We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets Better Every Time!”
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #156 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gets Better Every Time!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've been to the James on several occasions. The first stretch was through work, and later, I stayed there with my wife. Their customer service is top notch. For example, upon pulling up to the curb, the staff immediately helped with the bags, and while unloading the car, gave all sorts of useful recommendations on what was happening in the area - restaurants to try, places to visit if I had time, etc. Upon check-in they welcomed me back to the hotel. (Nice to see they keep records and then acknowledge their return guests!) I left a nice tip with housekeeping who did a flawless job in the room, and they responded with a handwritten note of thanks.

The rooms are clean and modern and the dining is outstanding. You can''t go wrong with David Burke Kitchen - I know because I've tried virtually everything on the menu!

I highly recommend The James for business and for couples!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACE44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ace44444,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to share about your visit to The James. Your attention to and appreciation for details are refreshing. Your feedback is very insightful. I’m glad you found the team friendly and welcoming upon your arrival. I will pass along to them your positive feedback. We strive to provide genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you again. We hope you return soon.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    340
    119
    68
    37
See reviews for
146
631
70
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Liked my stay in this hotel. Rooms were very modern and functional. Room size was OK for me solo, but may prove a little tight for a couple. Elevators are terribly slow and ground level lobby/foyer had a continual sewer smell which I assume was due to plumbing problems but was a horrible first impression every time I re-entered the building. Really needs to be attended to ASAP.

Room Tip: Corners are always good with lots of glazing, also higher levels probably give some great views ( ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graphite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Graphite,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. We recently had some improvements done to our vent system and will continue to better our service. I’m happy you enjoyed your overall stay and that you found your room comfortable; we hope you return soon.

Best regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pa.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I decided to take a quick getaway to NYC and had heard great things about The James. We were not disappointed. Kenny took great care of us at check-in. The front desk found us a room even though we arrived early. Throughout our stay the staff went out of their way to pamper us. As a frequent business traveller, this level of service is rarely found in the big chain hotels. Our room was a nice size with a great view of lower Manhattan. It is nice that the windows open slightly, Sometimes I actually like to hear some of the big city sounds of NYC. Otherwise the rooms are super quiet, great AC and comfortable beds. I asked for extra pillows and promptly received 4 nice fluffy ones. A nicely stocked pantry and roomy bathroom with excellent rain forest shower. I enjoyed having the pump bottles of soap, shampoo, and conditioner in the shower. Very fast, free internet. Being a small hotel, it is a short walk from the elevator to any room. An amazing rooftop bar and outdoor deck with a small pool (not big enough for swimming, but good for a cool dip). Be sure to enjoy at least one meal at the David Burke kitchen on the lower level. This property has many unique outdoor areas on different levels. Be sure to explore. My wife and I continued to find these areas throughout our stay. A truly special property in SoHo with great access to many local shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Dean S,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got the full James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authentic decor. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging Kenny. He’s a huge asset to our team. I’m glad we've left you with a positive impression. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the larger corner room here, which I would say is essential. Even this larger room is only 400 sq ft in size. In any other city, this would be tiny. In New York it's just about ok.

The service was great and friendly. Staff were always helpful. The rsstaurant on the first floor has a great garden dining area which is really nice to have in the middle of town. The hotel is in the heart of soho. 5 min walk to all major shops, including Bloomingdales.

The pool and bar upstairs is really for hanging out rather than swimming. The pool is tiny. I've seen bigger jacuzzis. But, again, this is manhattan. You can't expect an Olympic five lane pool! Nice views with cocktails and a trendy 20&30s type professional crowd at weekends.

Overall we had a good stay. It offers what you would expect on the basis of the hotel website. At around 600 per night it's not cheap...but Soho never is.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear TheGlobalFinn,

So glad you chose The James for your visit to Soho. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all our features and get a well-rounded experience. All in all, I’m happy you enjoyed your visit to Soho. We hope you return soon. Your feedback will help us improve. Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts.

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel was so clean and up to date on their décor. All the staff were very friendly and helpful to all our needs. The rooftop bar was awesome. The amenities within the room was very well stocked with snacks and beverages. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a well rounded hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Christina G,

Thanks for the rave review. It seems like you got the full James experience. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authentic decor. Especially for acknowledging our pantry, our team takes great pride in selecting local vendors for our snacks and beverages. Until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

In all ways a fantastic hotel. We loved our stay. Great location in an area filled with shops and restaurants - and also close to the Hudson River Park. Nice staff and the most wonderful views from the rooftop and our room (remember to ask for a room high up). David Burkes kitchen was also a big experience. Really good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Jette C,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. You pointed to some of our most unique features, including our restaurant DBK, JIMMY our rooftop bar. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging our team. They’re a huge asset. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

An NYC local colleague recommended we stay here on a part romantic part business trip with my husband, mainly due to the pool! Unfortunately it wasn't really such a memorable hotel and I do love to travel and find great boutiques... Of which NYC has a few gems. The rooms were larger than normal for NYC and the desk staff lovely enough. Unfortunately it just didn't have anything that special going for it. The interiors were fine but not unique, the views of manhattan nothing like those you can get elsewhere and it just didn't have a standout vibe or style. my biggest issue was that downstairs they were more concerned with playing bouncer in regard to the private party upstairs than letting in the clientele of the hotel. This meant at one time when the crowds were lining up we actually had real issues even getting into the hotel. As my colleague initially recommended, great to head up for the pool parties on a hot day in Manhattan,but perhaps there are better places to stay where their greater concern is the hotel guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear gttlondon,

That’s disheartening to hear that your first stay with us wasn’t flawless. Thank you for sharing that feedback. It is unfortunate that you encountered the series of issues you describe. We will inform our team in order to continue to improve. I'm disappointed to hear that our staff wasn’t more welcoming ; this is definitely not typical of the service we offer at our hotel. If you are ever in New York again, please feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Sincerely,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#9 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
TriBeCa
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
The Roxy Hotel Tribeca
#14 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing