We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in Soho”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York-SoHo
Ranked #164 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best views in Soho”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff here is the nicest anywhere in NY. Every request we made was accommodated. The rooms are very small and other than the very comfortable beds, the furnishings are less than adequate. Only one straight chair for sitting and other than that you have to sit on the bed.......not much moving around space. The bathrooms are very modern and nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GAC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear GAC65,

Thanks for choosing us for your visit to New York. It’s great that our team left you with such a positive impression. Our guestroom sizes are average to New York standards, which can understandably still seem tight. Hopefully the large windows and use of glass can make the room seem more specious. We appreciate the feedback. Your feedback will be reviewed with our team.

All the best,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    353
    124
    71
    38
See reviews for
152
646
74
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Lovely, friendly service with fantastic access to true New York. It has a great bar with breath taking views and equally good gym. You're in walking distance of the shopping district abnd bars. I've been on a lot of business trips and this combined work and relaxation perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Mr. Richard B,

We here at The James New York strive to cater to business and leisure travelers so it’s great to hear that you found balance for both on your recent visit. If you’re not already a member of our Corporate Perks or STASH rewards program, those are good options to add value to your travel needs. Thank you for sharing feedback.

Sincerely,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Myself & my husband chose to stay at The James mainly due to location. We prefer the Soho/Greenwich Village area of New York - away from the hustle & bustle & more 'touristy' area of Times Square etc. This was perfect - a short walk in either direction to Soho or Greenwich Village - the walk gave you time to really appreciate the areas and especially walking to Greenwich Village the opportunity to view possibly some of the most expensive properties in NYC.The James offered though so much more than just a dream location ....
The staff were extremely friendly & nothing appeared to be too much trouble for them . On arrival John at the concierge desk quickly welcomed us & took care of our luggage & called ahead to the reception that we had arrived - the check in process therefore took from arriving to being in the lift taken to our room 5 minutes - ideal after a long delayed flight & a quite 'scary' taxi ride from JFK. All requests made by us to the staff were warmly received - we asked the concierge for the best way to get to the Diamond District one morning & were told instead that the in house car would be able to take us instead for free.When the in house car was not available the concierge had no issues in hailing taxi's for us - never appreciated more than when we were running late for a theatre performance seemingly at the same time as the whole of Manhattan decided to also take a cab - without help we would never had got there on time !!
The little touches provided such as coffee & fresh baked scones in the morning, cheese & wine in the evening & the most amazing cookies in the evening all provided free along with the provision of free WiFi throughout the entire hotel really made in our opinion this a stand out hotel - its still shocks me that some 5 star hotels still try to charge for WiFi or any grade hotel really!
The rooms were simple & well designed - we stayed on the 14th Floor - views of a bustling NYC were a real 'wow' factor & the large windows allowed you to really appreciate the change in the skylight from morning to the evening - also on a personal note even though the room was air conditioned I really liked the the windows could be opened slightly - nothing beats a blast of fresh air in the morning to clear the cobwebs.
The bed was super comfortable and the storage space was well laid out - additional drawers were available under the settee area along with a small table and chair for sitting to dine in room or do work at. The walk in shower in the bathroom was spacious with huge bottles of premium shampoo, conditioner & shower gel provided - I hate the small bottles often provided. Lots of fluffy towels, robes & slippers & an innovative privacy screen in the bathroom ( the bathroom was only separated from the room by a glass screen) made the room a pleasure to return to after a long day walking around NYC.
One morning we treated ourselves to breakfast in bed - delivered hot & on time by a lovely lady - the breakfast was gorgeous , nothing missing on the tray & a plentiful supply of tea. My dream morning - in bed eating breakfast watching numerous 'Housewives of ...' on Bravo whilst from the window being able to see NYC waken up.
We also treated ourselves to a few late night drinks at the rooftop bar at Jimmy's ......again the staff were attentive & the cocktails were fab - ordering off menu was no problem & again the view was breathtaking .....I would have been happy to spend every night at Jimmy's. For such a luxurious looking bar - almost like a private members bar it did not give off any airs of exclusivity - the staff made everyone feel so welcome that you were not intimidated at all which sometimes I feel when you go to extremely high standard bars. The outside terrace and pool though they looked amazing we could not appreciate fully as it was minus 0 in NY during out stay but I could imagine in the summer you would have a blast at Jimmy's ...that pool with that view .....we're booking to go back in the summer just to try it out !
All in all what works about this hotel is the little touches & everything has a real thought behind it - from the extra magnifying mirror in the bathroom to the in room duty free bar (Patron,Grey Goose,Makers Make......you could have a field day by not even leaving the room) to the lovely bottle of red wine & hand written note we received from guest services to the chocolates left at turn down to the staff whom nothing was too much trouble - this hotel should be a great pride to all who work there as it is amazing & I think we've just found 'our NY hotel.' Can't wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, General Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear mrmilo,

Your recommendation means a lot to us so I wanted to personally thank you. Thanks for taking time to share your luxury liberated experience. Our team strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive service and seeing their hard work pay off with feedback like yours is very gratifying. It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of our unique amenities/features. Hopefully you can enjoy our rooftop plunge pool this season with our Pool Package. Until your next stay!

Cheers,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The James. The Hotel is well kept and perfectly located in the heart of Soho. I would especially like to commend Morgan Cohen for assisting under extraordinary circumstances . We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beans545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Beans545,

Thanks for the positive feedback. Morgan continues to be a great asset to our team. She’ll appreciate the special mention. I’m also glad you enjoyed The James’ prime location between Soho and Tribeca, the boutiques, galleries and eateries are unbeatable. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to your return.

Cheers,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The staff was great on all levels. The room was perfect! We ended up getting a free room upgrade and getting the most beautiful view of the city. It's pricey but well worth it if it's a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Q M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Q M,

Thanks for taking time to share about your visit. Glad you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade. The views from the guestrooms are impeccable and the large loft windows allow plenty of natural light. I’m proud our team left you feeling welcomed. We hope you return soon.

Sincerely,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good location for business easy to Soho and subway. Excellent facilities and amenities. Really like the view and the design. Staff very attentive Look forward to my next stay. Is now my 'go to' in NYC.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Mr. Charles S,

We’re honored you've chosen us as your preferred hotel in New York. We hope to continue delivering flawless luxury liberated experiences. Thanks for the positive feedback! Looking forward to your return.

All the best,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Bridges, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the James for my husband's work. From the moment we arrived we were spotted and ushered to the check in desk. The staff was genuinely warm, pleasant, and helpful. We had an awesome view from the 6th floor and the room was modern and clean. I loved the glass elevator that brought us to the check in desk. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and a down comforter. The bathroom is enclosed in glass with an electric shade for privacy. The amenities in the shower were large bottles as opposed to the small towelettes. The flat screen tv was a bit on the small side, however, there is plenty to do in this part of town, so the tv would not be getting much use anyway. Awesome place to stay and we cannot wait to go back here soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheJames_NY, Guest Relations Manager at The James New York-SoHo, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Karen M,

Glad you enjoyed your visit to The James! Thanks for taking time to share feedback. Our team is our greatest asset so they’ll appreciate your kind sentiments. I’d have to agree with you on the views from our guestrooms. They’re unbeatable and being in Soho avoids the hustle and bustle of Midtown while still getting an authentic New York experience. We appreciate your recommendation. Until your next stay!

Cheers,
Yvette Ly
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#82 of 467 in New York City
915 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 467 in New York City
2,970 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#60 of 467 in New York City
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#134 of 467 in New York City
3,077 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#233 of 467 in New York City
947 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York-SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York-SoHo

Property: The James New York-SoHo
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York-SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York-SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing