We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for time-limited vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York
Ranked #21 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It was two years ago when we visited NY for the first time. It was great decision to pick Langham Place at Fifth avenue as it is just perfect location. Only few minutes walk to Times Square. As we wanted to see much of NY hotel was only for sleeping as we spent most ot the time out.
When I compare European hotel's staff and US standards there is much for US employees to learn from competition from abroad.
So if there were different employees I would come again. If not I would pick competition hotel. They were not professional, not helpfull and not pleasant. But we love NY so it did not matter that much.

Room Tip: Rooms need refurbishing, more cleanliness.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micha_U81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,220)
There are newer reviews for Langham Place, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,225 - 1,231 of 2,221 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Last summer I wrote a hotel review for The Setai Fifth Avenue. This posh independent hotel just steps from the Empire State Building was purchased by Langham Hotels in 2013. On my visit to New York City I was able to come back and stay in the rebranded property. I was curious if the Langham experience would differ.

For those familiar with The Setai, you will be pleased to note on your return visit to the property now called Langham Place, Fifth Avenue, service remains impeccable. The rooms are laid out to maximize the space and the quality of the materials used add a touch of luxury.

While travelers will like the convenient location of the hotel, the perks like the free shoe shine service and even the comfortable slippers that are laid out for you as part of the hotel’s nightly turn down service, I especially appreciated the deliciously brewed coffee in the morning from my room’s Nespresso machine.

Room Tip: The free shoe shine service is much appreciated - esp. when traveling to NYC during the winter when...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

stayed in this hotel for 5 days, used to be Setai Hotel. Service is excellent. Staff is very friendlly and helpfull. Prices are higher than for most hotels in the surrounding. Price for breakfast is too expensive. Nice lobby and bar. Spacious rooms, clean bathroom. Free drinks and wifi connection. Room service is good. Centrally located hotel. This hotel is 5 star hotel, price for this kind of hotelroom is normal.
Looks like they offer the same, excellent service as the Setai Hotel. Only breakfast should be better (make it buffet) and better priced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location, 5-10 minutes walking distance to Emprite State Builiding,
Times Square and Central Park only breakfast (buffet) need improvement.
Excellent staff only, ready to help you in anything you need.
Great place for family city vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IOANNIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Great, safe location in the heart of busy midtown. Beautiful rooms, excellent room service, awesome spa and fitness center. I frequent four seasons and ritz Carltons and this hotel is up there with them at better prices. We had the empire room and our bed faced the Empire State Building. Room #1405. You can't go wrong here. I have nothing bad to say except the food, services, and valet are pricey, but it's NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs.Tort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights from 12/26/13 and everything has been awesome. Check in was seamless with Eloise who made sure everything was to our standards. The room was perfect, 2 huge beds a massive bathroom but the bathtub was the best ever - felt like being in a mini swimming pool! Ai fiori was fabulous for breakfast and a celebratory lunch and Measure Lounge was great - a hip bar with views over fifth avenue. Can't say any more than what a wonderful place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Family place rooms are so spacious
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

For a NYC hotel, even a premium one like this one where we knew they were suites, the rooms/suites were a wonderful surprise. Gigantic by NYC standards, done beautifully in modern style, amazing bathrooms. We were celebrating an anniversary and didn't want to leave the hotel room. Service was very good. Italian restaurant was very nice.
We stayed there a few months after Langham had taken it over but before they do their planned major renovations on all rooms to deck it out in pink Langham style. We have stayed at Langham Melbourne which was a totally different style - frankly we preferred this NYC one, but they may re-outfit to more traditional decor. We hope they leave it mostly as is from its days as Setai!
Great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank offshore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 468 in New York City
4,085 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £315 - £889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Langham Place, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing