We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest business hotel in NYC”
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #149 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Friendliest business hotel in NYC”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have stayed at the James twice in the past four months and had an outstanding experience both times. The staff is very warm and welcoming. The rooms, especially the corner rooms, are nicer than what you'd expect in NYC. Location halfway between midtown and Wall Street and walking distance to SOHO and the Village are a plus. Nice rooftop bar with good energy and vibe. Olivier the bartender makes a killer custom bourbon and citrus drink that was a blowaway. Restaurant is unique and differentiated from the normal hotel fare.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr Paul H,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. Your loyalty and recommendation means a lot to us. Olivier is a great asset to our team so thank you for acknowledging his hard work. I’m also happy you enjoyed the atmosphere at our rooftop bar. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!

Best,

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    340
    119
    68
    36
See reviews for
146
631
70
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location of the hotel is very good. The lobby is bare and soulless. The staff were very friendly but it felt understaffed.
The rooms were tiny and while they were new, they felt that they were down cheaply.The shower door hit the shower head when opening, the full length mirror on the inside of the wardrobe door didn't open fully, the docking station didn't work to play music. Very few plug sockets available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr. Andrew M,

So glad you chose The James for your visit to Soho. It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of our key features including our location. It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. We hope you return the next time you find yourself in New York.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
341 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here on a business trip as it was close to my meeting and I thought the location would be convenient for shopping and dining in nearby Soho.

Check in was fine, they were very nice and efficient when I arrived.

My room was tiny and pretty basic. When I got into the room at 5pm, the digital alarm clock read 100am and the date was January 2009!

Bathroom was appropriate size to the room size, but the towels in the room were worn and had threads hanging from them.

My bathroom sink was clogged and when I left for my dinner meeting, housekeeping came into the room, but did not replace or clean up any of the towels that were laying on the chair, they just closed the curtains and put some chocolates by my bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr. Dennis C,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described. We will continue to improve on. Please let us know next time you're in New York if you'd like to come visit us again, and we’ll accommodate you with a room that better suits your needs. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just arrived from London exhausted after flight and put in Room 17-09. Fell into bed exhausted but there is a continuing dreadful racket as the central heating starts up ever few minus and makes a huge noise and whine and there is no switch that works to switch it off. I feel cheated that I have come to this hotel and paid in advance only to be put in a room which they know is substandard because when I complained just now they seem quite aware of it, and they had other rooms not having this fiasco associated with them, but allocated me and my poor wife to this deadfall situation where we have arrived exhausted after a 12 hour journey from Europe only to be subjected to standards so low as to be wholly unacceptable.
There is also a huge racket from the restaurant clearing up.
They have done this deliberately. A big fuss was made of seeming to welcome us, but the reality is that by allocating me and my wife to this room on the 17th floor, they were really shafting us.
They've got our money in advance - so stuff us with the worst. Dreadful. Despicable. Don't come here.

Room Tip: Refuse any allocation on the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BD12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear BD12342014,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t ; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had a great stay at The James for business travel. Would love to return for business or leisure travel though. The staff was very helpful, I was in quite a rush when checking in due to a meeting I was running to and they were fast, efficient, kind and the doorman hailed me a taxi quickly. The room itself was gorgeous, large windows overlooking the city, the bathroom was very cool, all glass with a privacy shade, the shower had nice hot water and good pressure. Loved the bathroom amenities and full sized products. Bed was large and comfy, gym is big with great view, the mini bar in room was very well stocked and prices were reasonable. There were robes and slippers. I did not get to use any of the in room dining services, bars or lounges but menus looked nice. The lobby had nice complimentary breakfast items and cookies in afternoon with wine. Phone or ipad chargers for guests use would be nice (front desk did not have one). Walked around area in evening with a friend and it was young and funky. We ducked into a great place to grab a cocktail. Overall a fantastic stay!! I felt a bit like I was staying in Europe while in NYC.

Room Tip: The Corner suites are beautiful, spacious and have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysideuppls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sunnysideuppls,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the loft-inspired guestrooms, and daily complimentary amenities in the rooms. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

OFF SEASON STAY: I stayed while the outdoor spaces were still closed (March) so many of the negative issues others have cited in association with those and the upstairs rooftop in their reviews were absent during my stay.
LOCATION: The location and architecture of the hotel make staying here a real treat. Easy walk to SOHO, Tribeca and subway stations to everywhere else. Access to main lobby is by one single small elevator which got busy during morning departures but otherwise was fine.
ROOM: Room was small but modern, highly functional with very nice amenities (see pictures). Bedding and linens were very comfortable. Intelligent Nutrients bathroom amenities and snacks and minibar in room were top shelf. Housekeeping/room cleanliness was excellent but was disappointed to have housekeeping doing their evening turndown rounds after 9pm. Only room complaint was no sockets by bedside (extension cord provided did not function) and there wasn't great light for working near the area with a table.
FOOD: David Burke Kitchen's food at dinner was whimsical and delicious and although the restaurant was busy service was smooth and professional. Would have liked to see a dedicated "bar" / "lounge area" with more chair/table seating by the bar instead of tables set for dining as there is really no other place in the hotel to sit for a business meeting (lobby upstairs is unsuitable due to sloping chairs and loud guests!).
STAFF: Some of the friendliest staff I've encountered in many stays in NYC. Check in and out were prompt and friendly, bartenders in the restaurant were also helpful and knowledgeable not only about the restaurant but about the hotel and surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sailorgirlmn,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. Hopefully you can return when the Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are open to enjoy the warmer weather.

Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I was in NYC for a week and for the first 4 nights I stayed in a big-chain "5 star" hotel and that was utterly disappointing. So naturally, I was quite excited to try out an independent boutique hotel with rave reviews. And it definitely lived up to my already high expectations.

The excellence started from entering the door. Check-in was swift and personal; details like addressing me by my name, instead of "sir", etc. Room was ready when I checked-in. Whole process was 3 mins flat.

Room was clean and doesn't look worn in. Bed was very comfortable. Expansive windows with good views.

Location is really good. Close to Soho shopping area and generally walking distance to Tribeca and most subway lines. Also it's a 5 mins walk to Dominique Ansel Bakery of the cronuts fame. Definitely worth the wait. Sky gym affords nice views of lower manhattan, i.e. Freedom Tower and waters. Housekeeping was in no way invasive and rather anticipatory; cleaned without rearranging too many personal items and they seem to know when to turn down your room.

Upon check out as I was really rushing for a train at Penn station as a result of lining up for the cronuts, and I haven't packed my luggage, I asked them to prepare all the check out procedures, get a cab at 9.30am sharp, and provide me small bills for a 100. All was done and ready waiting for me. I was out of the hotel in 2 mins after i left my room. Now that's what I call service!

The highlight of the stay were its emphasis on design and art and the service. It doesn't hurt that most of its staff are good looking too. I would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit new york and break away from the big chains.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jian91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Jian91,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got a full authentic James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and genuine approach to guest service. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging our Front desk. Hopefully you can return when the Urban Garden and rooftop plunge pool are open to enjoy the warmer weather. Until your next visit.

Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#74 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing