We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in NYC”
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #165 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Stay in NYC”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The James Hotel provides an amazing hotel experience in the very cool, hip SOHO area. The hotel itself is clean, modern and has a great outdoor patio space, a pool/roof deck area, a lounge and various restaurants. The staff is absolutely incredible…from the concierge, reception, bartenders to deck staff. They go out of their way to help in any way they can. We didn't have time to take advantage of all their other services (bikes, spa, etc). I was there for 24 hours with my best friend and they made the experience such a pleasurable one that we plan on making it an annual trip. I truly haven't had this quality of service since my honeymoon at the Four Seasons in Nevis!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. Marni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Marni B,

Your kind review is deeply appreciated. Thank you for taking time to share your luxury liberated experience. Our team strives to provide genuine yet unobtrusive service and seeing their hard work pay off with feedback like yours is very gratifying. Hopefully next time you're able to enjoy most of our unique amenities/features. Your recommendation means a lot to us so I wanted to personally thank you. Until your next stay!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    343
    122
    69
    38
See reviews for
147
636
70
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The stratospheric Tripadvisor ratings for The James in New York led us to reserve a room during our most recent trip to NYC at this establishment.

Would agree with reviewers that lobby staff are friendly and helpful, that the hotel is clean, rooms are small but nice with good views, and location is great.

Be warned however that come 3 PM on weekends, the staff opens the rooftop pool to general public. The staff evict hotel patrons from their lounge chairs to make way for the subsequent onslaught of visitors to the pool and bar. The staff unceremoniously also walk around with obnoxious "reserved" signs and place them next to hotel patrons to complete the eviction process. Really poor form for a hotel of this cost.

Probably won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank booferino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear booferino,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn't have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. The rooftop bar opens to the surrounding neighborhood in the evening but guest comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us so I apologize that your visit was negatively impacted. We will review your feedback with our team. On a bright note, if you’re willing to give us a second chance. Feel free to reach out to me directly so I can personally oversee your stay at jamesnygm@jameshotels.com

Best regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Visited last september and was an amazing stay! The hotel welcomed us with a luxury feel with a hotel assistant helping us to our room with our bags and they were efficient and great! The view from our room was great especially as we were high enough to see pretty much all of NYC, and loved waking up to see all the yellow taxi's. We visited a bit of new york but were quite tired from the jet lag that day. We went to Jimmy's the next morning for some breakfast and experienced my first pancakes and bacon! We stayed overall for 4 nights and the room was spotless and lovely designed with super cool rolling down blinds to separate the glass bathroom to the bedroom. I would highly recommend the James and also would also say to check out the mexican along the road on the right, they do the best enchiladas!
The pool on the roof was amazing and the views are breathtaking!

Room Tip: We chose a double room and it was impeccable. No faults!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Heather g,

Thanks for choosing The James for your visit to New York. I’m glad you enjoyed your room. Our corner rooms have the best views. Our team is our greatest asset so I’ll be sure to relay your special mention to them. The James’ luxury liberated approach to guest service strives to be genuine and unobtrusive. It’s great you felt welcomed.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I live in the neighborhood but had construction going on in my apartment. So I went down the street to The James. It was amazing, staff, etc....I felt pampered and like I had just been on vacation~~~~

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ms. Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ms. Lori K,

We really appreciate you taking time to share feedback about your stay. I’m glad you had a great time. But more importantly, thank you for acknowledging our team. They’re a huge asset. Until your next visit.

Warm regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What makes the James so special is not only the great neighborhood that it is in but the amazing people that work there. Everyone we encountered was friendly, helpful, and so welcoming. The rooms are well equipped, the shower and bath products are amazing!
The 24 hour complimentary treats in the lobby are an extra treat. Coffee and pastries in the morning, fruit all day, and wine and cheese in the evening are such a nice touch.
There are tons of hotels in NY, but I won't search anymore. The James will be my go to hotel in NY! Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccerlover4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Soccerlover4321,

Thanks for taking time to share your James experience. Your loyalty and recommendation means a lot to us. I’m also happy you enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere our team strives to provide and the complimentary treats served at The James Club. We hope you return very soon. Thanks again!

All the best,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I've been to the James on several occasions. The first stretch was through work, and later, I stayed there with my wife. Their customer service is top notch. For example, upon pulling up to the curb, the staff immediately helped with the bags, and while unloading the car, gave all sorts of useful recommendations on what was happening in the area - restaurants to try, places to visit if I had time, etc. Upon check-in they welcomed me back to the hotel. (Nice to see they keep records and then acknowledge their return guests!) I left a nice tip with housekeeping who did a flawless job in the room, and they responded with a handwritten note of thanks.

The rooms are clean and modern and the dining is outstanding. You can''t go wrong with David Burke Kitchen - I know because I've tried virtually everything on the menu!

I highly recommend The James for business and for couples!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACE44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ace44444,

I wanted to personally thank you for taking time to share about your visit to The James. Your attention to and appreciation for details are refreshing. Your feedback is very insightful. I’m glad you found the team friendly and welcoming upon your arrival. I will pass along to them your positive feedback. We strive to provide genuine unobtrusive guest service. Thank you again. We hope you return soon.

Warmly,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Liked my stay in this hotel. Rooms were very modern and functional. Room size was OK for me solo, but may prove a little tight for a couple. Elevators are terribly slow and ground level lobby/foyer had a continual sewer smell which I assume was due to plumbing problems but was a horrible first impression every time I re-entered the building. Really needs to be attended to ASAP.

Room Tip: Corners are always good with lots of glazing, also higher levels probably give some great views ( ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graphite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gissel B, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Graphite,

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a flawless experience. We strive to improve each day so thank you for the candid feedback. We recently had some improvements done to our vent system and will continue to better our service. I’m happy you enjoyed your overall stay and that you found your room comfortable; we hope you return soon.

Best regards,
Gissel Barriola
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#84 of 468 in New York City
847 reviews
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#164 of 468 in New York City
2,940 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#58 of 468 in New York City
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
844 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#130 of 468 in New York City
3,032 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#10 of 468 in New York City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#125 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing