We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious but lacks atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York
Ranked #18 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently had a 4 night stay at the Langham Place, Fifth Avenue.
It's a very modern and stylish hotel which has great appeal when you first arrive on the very busy Fifth Avenue.
The reception staff very helpful and we received a free upgrade upon check in after I requested this. We had an empire corner suite which was like a very spacious 1 bedroom apartment for NY standards.
When you first enter the room it is rather dark and unlit due to all the wood panelling. There is a separate lounge, separate bedroom and bathroom. Firstly the separate lounge was useful as it had a desk and a spacious lounge and TV. The lounge was a bit dirty and grotty so was not keen on sitting down on it.
The bed was excellent and very soft and cozy but very low to the ground. Good use of electronic blinds but the lighting in the room was very poor. Also another desk in the room which for us is so helpful as we both work remotely on laptops every day and night from the room. Make sure you request a higher floor as you will not hear the traffic. The view was just ok - nothing special even in a corner room and with the empire state building directly in front of you..
The bathroom extremely clean and spacious and the skincare range was lovely.
There is plenty of cupboard and draw space with a semi walk in robe to unpack if staying a few days.

Overall a very clean and pleasant stay but felt it lacked atmosphere particularly the décor of the rooms. I would rather a more boutique hotel with softer, plusher interiors. Also the hotel's bar is a bit cold and boring so not very enthusiastic about even having a drink late upon arrival on our first night.

Room Tip: Request a room higher up to avoid ALL street noise. Also a corner suite will help the light into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VIP_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamPlaceNYC F, Director of Sales at Langham Place, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Langham Place, Fifth Avenue.
We have made note of your lighting comment, which we are addressing.
All of the hotels windows are double pane; regrettably, it is quite impossible to muffle all of the cities various noises despite the coated windows.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the décor of the accommodations and Measure lounge. We are planning exciting adjustments in the imminent future.
Thank you again for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back to Langham Place, Fifth Avenue.

Sincerely,

Anne-J Maurice
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed in LP for 4 nights as part of a 40th birthday celebration. I have stayed in a number of top hotels in NYC including places like the Waldorf Astoria and NY Palace, but I can say without doubt that this was by far the best and I won't be staying anywhere else in future. I stayed in a junior suite with Empire state view (and boy what a view!) and I would echo the comments of other reviewers about the high standard of the rooms and all the nice extra touches. What really stood out for me re the rooms was simply the size. NYC is notorious for small hotel rooms and I've paid more money to stay in smaller rooms / suites at other hotels. However the suite was incredibly spacious and felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. More importantly, my girlfriends were staying in cheaper smaller rooms on the eighth floor but they were still hugely spacious and decorated to the same high standard as mine with the same extras, so they were particularly pleased.

Everything about LP is top notch and execution is flawless. However what really makes this hotel the best are the staff. Everyone, without exception, was as warm and helpful as you could ask for, from reception to bar staff to housekeeping to guest services and so on. You expect good service at a hotel in this price range but at LP it was just a bit more genuine / human than at other places. A special stand out mention must go to the personal assistants (concierges) who were fantastic at helping us with our itinery, especially Mr Luis Vasquez. He managed to get us some reservations at some really great restaurants who treated us very well on learning that we were celebrating a birthday, and this also extended to the hotel itself where we received free drinks in the bar one night when we were watching the resident jazz band (awesome band btw). Thank you Luis for helping to make our stay such a good one! It was much appreciated.

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel or any suggestions for improvements. The rooms, location, staff and value for money were all fantastic. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkJadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Let's start with the obvious-this hotel is expensive (I stayed on a random weeknight for biz and it was north of 500 for the night for just a basic king room with no view to speak of) but it really competes with some of the best and most luxurious in the city.

For starters the service was outstanding. The check in attendant was funny, attentive and informative. She explained all features of the hotel and location of facilities etc. The housekeeping staff and turndown staff were friendly but also asked me if I needed anything while i was in the hall-again i expect this for 500 plus a night but you don't always get it.

The rooms were gorgeous with a sleek and clean modern design-the hotel is 3 years old so the rooms are very fresh. Satelitte TV channels for all interests and preferences, Nespresso espresso machine's, free fridges stocked with complimentary soft drinks, bottled water and pellegrino-even a complimentary umbrella in the closet to use which really came in handy because I had forgotten mine and it was pouring when I was on my way to my meeting. Bathroom-beautiful marble sunken tubs with rain shower and high product. Room was spotless and turndown service included a gourmet sugar cookie and a bottle of mineral water placed at bedside. Complimentary ride in the Masarati was a straight up trip and a half.

The bar "measure" was swanky with excellent cocktails. It's amazing how good a simple whiskey and soda can be when it's made properly and some dirtbag franchise owner hasn't swapped out the premium liquor for cheap label stuff. Oh here is a novel idea-thank you for using ginger ale out of a bottle so that it was fresh and had carbination instead of giving me some yellow piss water from a dirty tap and ruining my Jame-o.

Would recommend, would return-better for business obviously if you can break out the expense account.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gpards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at the Langham two nights for a business conference. My impression was one of understated professional elegance. The rooms were very well appointed, clean and the beds and pillows were like sleep magnets. The staff was caring, professional, well-trained and always available. I never had a full meal there but the snacks and h'ordeuvers were excellent. The location was close to attractions, but far enough away to feel that I was not a tourist.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixelpanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for 6 nights at the end of August while in NYC for our wedding. Can't speak highly enough about the level of service. Housekeepers, concierge, personal assistants - everyone was incredibly helpful and service was always extremely prompt. Room was large and comfortable with great amenities and views. We have great memories of our wedding in New York and we picked the perfect hotel as our base. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr and Mrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Everything was excellent.. Great location and value for your money. I I used the restuarant and service and food was great. Paper was delivered to your room early. Coffee in the lobby early in the morning. We also had coffee in the room. As a business person who travels this is great to start your day as you normally have something to review prior to your meeting. So I would stay at this hotel on future vists to the city. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lstone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great experience at this hotel. Rooms very spacious. Staff very friendly and helpful throughout the stay. Restaurant Al Fiori was outstanding. Wifi worked very well. Room faced busy Fifth Avenue and could not hear a thing outside. Also, I didn't take advantage of it but the free shoe shine and free pressing of up to 5 pieces of clothing is a great touch. Food in meeting rooms was very good. A really great hotel. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEC132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
4,143 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,700 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £332 - £947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing