We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Hotel -Business or Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The James New York - SoHo
Ranked #187 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A wonderful hotel in the heart of Soho with great cafés, bars etc all around and a fab rooftop bar of it's own. Next door to Canal St metro station so you can hop straight up town in a matter if minutes. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The corner rooms on each floor are great with large windows looking across the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comedyeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Comedyeric,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The James’ prime location is one of my favorite features of the hotel so I’m glad you enjoyed it. Guests avoid the hustle and bustle of Midtown while getting a genuine New York experience in vibrant Soho. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

624 - 630 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great location. Near Metro. Jay,the "bell captain, and Kenny, the "doorman" were very very helpful and made our stay a pleasure and easy to navigate. The rooms are on the small side but the roof gardens and rooftop pool make up for that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Har68,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got the full James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authentic decor. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Kenny. He’s a huge asset to our team. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The staff was amazing - especially Amy and Eric. The room was terrific and comfortable. We held our small wedding ceremony there and couldn't have made a better choice! We were treated like royalty and would recommend The James NY highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 629LauraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Laura C,

Thanks for your positive feedback and thanks for choosing The James New York for your visit. We strive to provide a memorable luxury liberated experience for every guest, especially those celebrating a special occasion. We appreciate you taking time to share. We will be sure to pass along your positive comments to Amy & Eric. Until your next stay.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

First time visitors to New York.
We had thought about staying in Times Square but based on friends reccomendations decided on staying at the James in Soho. Great choice! Very nice hotel, beds are awesome, view from the room amazing (corner unit) Eric, Jay, Kenny and John, make you feel at home.
We are used to 5 star accomadations in other cities and like to feel safe. Everyone made us feel that way at the James. Room a little smaller than what we are used to but very confortable.
No surpirses on the bill upon check out.
Ventured out on the subway everyday ( which is something we have never done) very easy and a stop within a half a block of the James.
Shoppers paradise!

We will be staying at the James again at our next visit because of the people and the location of the hotel (away from the crowds)

Room Tip: room ending in 03 provide the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mike P,

Your recommendation means a lot to us. Thanks for taking time to share about your stay. You described The James guestrooms perfectly; they’re residentially-inspired and intended to feel loft-like. We’re also happy you enjoyed our prime location in Soho. The boutiques and eateries are truly unbeatable. Thanks again. Until your next visit.

Cheers,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently stayed at The James In Soho and had a great experience. I arrived after my husband and was greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. They remembered my husband, and let me know what a nice guy he is and how he upgraded our room to a corner suite as well. The corner suite was nice. We had views all around. It was not huge, but big for New York standards. The decor was comfortable and simple. The bathroom had a nice shower with heated floors. We were on the fifth floor and the noise from outside was not bad at all. We stayed at the Gansevoort in the meat packing district recently and had to wear ear plugs at night. Another bonus at the James is the location. The train station is right across the street. We were able to easily take the train to many places and avoid the street traffic. They also offer complimentary wine and cheese in the early evening. After walking around the city all day, it was nice to come back to the hotel for the free wine and cheese. It was not a big selection, a simple set up, but still appreciated. They also had a fun roof top bar that gets pretty crowded at night. My only complaint was that our pillows were really too soft. We requested firmer pillows but were told all four nights that they were all being used. Other than that, our stay was a positive experience and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTinaIrvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear MissTinaIrvine,

It’s great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your visit. Thanks for such a kind review. I’m glad you were able to experience the amenities we offer, especially The James Club Sky Lobby. Whether through the wine or scones, it allows us to showcase local vendors. Hopefully you’ll return very soon. Overall, I’m glad our team left you with a positive impression. Thank you again for the feedback.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you want to experience an alternative side to New York then stay at The James in Soho. Soho has some great bars and restaurants. If you want to visit the attractions there is a hop on hop off bus service that has a stop nearby. The hotel itself is very functional. The rooms are quite small as compared to some hotels but everything you need is there. The hotel was also very quiet so we had a great nights sleep. The staff at the James are very friendly and welcoming. Special mention goes to Julia in the Garden bar. Excellent service during all the times we had evening drinks there.
One low point was the rooftop bar Jimmys. We went up there twice and due to very poor service we waited and waited. In the end we gave up and returned for good service in the Garden bar.
To finish on a positive. In the morning there is fresh coffee and pastries. In the evening there is wine and cheese followed by cookies and coffee. All provided free for guests. We had a great stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcote9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Redcote9,

We appreciate you taking time to share about your stay. So great you had a satisfying night of rest. I apologize for the delayed service you received at JIMMY. Thank you for acknowledging our team’s hard work, especially Julia's. They’re truly our greatest asset and it’s great when guests take notice of our approach to guest services, genuine and unobtrusive. We hope you choose us for your next visit to New York. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is easy to miss at the corner of Thompson and Grand streets at the edge of Soho. My room, on the 4th floor, was small but exactly what I needed. It had a great bed with nearly floor-to-ceiling window the length of the room looking toward the Hudson River. While I couldn't see the river, the goings-on on 6th Avenue were almost always interesting, with a small park across the street. The room itself had just the right amenities for my business trip and would have been fine if my wife were with me. The room had wood floors, which I have not seen in hotels previously. That was cool, though the one downside was that at quiet moments I could hear people in adjacent (or above) rooms walking on their wood floors. Overall it wasn't a big deal and I had no trouble getting work done, relaxing and getting to sleep. The gym on the 17th floor was just right for a little exercise (weights, elliptical, treadmill, etc.) and had terrific views south toward the financial district and east toward Brooklyn and the rest of Soho. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall I was very happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think I would have liked a room with a southern or eastern view better than my western view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfamousjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York - SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Worldfamousejeff,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including the views from our guestrooms, and our fitness center. We will pass along your positive comments to the team. Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to Soho. We hope you return very soon.

Best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,009 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#89 of 469 in New York City
967 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#73 of 469 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 469 in New York City
480 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#124 of 469 in New York City
3,127 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#249 of 469 in New York City
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York - SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York - SoHo

Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £232 - £488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York - SoHo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York - SoHo is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York - SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing