We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The James So Ho - One in a million” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The James So Ho - One in a million”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Well, this is our third review of The James So Ho and this hotel and staff simply get better and better. While the hotel and the location is great what makes The James special is clearly its staff and we thank The James management team for working hard to keep this staff in place because honestly this staff is committed to total customer satisfaction as we experience this each and every stay with ourselves and observe the same with other guests. Eric, John, Kenny, Amy, Christine, Morgan…… and the list goes on and on ……… Truly exceptional hospitality professionals. Then to the James Burke Kitchen with E Thomas at the helm and his top notch team delivering incredible food and service - you just simply cannot go wrong with this package.

We will back time and time again, there is no doubt - The James So Ho is one in a million.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_LINY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ron_LINY,

It’s humbling to receive such a kind review. Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Soho.Our team members strive to go above and beyond so we appreciate you acknowledging all their hard work. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Eric, John, Kenny, Amy, Christine, & Morgan. I’m glad they left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    332
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
142
622
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly. The rooms are hum drum. Nothing special at all. Worst is the people working the garden bar and pool area. They seem new and have no idea even how to bill something to the room or basic things on the menu. Dumb. More egregious the pool bar is nasty. All the garnishes from the lemons, limes to the leaves they muddle look rotten. I even commented to bartender that I hoped he was serving any of that and he said it didn't matter if they werent that fresh because it was being muddled. Who says such a thing. If you like high end hotels like I do id definitely pass on this place. It is not high end in the least and would better appeal to holiday inn clientele.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Robert B,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described at our rooftop. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn't more welcoming; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in this lovely, incredibly well run hotel for 5 nights with my 14 year old daughter. First visit to New York, felt very well looked after, nothing was too much trouble, staff incredibly knowledgeable, efficient and kind.The food and drink was delicious. The bed so comfortable! Soho is a great location as a base and great for shopping. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moggiemcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Moggiemcalpine,

Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. It’s great that you were able to enjoy so many of the wonderful features we have to offer. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. The boutiques and eateries are truly unbeatable. Thanks again. Until your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have to say these hotel its The Surrey of Soho. Great service the personal where super welcoming and helping. The room was nice but still a hotel room. I do like that the bathroom has a courting not that you always want it open but it does make the room look bigger.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Alex M,

Thanks for choosing us for your visit to New York. It’s great that our team left you with such a positive impression.Our team strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive service and seeing their hard work pay off with feedback like yours is very gratifying. We appreciate the feedback. Until your next stay!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a special hotel in a great part of Soho. The rooms are exceedingly well done--they feel more like studio apartments which is what I first thought they were when I saw the building for the first time from a room at the Soho Grand. The rooftop bar is quite a scene, with spectacular views of the Freedom a Tower. Wine, cookies, coffee in the lobby that sits a few stories off the ground. David Burke restaurant on the ground floor handles room service. Decently outfitted gym with great views.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TuhonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear TuhonTraveler,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got a full authentic James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and genuine approach to guest service. Especially for acknowledging our rooftop and it's amazing views. David Burke Kitchen is a great feature of our hotel. Hopefully you can return soon and enjoy our pool in the warmer weather. Until your next visit.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The actual hotel, rooms and views are stunning. I will not say that ALL staff were unfriendly, some were very willing and helpful.

However, at the Jimmy Pool the servers seemed constantly annoyed when you placed an order and the service was incredibly slow. Upon attempting to return that evening for after dinner drinks as hotel guests, we were made to wait in a line to the rooftop for just my husband and I, while waves of 10-15 outside patrons went up at a time. The security at the elevator was extremely unwelcoming and unaccommodating - we ended up leaving and going to another bar outside the hotel.

Finally - when checking out, we had several charges to our room that were not ours and had to be reversed. Overall, we had been excited to enjoy a beautiful location and it's amenities and everything just felt like an uncomfortable intrusion. We definitely will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mrs. W,

Every piece of guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore, thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you described. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t warm and friendly; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
185 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a week in a corner room with a great view of the city. The hotel management run a club at the rooftop starting early evenings. So no “chill sunset ending a hard working day” at the poolside.

That suck big time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richards_remarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Richard Ta,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. The rooftop bar opens to the surrounding neighborhood in the evening but guest safety and comfort are of utmost importance to us so I apologize that your visit was negatively impacted. We will review your feedback with our team. On a bright note, it’s great you’re willing to give us a second chance. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com


Warm Regards,
Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,871 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#198 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing