We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The James-SoHo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The James-SoHo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned to the James for the second time and it was great. The location is perfect and the staff was very accommodating. Thanks to the gentleman downstairs-Kenny, Michael and Luis were always very helpful in getting us cabs and sharing their tips for SoHo and beyond. Had a corner suite and it had great views from the 17th floor. The rooftop bar-Jimmy- was always packed and for good reason. It had the best views and great drinks! Definitely will be returning to the James again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxKX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Cremnos,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. Your loyalty and recommendation means a lot to us. Kenny, Michael, & Luis are all a great asset to our team so thank you for acknowledging their hard work. I’m also happy you enjoyed the views from JIMMY, it’s one of the features that makes our hotel unique. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    333
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
145
625
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visit to NYC to with my wife and 17yr old son to tour NYU. Close to campus. Visit NYC 2-3 times year and always stay upper east or west side-not anymore! This is simply a great hotel in a great area of NYC. Incredible shopping and dinning minutes from hotel. 2 subway stops steps from hotel, easy access to east and west side of Manhattan. Rooms incredible. Ask for high floor for the most breathtaking views. Gym on the 17th floor with wonderful views. Visit Jimmy's on the roof for cocktails and lite snacks-it is happening here. Luis Vargas the Concierge loaded with suggestions and will easily point you in correct direction-it can be a little confusing down here. Staff cannot help enough. Courtesy car available certain hours. This is our new hotel to stay at when visiting NY

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklyn9196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Brooklyn9196,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the views from our guestrooms, and JIMMY our rooftop bar. Thank you for recognizing our concierge Luis Vargas, he truly is an asset to our team. We will pass along your positive comments to him. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We hope you return very soon.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The staff --that greeted us at The James-- was outstanding. They could not have been any nicer, more accommodating or more professional. Michael, Kenny and Morgan were most helpful and kind during our stay at The James. It was my first time there--my husband has been at The James several times before for NYC business trips.
I am certainly hoping to be able to go back. The accommodations were lovely and dinner at the restaurant delicious --but, it is the people on staff that truly make this hotel special. Loved the Soho/Tribeca location--in the vicinity of great shopping--Kenny, Michael and Morgan made sure I found my way!

Room Tip: We were on an upper floor and enjoyed the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lynne M,

Thank you for acknowledging our team’s hard work. They’re truly our greatest asset and it’s great when guests take notice of our approach to guest services, genuine and unobtrusive. Our location in the pocket of Tribeca and Soho make this a prime location to shop, dine & explore. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericksburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great location- very nice staff! Very good restaurant and bar.
Would stay here again. Great location. amazing views - stayed in family suite and it worked out very well. Beds were great, nice linens and towels.

Room Tip: The family suite was great! Coffee in lobby and scones every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsy2432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Patsy2432,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. The James’ luxury liberated approach to guest service strives to be genuine and unobtrusive. It’s great you felt welcomed.

Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

One of my best experiences at a New York Hotel. Definitely the friendliest staff I have ever encountered in New York. In fact, one of the best staff experiences I've ever had at any hotel I've stayed at around the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Dsmallwood,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We look forward to your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a really great stay here. We thought the room was very comfortable, quiet (we were on an upper floor), staff very friendly, and facilities generally very good. Also great location for soho and tribeca and away from the in your face commercialism of mid town manhatten. Does mean its a bit of way if thats what you want (we didnt). Kenny gave us some great advice on local facilities and travel so big thank you to him, but everyone was actually very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear David C,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Kenny. He’s a huge asset to our team. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Service is the best. Location is fantastic - close to everything - shops, eats, sights. Would definitely recommend and will be returning to this hotel. Thanks Morgan, Amy and Kenny!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beths999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Beths999,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’ll definitely relay your kind sentiments to the team. Until your next stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing