We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Visited New York with a friend for 6 days, (we had already stayed on 34 th street for 4 days). Had an apartment on the 6 th floor so be prepared for stairs! Very tricky with lots of bags. Enjoyed the rooftop deck, great views of empire state building at night, by day you get rooftops. The futon was comfortable in the lounge room. Kitchen very small, no table to sit at but clean and fridge clean. The TV didn't work and wifi was not reliable. We got a small refund for the TV not working.Enjoyed the coffee shop on the corner 'the Bean' it has wifi and nice coffee. Lots of bars and restaurants around. Hells angels not a problem. We didnt use there breakfast facility as it was in another building and did not look like a comfortable spot to eat breakfast so we made our own in our room. Easy to get around on subway. I would not recommend for families, more ideal for a couple as you don't need the futon and you would have more room. Enjoyed our stay and thanks to Zac for taking our bags up 6 floors.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    63
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Cleanliness: we found long red hairs all ovr the place and since neiter me nor my friend have long, red hair...well that must have been someones elses....and that in an amount!!! My friend doubted that the linnen was changed at all... I don' want to speculate about that...
Noise: I actualy live in the center of a big german city... but there was no way to sleep here without earplugs, even in the sixed floor...very noisy!!!
No elevator|: very high stairs... very exausting to the 6th floor...really nothing for people who are older or not that fit. I am pretty fit and really got annoyed myselve.
Very poorly equipped kitchen: The kitchen itself is pretty nice but very rare cutlery, pots (we had one small one, only!!!!) and other stuff. When we used the washing mashine, the thing was leaking heavily... so be carefull:-) ...
Breakfast: well nothing for me...I dont like to be cramped together and looking for a place to sit and bothering other people... we pferred tonstay in our appartment and have a little mor relaxed breakfast...

all in all ok... more less than more...will try an other location the next time definitively...

Room Tip: Choose an other location, simply:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemensHummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Chakra room was our home for 6 days New York and we appreciate our stay in this quite new apartment very well. Is is located in a vibrant though nice and safe area. With some good restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. The apartment is clean, nicely decorated, efficient and well equipped. The only minus was that the doorlock was not working properly.
There is a Wholefoods Supermarket in walking distance for all your breakfast stuff.
If you want to rent bikes go to the bike-shop on 2nd avenue, very close and they have nice bikes.
The price of the apartment is also is very reasonable.
Be aware that only a few hours per day there is someone at the reception. You have to be fully self supporting.
We would definitely go back and recommend it to the (little bit) more experienced traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bredero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012 via mobile

Mario and Vishna are awesome hosts and our Suite (Rama) feels like a home away from home. Full kitchen, heavenly beds, rooftop patio, every convenience and Stanton location is perfect for the "not so touristy" NY experience! Close to some great listening rooms for music, Rockwood, Living Room and Arlene's Grocery where you never know who will show up to"sit in" on a session. I love the neighborhood, love the Suite, it's a win! AND totally affordable;-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMGGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Was torn between staying here and another apartment further uptown but opted for this one as it looked cosier and the area seemed to have more going on.
Like other reviewers on here was quite apprehensive when we booked this place as some of these reviews make it sound hideous and like there is something a bit dodgy about the whole place.
Anyway, we really needn't have worried as it was perfect for us. Despite getting in to New York after the Sanctuary's office hours I was given a phone number to call to ensure that there would be somebody there to meet us and check us in. This went ahead smoothly and then we were left to our own devices which is exactly what we were looking for.

If youre looking for luxury then this isnt for you, as many people have mentioned there is no lift, but unless you are elderly or disabled, why is this such a big issue, the daily climb just helped me to justify the mountains of food it is hard to avoid enjoying whilst in New York. For what we wanted (somewhere to sleep and wash) this place was ideal but with the added bonus of a kitchen. If there are more than two of you, I could see this being a little cramped but then think how much cheaper it would be again!

We didnt have breakfast in the breakfast room but did cook on some days during our stay in our apartment. If you are really on a budget think how much money you would save by a breakfast option being included in the price and being able to cook your own meals in your apartment.

I am really surprised by people talking about this being a dodgy area, the Hell's Angels (next door) were as good as gold, yes there are homeless people around but there seem to be lots of homeless people everywhere in NYC and they are to be pitied, not afraid of! We walked around late at night and would rather do that here than I would in most British cities. It is well lit and lots of exciting bars, shops and cafes are just a few minutes walk away, as is the subway. Don't miss out on Katz's Diner or the Eastville Comedy Club, both less than five minutes walk away.

We left very early in the morning and so went to the office the day before and they offered to book us a car to take us to the airport. We were a little nervous as we didnt see the girl make the booking but when we got outside at 5am the next morning the car was there ready and waiting so thank you for that.

This isn't a hotel so don't expect hotel levels of service. Ok so i have stayed in cleaner places but it wasn't unhygienic by any stretch of the imagination. Oh, one more thing, we didnt have any problems with bed bugs I am pleased to say.

Fantastic place to stay on a budget in one of the most incredible cities on earth.

Room Tip: I dont know about the other rooms but we stayed in The Simha (D3) apartment which more than met our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ahdum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the Kurma suite A-3. The apartment was spacious compared to a NYC hotel but, we had 5 people and it was a little cramped. The location was very good! Very close to the subway (F line) so we were able to get everywhere. Two places we planned to visit was Katz Deli and Russ and Daughters. Both were just blocks away,(wonderful). The area had many quaint bars and restaurants which was also wonderful. Just DON'T sit on the bench outside in front of the building(owned and maintained by the NYC chapter of the Hells Angels). It was never a problem for us. Check in went fairly smooth except the room was not ready at 3 pm. The Continental Breakfast was okay, nothing special. The one thing that surprised us all was having to wash our own plates,cups and silverware. We did a good job of cleaning but, did others? I would have rather seen them run dishes in a dishwasher to be sure. The suite was well stocked with cleaning supplies that we didn't use, but when we asked about dishwashing detergent, we were told that they didn't supply (also weird to us). the room only had 1 roll of toilet tissue so we went to ask for more (there were 5 of us) they were out, but did manage to give us 1 more roll (there were 5 of us). We decided to purchase our own. Our biggest complaint though was how noisy the box springs (two full size beds) were. During the night if you rolled over you would wake everyone up, (at least the mattress was comfortable and there were no bugs). All in all, the stay was a pleasant one and the staff was friendly. Lastly be prepared to give a $20.00 deposit for each set of keys (cash only). It was refunded at the end of our week long stay. Happy Travels!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robl1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I was a little apprehensive when booking this place as the online reviews are mixed! But I have to say we had a great stay and were very impressed by the experience.
Having booked a penthouse suite, we arrived and breezed through the relatively easy, though slightly unorthodox reception process. Like all reviews seem to mention, there are no lifts in this place, so the penthouse suite requires a 5 story climb up the stairs.
Once getting to the room we realised it was well worth the climb, as we found ourselves in large, bright and modern room with (narrow) spiral staircase going up to the rooftop complete with an excellent view of the Manhattan skyline. The weather was cold, but we still managed a few roof top champagnes ;)
I cannot comment on the breakfast service, as we opted to head out to eat each day, though on viewing it it seemed basic but adequate.
Apart from being next door to The Hell's Angels club house (which I might add caused no problem to our stay whatsoever), the suites are excellently located for easy access to anywhere in NYC.
I wouldn't recommend this place to families or older folk, but its hard to go past for the youthful traveler looking for a nice stay at a great price!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDM_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#402 of 467 in New York City
527 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#92 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#215 of 467 in New York City
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#89 of 467 in New York City
643 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary NYC Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary NYC Retreats

Property: Sanctuary NYC Retreats
Address: 196A Stanton St, New York City, NY 10002-1809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanctuary NYC Retreats 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary NYC Retreats was established by a group of health, eco, and spiritually conscientious travelers. They came together with two ideas in mind: To provide other travelers with a peaceful, retreat-like stay in NYC and to create an opportunity to give back to our community. Each suite at Sanctuary features a fully equipped kitchen and a flat-screen cable TV. The suites are decorated in warm colors and Indian folk art. Select rooms have a sofa bed and private patio. Complimentary continental breakfast is offered Monday-Friday only. The Lower East Side is the oldest neighborhood in New York City and presently one of the most fashionable in Manhattan. Once the home for working-class European immigrants, the LES has become one of the trendiest areas in the city full of cool boutique hotels, bars, restaurants, yoga studios, fashion stores, health food stores, art galleries and live music venues. Iconic artists like Marlon Brando, Robert DeNiro, Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen used to live on our street and countless movies and TV shows are filmed around throughout the year. Just blocks away is the Delancey/Essex Subway Station and a quick train ride to Midtown (Union Square, Flatiron District, Empire State Building, Times Square and Central Park) or Brooklyn (Williamsburg, DUMBO). A few minutes walking and you can be anywhere Downtown: East Village, SoHo, West Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and East River Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sanctuary NYC Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Guest Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing