of times - nice touch of luxury.

Our room was right next to the lift shaft but we could not hear any noises. The room is at the end of the corridor with one other room and is a fair distance away from other rooms, so no disruptions from others walking past.

Did not eat in the hotel (apart from room service late one night, which was good). Plenty of coffee shops, etc nearby for breakfasts.

The Nespresso machine and complimentary mini bar (soft beverages) was a nice touch. Have been in plenty of high end hotels which did not have this. There have been some previous comments bout these not being replenished when used but a quick call to Guest Services soon sort that out.

Would definitely recommend to others and would stay here again on our return.

Room Tip: Room 1401 was very large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed at The Setai NYC on business in Oct 2012 for 5 nights.

My room was a good size with a large comfy bed, was extremley clean and had a wonderful view of The Empire State Building. The bathroom was also a good size with a large bath/shower and even had a small TV screen built into the mirror above the sink!

Location wise the hotel is excellent with the Empire State Building and Macy's within a stone's throw and all the shops of 5th Avenue on your doorstop. Grand Central Station and Times Square are also a short walk away and the hotel has 3 subway stops close by (Herald Square, Grand Central/42nd and 42nd/Bryant Pk).

The staff I cannot fault one bit, they were very helpful and very polite at all times and couldn't do enough for you. There is a very nice bar just by the lobby which I used a few times but note, there is a jazz band in there during the evenings and can get quite loud if you are after a quiet drink! The restaurant is very highly rated and was recommended to me but I didn't get the chance to use it. For breakfast I opted to go outside rather than use the hotel with Pret, Starbucks and a deli right outside.

Overall, this is a great hotel with excellent staff and facilities and I would definitely recommend it, but, being a 5 star hotel is a bit on the expensive side, even compared to other 5 star hotels I ve stayed in, you can probably get something in NY very similar for a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterandMrsG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here during Hurricane Sandy and we could not get over the friendliness and professionalism of the hotel staff. They have to be the nicest staff in a hotel we have ever come across. Not staged or phoney and couldn't do enough for you. Jackie and your team you are a credit to your hotel! As a result of the hurricane the power was out in a lot of New York, the hotel staff, whilst extremely restricted as to what they could do to make everyone feel comfortable without power, sprung into action with back up plans to ensure all guests were looked after. There was a skeleton crew on during the hurricane who worked extremely hard and, whilst they were exhausted, still managed to go beyond the call of duty. The hotel is in an ideal location on 5th avenue, beautifully furnished, food excellent and attention to detail was top notch. We will more than happily stay here again. What a wonderful experience! x

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience with us. We truly appreciate all comments but positive ones are always a pleasure to read!
We are delighted to read about our experience, which we will share with our team. The City and its surroundings continues to suffer as a result of mother nature. We are all working very hard to ensure we do all we can to provide the levels of service expected by our guests.

Again, many thanks for your very kind comments. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for 3 nights 4 days. Service is good , the room that we got was small with no view at all, well with the view to another building, so we kept the curtains closed at all times even though we pay 695.00 per night. The hotel's restaurant is pretty good, we only used it for breakfast. The whole idea was to stay at a great hotel, going to nice restaurants such as Veritas, Del frisco and Aureole and to the theater for Mamma Mia and Evita.
The beds are comfortable, but they are not five stars. Overall is good to very good but you can get the same deal or better deal at a lower rate. Besides that we requested the complimentary transportation (the Maserati) but was out of service for repair.

Room Tip: The hotel is good to very good, but I was expecting more....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riveraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Great place to stay at if your main interest is luxury shopping on 5th Ave and you do not mind being overwhelmed by a crowd as soon as you leave your hotel. Great location, very attentive and catering staff and the restaurant is on NY Times list of best NYC restaurants. The rooms are specious especially for NYC. Italian linen and toiletries and the marble bath tub are a pleasant bonus.

Room Tip: Rather long walk from upper Manhattan, Central Park and Broadway. If that is what you are mostly int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Location is great - staff are friendly but sound robotic... By my bed the dust was couple of inches and the hair in the bathroom when we checked in was just disgusting... On the other hand the toilet was not flushed and the cleaning liquid they used was still floating in the water and that was not welcoming at all considering the published rate we paid. Will never stay there again because the manager I spoke with showed no sympathy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Zizou85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnneMauriceDOS, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We truly apologize for any inconveniences caused to you during Hurricane Sandy. As you know, the Hotel was greatly impacted by the storm, resulting in loss of power, steam and hot water. As a result, our plumbling suffered greatly. Additionally, many of our colleagues could not get to work due to the abundance of damage caused by flooding. Our Housekeeping services were indeed, at a minimum, during this time.

We understand the frustrations experienced during the hurricane. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel, once all is operational (we remain without steam and hot water until now). Please call me directly in order for me to personally assist you with your future stay. We will make certain to take very special care of you. I can be reached at 212-613-8733.

Sincerely,


Anne-J Maurice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 467 in New York City
4,013 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#27 of 467 in New York City
378 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing