We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Ranked #25 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a very cool hotel property...the amenities are the same that are found in the world's other great hotels, really sleek, modern good looking and very comfortable. Bar down stairs is jammed weekdays with good looking middle aged folks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,694
    280
    91
    38
    23
See reviews for
570
783
82
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The location is great. You can walk to most of the tourist places or close enough for subway. However this is no way a 5 star hotel, not in New York. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world so when a place is listed as 5 star in NYC, I had high expectations. Walk around to the real 5 stars in NYC - Taj, Plaza, Regis - cannot compare. To begin with, there could be improvements in customer service. After check in, had to drag my luggage myself to my rooms. The lobby and room corridors are not in the best state. Very old, dark and tired. Once you enter the rooms however, they are quite modern and very big for NY. There is no personalized service which is what gives leading 5 star hotels around the world that added edge. No atmosphere here and half the time walking in and out of the lobby, no one to be seen or staff just talking amongst themselves. Felt more like a 4 star. It was a disappointing given the price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrottergirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I first stayed at this Hotel when it was the Setai Fifth Ave. Fell in love then and happy to report it is 95% still as wonderful. Then rooms are spacious and luxurious, the one change I didn't like was stopping the complementary coffee with a wake-up call, but that is just being picky!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick_B_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had great expectations for the Langham Place at 5th avenue after multiple stays at Langham in London and Shanghai. This time with our 3 boys we got some very impressive "Langham" rooms ont the 6th floor overlooking the bussy 5th Av! Free refreshments in the fridge all through the stay, fast and free wifi, delicious and spacy bathrooms, heavenly beds and spacious bedrooms give you the Langham feeling! An average but well equiped fittnes room with good equipment was also positive. Compared to Shanghai and London the Langham Place does not match the real service level. With the personal assistant and the almost unlimited service they can offer you do expect more when you actually need it - we had notified them several times that we were a family of 5 but still only 4 beds when we checked in, and it was somewhat compicated to change it... They could only offer a car to >250 usd (!) for a car to take the 5 of us from the hotel to Penn station (5 min away) and the free pressing is only valid the first night (easy to think it lasts throughout thr stay..). For breakfast you either have to choose a very limited (and not very delicious) fast alternative in Measures or a far too expensive ala carte in AiFiori costing close to 225 usd for a family breakfast for 5 (!). We searched for other alternatives close by. The staff in reception and the door men were superior and always helpful with a smile! We will be back, but hope Langham puts away that negative NY service level and change to the UK and Asian service attitude - then they will be the #1 hotel in NYC!

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms overlooking 5th avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a wonderful place in every way. The room was spacious, immaculate. and well appointed The service was unbelievably helpful and gracious. My daughter became ill during our stay so we ordered clear liquids from room service. Later the kitchen staff, without asking sent up chicken soup for her. This hotel takes service up to a new level. I cannot imagine a better experience anywhere else in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here Apr 9-11 in the residental suite. Besides a little bump checking in, everything else was great. Almira the PA and Jonhathan the Porter were truly outstanding. Ate at Measure for breakfast each morning and the service was outstanding. The location is right in the middle of everything without all the "noise" of Times Square. The rooms are very clean, free pressing of up to 5 clothing item, free Nepresso, pop, water and wi-fi. Used the business room and had a few packages delivered to the hotel without any issues at all. I will stay here again, don't see how you can really go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkrcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent in every way from the introduction email a week before we arrived to the very last moment.

We booked through eBookers and got a cracking deal on this Hotel. Otherwise, to be quite frank we couldn't have afforded it because it is quite pricey but you really can see where the money goes.

The rooms are huge! Not just by New York standards - they're huge by anyone's standard!

The locaion is fantastic too. Just a few minutes walk from a choice of subway lines and many nice spots. Empire States Building, Bryant Park, NY Public Library, Grand Central Station etc etc.

We stayed in a Premier Place room which as a free upgrade from a Superior Place room. Our Personal Assistant, Eugenia, had asked prior to our arrival what the purpose of our visit was. I advised her it was to mark my Birthday and our Wedding Anniversary so perhaps this is why we were given the free upgrade (and a bottle of Taittinger Champagne). It was certainl unexpected, especially since we did not book via the hotel and had gotten such a good deal through eBookers.

The bathroom alone was bigger than some small hotel rooms I've stayed in! The bath is simply huge and the separate shower enclosure is huge too. The sizable walk in wardrobe was a very nice touch too.

Other very nice touches include:

Complimentary soft drinks in mini bar - restocked daily.
Cookies or brownie etc with turn down service.
Personal Assistant.
Complimentary chauffeur driven Maserati on demand (subject to availability of course)
Polite and professional but not overbearing staff. (and no awkward hovering waiting to be tipped. - In order to tip the staff, as is the way in the America, I had to actively approach them with cash). I like to tip the housekeeping staff a few dollars each day (probably among the hardest working but lowest paid staff in the building) and I was greeted each time I returned to my room with a nice thank you note.

The doorman 'Dwayne" seems to work 24 hours a day but he always seems happy and can magic a taxi out of nowhere (if the Maserati is being used by another guest)

We had a problem with our safe in the room. I called room services who had a guy up within minutes who, after trying for a couple of minutes to fix it said that rather than disturbing us any longer, he'd replace it. Less than 15 minutes after my initial call the safe had been replaced.

I had no other need to put their customer services to the test as everything was just right as it was.

It's pricey unless you can get a good deal (and the Hotel will price match) but it's very well worth it.

I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mondo0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
3,945 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,553 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue

Property: Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Address: 400 Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10018-2753 (Formerly The Setai Fifth Avenue)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue 5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully complementing Manhattan's luxurious Fifth Avenue and boldly accenting New York City's famous skyline, Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue is a renewed celebration of sophistication and style. Soaring more than sixty stories above the city, Langham Place, Fifth Avenue represents the new heart of the world's most inspired metropolis. Accommodations exude the very essence of luxury and elegance. Duxiana beds, Pratesi linens, and floor-to-ceiling rain showers leave guests breathing easy, if not breathless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing