We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,453)
Filter reviews
2,453 results
Traveller rating
1,962
321
101
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,962
321
101
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsai fiorififth avenuehouse carthe empire state buildingal fioritv in the mirrornew yorknespresso machinewasher and dryerfamily suiteturn down servicefive star hotelhuge bathroomconcierge teamfour seasonsfull kitchenfabulous hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,285 - 1,290 of 2,453 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is just a great hotel, great service and the location is not bad either. The staff were very professional. We were there for a wedding and they even managed to shorten my new suit trousers with a 6 hour notice. Want somewhere classy but unassuming, this is the place. Loved it.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a room with the empire state view. It was great in the evening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samtastico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at The Langham New York Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We are so happy you chose to stay with us on such a happy occasion. We are very proud of our staff and I am very pleased to hear that they exceeded your expectations for great service.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just spent a really nice weekend at the Langham Place in Midtown. This was my first stay here and my third stay in a Langham branded property. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite on the 19th floor at actually a pretty good rate for the size and amenities. We booked through luxury link auction.

The hotel is near the Empire State building - it's a little bit of a walk to the Theater District and getting a cab can take some time so if you are seeing a show in the city, give yourselves some time to get there.

PROS
- Staff - the staff is 5 star all the way. Every single interaction we had with staff members was terrific. Most introduced themselves and were all extremely friendly and welcoming. I don't know where they find all of these great employees.

- House Car - We were able to take advantage of using the hotels house car (a blue Mazerati) which was really nice. Still it's faster to walk and take the subway, but if you have the time, try to take advantage of this perk.

- Bath Room - the amenities in our room were terrific. We had a large suite with two sinks, huge soaking tub and great water pressure in shower. The shower also had a great rainshower above and handheld as well. They also left great large bars of soap, shampoo and conditioner as well as mouthwash and even swe

- Bed - one of the best beds I've slept in - extremely high thread count linens. Really comfortable. The hotel also does a nice turndown service with bottled water and some type of treat (cookies, short bread, etc.) The sheets reminded me of the Beverly Hills hotel which I think is tops.


CONS
- My only gripe was in our room. The carpeting was stained and just appeared worn. It made an otherwise amazing room look tired. Additionally, I wish there were ice available on each floor. To get ice you need to call down and wait 20-30 minutes (depending on time of day) for someone to bring it up to the room.

- Hotel bar - I'm pulling hairs here but we felt the service was a bit slow here especially compared to other parts of the hotel.

All in all if you are in the market for a 5 star - check out the Langham Place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at The Langham New York Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We are so happy you chose to stay with us on your recent visit to New York!

Please know that we have taken note of your comments, positive and negative, in order to continually improve the service we offer our guests.

We will let our partners at Duxiana Bed and Maserati know how much you enjoyed their products. And I am happy to here that you had nothing but positive interactions with our staff.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,
Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights and left without a single complaint. The room was large, spotless, all amenities, modern, and with a large balcony with lounge chairs.
The bathroom was large and sunny.. Even a TV in the mirror.!
Service was excellent at all levels.
The Ai Fiori restaurant is elegant and the food superb.
You'll want for nothing in this 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: 5th floor has the large balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at The Langham New York Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We are so happy you chose to stay with us on your recent visit to New York and that we exceeded your expectations. I have passed your compliments about Ai Fiori onto the chef and staff there. Thank you for including them in your review.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It it on 5th Ave, near 39th St. - conveniently located for exploring Manhattan.
Room we had has a view of Empire State Building. It is very spacious - 900 + sf . They offer a deal - stay 3 nights and the third night is free. with this deal, It is a little less expensive than Four Seasons. We paid about $700 a night. They provide Duxiana bed - good for those with sensitive backs. .

Thee is an Italian restaurant in the premise. It is called Ai Fiori - "Among Flowers". It is rated Michelin one star. It serves excellent northern Italian cuisine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westgate_jl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanghamPlaceNYC, General Manager at The Langham New York Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your positive review of Langham Place, Fifth Avenue. We are so happy you chose to stay with us on your recent visit to New York, and that you took advantage of our "Linger Longer" package.

We hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to New York.

Sincerely,

Francois-Olivier Luiggi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 9 nights to celebrate a significant birthday.
The central location is perfect for the visitor who plans to do things uptown and downtown.
As others have noted the stand out feature of this hotel is the pleasant nature and friendliness of all the staff. It really is a welcoming place to return to each day.
We were allocated the room that we booked ( an 'executive place') and my birthday was acknowledged by the friendly check in staff. They promised a complimentary drink to celebrate when we returned to the bar after unpacking. This did not materialise. No big deal of course.
My wife had gone to the trouble of arranging for a birthday cake to be waiting in our room upon arrival. It was a nice surprise to see the Magnolia Bakery cake waiting in the room but its worth noting that there was nothing extra provided. Indeed, it was merely a box left on the table...no note, no glass of champagne ( as was discussed when arranging the cake)...just the cake.
Again, no big deal but slightly surprising given the length of stay and the significance of the event.
The room itself was ideal for our long stay. Plenty of space. Excellent size bathroom and a large walk in closet. It was spotless and kept that way during our stay.
The provision of a nespresso machine made the morning coffee a simple task.
You will also find plenty of bottled water that is replenished every day.
so whats not perfect?
Two things stand out and its got a lot to do with how the hotel advertises certain features.
The Langham promotes a 'personal assistant' that will attend to all your requests during your stay. In reality, this is actually the same concierge service that any hotel offers and is no way personalised to you or your room. You will be helped by whoever is available at the time or whoever answers your phone call. So, do not expect anything out of the ordinary.
Whilst we were at the hotel we asked for a few of the 'basic' concierge services and were surprised by the result.
A common request in NYC is always for theatre tickets.
We did the groundwork ourselves and merely asked for the concierge to assist with booking these online and printing out the tickets.
Surprisingly they were unable to help and informed us that they didnt have a password to use for the booking site. As we were leaving for an appointment I had anticipated that they might say, “leave it with us” to help with the tickets. Not the case and so we went to the theatre ourselves to buy the tickets.
Again, no big deal, but a NYC concierge that cant assist with theatre tickets ( not acquiring them, merely helping to print out a confirmation) is not exactly at the level of a ‘personal assistant’.
Another example was when I had a suit delivered to the hotel from a local store.
I had informed the ‘personal assistant’ that this would be happening and they assured me that it would be taken to the room.
When returning to the hotel to get ready for dinner I rang the assistant to enquire about the whereabouts of the suit. It had been delivered to the hotel earlier and would be sent up to the room.
Three further calls and 45 minutes later I was able to receive my suit just in time to get ready for dinner.
Again, just a simple request that the ‘personal assistant’ service failed on.
And this is the main point about the Langham. It's a wonderful hotel in a great location. The staff are truly nice people to deal with.
The advertising of service though may raise your expectations of what will be delivered and in our experience lead you to be disappointed with the reality.
Much the same way that they advertise the complimentary house car ( a Maserati ). Inevitably the car will be out whenever you need it and typically will have someone else waiting for its return.
This is understandable given the size of the hotel but its just another example of the guest expectations based on the advertising not being matched by the delivery.
Stay at the Langham by all means, as we will again.
It ticks most of the boxes and you will have a wonderful hotel to call home during your stay.
Just be prepared to do the legwork yourself for most things and do not raise your expectations too high and you will enjoy every minute.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dwAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews