We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, doesn't equal good service or a pleasant stay ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, doesn't equal good service or a pleasant stay ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The actual hotel, rooms and views are stunning. I will not say that ALL staff were unfriendly, some were very willing and helpful.

However, at the Jimmy Pool the servers seemed constantly annoyed when you placed an order and the service was incredibly slow. Upon attempting to return that evening for after dinner drinks as hotel guests, we were made to wait in a line to the rooftop for just my husband and I, while waves of 10-15 outside patrons went up at a time. The security at the elevator was extremely unwelcoming and unaccommodating - we ended up leaving and going to another bar outside the hotel.

Finally - when checking out, we had several charges to our room that were not ours and had to be reversed. Overall, we had been excited to enjoy a beautiful location and it's amenities and everything just felt like an uncomfortable intrusion. We definitely will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mrs. W,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t warm and friendly; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    332
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
142
622
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a week in a corner room with a great view of the city. The hotel management run a club at the rooftop starting early evenings. So no “chill sunset ending a hard working day” at the poolside.

That suck big time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richards_remarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Richard Ta,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. The rooftop bar opens to the surrounding neighborhood in the evening but guest safety and comfort are of utmost importance to us so I apologize that your visit was negatively impacted. We will review your feedback with our team. On a bright note, it’s great you’re willing to give us a second chance. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com


Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Just finished a fantastic 3 night stay at The James hotel in Soho, New York. We had a tricky first night with rowdy neighbours and the front desk staff could not have done more to help by immediately upgrading us to a better room on another floor. Eric and John on the door also were absolutely fantastic with phenomenal courtesy and great local knowledge. This is our third trip to NYC and we would definitely come back here. Great views, top location for exploring downtown, funky rooftop bar and exceptional staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannymac70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Dannymac70,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got the full James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authentic decor. I’m glad we were able to upgrade you to a room of your liking. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Eric & John, they're both a huge asset to our team. We hope you return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our stay at the James was part of our honeymoon trip. We had stayed for 3 nights earlier in the trip in midtown but decided we also wanted to experience the bustling areas of Soho and TriBeCa.

We were thrilled with the James! We arrived quite late and were greeted with a red wine and 2 friendly staff members. They both helped us get 100% settled in the room - talking through the amenities of the cleverly designed room - electric blind, openable windows, storage seat, coffee and tea making facilities and mini bar. He also talked us through the hotel amenities and things available to us.

The James is full of unexpected surprises that aren't advertised. They make you feel like royalty or a VIP. One of the surprises is complimentary cheese and wine at night before dinner! The rest - I'll leave as a surprise!

The room was clean and hotel in a great location with everything within walking distance. The only thing I would say is that our room was a little close to 5th avenue and thus was a little noisy. A room higher up might reduce this issue.

The pool, gym, restaurant and bar on the top level were also very impressive! There's nothing this hotel didn't have!

Would definitely stay there again although would spend more time discovering the restaurants in Greenwich Village and the East Village

Thanks to all the staff at The James for making our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larns11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Larns11,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to share about your visit to The James. Your attention to and appreciation for details are refreshing. Your feedback is very insightful. I’m glad you found the James Club complimentary amenities and curated art enjoyable. I’m most proud of our team for leaving you feeling welcome. I will pass along to them your feedback regarding our tea variety. We strive to provide genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you again. We hope you return soon.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it.

The corner room we had had a great view of the city looking east but it was really small with nowhere to put bags. Saw another room which was bigger but with less of a view.

11th floor had no traffic noise.

Kent and the other staff were always helpful in getting cabs and navigating around.

Rooftop bar is awesome on a nice day or clear night. Priority entry to the bar for hotel guests.

Great location close to all the shops. Go across the road to the deli for great breakfast food including a bacon and egg bagel for $3.00. The hotel free breakfast is no good so make your own plans.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ryan B,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including our location and JIMMY our rooftop bar. Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Kenny, and the rest of our staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

To say that the staff at The James Hotel in NYC went above and beyond the call of duty is an understatement with my stay and experience. I set up a surprise engagement with the hotel manager and the staff. Everything I needed was there for me and my now fiance (she said yes). They let my photographer up early to their rooftop bar so we were able to capture the moment. They helped make sure everything was a surprise and truly made our engagement that much more special. The views from the rooftop bar are breathtaking and those views alone are worth a reason to stay at the hotel. I highly recommend The James for their customer service, their great rooms, the neighborhood(s) and their high regard for excellence.

Room Tip: Ask for an east side facing room for views of the Brooklyn bridge. South views face The Freedom towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinBise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Mr. JustinBise,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for special occasion. Congratulations on your engagement. I’m glad you enjoyed some of the best features of The James, including JIMMY our rooftop bar. I’m glad we've left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just wanted to write about this great hotel. We have just returned from a 3 night stay. From start to finish this hotel delivered all we needed. The concierge Lenny was a great help and always had a friendly word. The reception staff were equally helpful. Efficient check-in was done with a free mimosa! Great start to our trip.

The hotel offers free nibbles during the day. Coffe/pastry at breakfast through to cheese and wine in the evening a nice touch.

The room was modern and clean and not too small for a NY hotel. Some people have commented about the glass bathrooms. Not an issue really if you drop the blind to give some privacy. Although as a married couple it wasnt an issue anyway. Very comfortable bed!

The Jimmy roof top bar is the best spot for an early evening drink. It is obviously a locals in place to go as it was always busy from 5pm onwards. There was even a private party while we stayed - For 200 fashion models!! Its got a great vibe and the view of the city is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Craig_Lesley,

It’s great to hear that you both enjoyed your visit. Thanks for such a kind review. I’m glad you were able to experience the amenities we offer, especially The James Club Sky Lobby. Whether through the coffee and pastries, it allows us to showcase local vendors. Hopefully you’ll return very soon. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing