We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Langham Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Langham Place, New York
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Hi there... so making a long story short I would like to say that I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Its a nice place with amazing people and professional stuff. Also I wanted to mention a great guy at the front desk, thank you Tony for all your help and thanks for making things very easy. For sure I will visit this place next time I come to NYC. :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JohnnyTheBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

If I were to write what I was looking for in a perfect hotel---superb treatment of guests, welcoming attitude, desire to please, going out of one's way to make a stay special, helping before the guest arrives, when they arrive and throughout their visit, placing a hotel in a wonderful location, amazing room, I'd imagine I'd never find it.......but I did........at the Langham Place Hotel. Traveling perhaps 10 times a year and staying in a good 30-40 different hotels across multiple brands in many cities throughout the world......it is apparent that the Langham Place shines, or should I say, outshines nearly every other place!!! I must give personal and warm thanks to Eugenia Primis who went out of her way in EVERY way to accommodate our needs before and during our trip. Likewise, all of the staff we encountered were truly warm, inviting, and helpful. The Langham Place hotel clearly places substantial effort in having staff who are exemplary, thus adding to the elegance of the structure itself. I was most fortunate to have used my American Express Platinum to book our stay--quite a few extras were granted by using this card--in fact, I could make a plug for everyone having this card.......the extras at the Langham Place alone provide more than enough benefit for the yearly fee!!! I should hope our traveling future allows us more stays at this star of a hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfeskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have been staying at the Setai/ Langham place every week since it opened for the last 3 years. It is my home away from home. I LOVE IT . I feel so comfortable there with the friendly people, like Matt, Luis, Floyd, Gabriel, … and the list goes on and on , who always making me feel welcome. They make me feel like a rock star!!. Even my wife comments on this when she comes with me. Because I stay in New York EVERY week, I have been lured by many hotels to become a ‘frequent guest’ of theirs. I wouldn’t think of switching. I have chosen to stay with the Langham place because they make me feel so comfortable and at home. So if you are looking for that special 5 star treatment with a very homely feel I recommend you stay at the Langham place. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Where to begin? This is the most perfect hotel stay I've ever experienced.

Bellboys were true gentleman, very friendly! Helped me right away, also gave me great directions when I needed a few pointers after settling in.

Front Desk staff is the BEST I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH IN THE WORLD!!!!!!! Friendly and knowledgable young man (Stephen?) checked me in. Very efficient and charming! The service in this hotel is effortless and smooth, not overbearing. Also met Eloise and Melissa. All great!

Our Studio room was to die for. Great view over 5th avenue. Freebies like wifi and Nespresso machine topped off a perfect weekend. Will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacyG1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I arrived and my driver had to unload my bags. I had to carry them into the hotel as there was no doorman or bellstaff in sight. Checked in. I had to carry my bags to my room. Again no bellstaff. The room was small and noisy. I asked if it was the correct room type as I had booked an upgraded large studio place and was offered to be shown other rooms. After waiting and waiting, a man showed me another room that was less noisy and larger. I accepted it before noting that the carpets in it were extremely dirty: stained with an awful looking substance that caused me concern about a pet or an ill or incontinent customer in the room. We decided to cover the worst stains with bathroom rugs. I requested a bathroom scale (standard in almost all five star hotels) and was told they were out of them. I stay at NYC five star and 4 1/2 star hotels each week as I have weekly business in NYC. This hotel is not a five star hotel. There are four star hotels with superior service, staffing and hygiene standards. The hotel is severely understaffed and just does not have the amenities that a true luxury hotel has. It was a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel staff is the most welcoming and accommodating I've encountered in my travels thus far. I receive consistently phenomenal service and attention during each visit. The location can't be beat being in the heart of Midtown Manhattan near everything from Theater, Dining and famous Times Square. I have stayed at the Langham place 4 times in just as many months and even with the price tag for a stay, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are massive, the amenities are great and the service is superior. A definite must stay in my book.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southamptonlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is our home away from home. Mr. Matthew Deudne, the Assistant Front Office Manager and the entire staff including mini bar service and housekeeping are professional and help make us feel like royalty every time we are in New York. He is patient, kind, and generous with his time and expertise. We have stayed all over the world...but we love this hotel more than the St. Regis and The Ritz Carlton. It is simply people like Matt who make this hotel such a special place. It's priceless what bright and warm smiles, thoughtful consideration, and class will bring to jet set weary travelers. Thank you for truly being the BEST!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#28 of 469 in New York City
4,150 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,703 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York

Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £334 - £943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Langham Place, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing