We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, brilliant location.”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #178 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, brilliant location.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here wanting to escape midtown, and it turned out to be a great decision. The hotel is easy to find, within a stone's throw of several subways, and ideally located for exploring Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East village.

When we arrived there was an array of pastries and bagels for guests to munch on in the lobby (it was New Years day) and the staff were pleasant. The room was standard size for NYC, and the two windows (yes even the bathroom had a window!) offered views of mostly Chinatown rooftops but with glimpses of the Manhattan, Williamsburg, and Brooklyn bridges. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable and the room was quiet, so we slept very well. One of the highlights was the ability to control the temperature of the room as we were in the city during a snowstorm and the bathroom window let in a slight breeze.

Breakfast at Mama's where the staff are friendly was very nice and far supreme to a hotel breakfast - we felt at home being surrounded by NYPD's finest :)

We had a great experience at Hotel Mulberry, felt as though we got exceptional value for money, and were happy to support an independent hotel. We have already recommended the hotel to friends and family. A caveat though - each floor only has three rooms on it and there were no more than 10 or so floors so the hotel probably books up very easily.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park might be nice, but rooms on the upper floors facing east give great views acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    231
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
198
176
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel Mulberry was a perfectly delightful hotel in the middle of Chinatown. We wanted to stay as close to LIttle Italy as possible, however, there are very few affordable hotels around the Little Italy area. When we found Hotel Mulberry, we were a bit skeptical, but we decided to trust the Certificate of Excellence granted by TripAdvisor. We're so glad we did. We were pleasantly surprised by the hotel in so many ways. Our park view room was clean, comfortable, and equipped with satellite and free wifi. We had a view of the park, which was beautifully layered with new fallen snow at the time we visited. Breakfast vouchers were provided to Mama's restaurant a few doors down...be sure to arrive before 10AM. What a great little breakfast! It strikes me as odd that other reviewers belittle the selection. They give you a wide variety choices that hands down beats any generic continental breakfast I have had at other chain hotels. Additionally, if you do have to drive your car, exit the hotel to the right, walk a few doors down, and voila...24 hour parking. The hotel will validate your parking ticket so that you can receive a small discount. We will definitely return! Thanks for a fantastic stay in the heart of Chinatown.

Room Tip: Our park view room was perfect. However, if you are traveling with kids or family, the rooms with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here in May and perfect hotel if on a budget. Our room was very small and no view but we were out most of the time. There is no restaurant but you get breakfast vouchers for a cafe a few doors down. Which seems a favorite with the local police.

The location is great and walking distance to subway and little Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We travelled to NYC with two kids for 10 nights, and the room was spacious enough and well serviced throughout the visit. Easy to get around by walking or subways. Great Chinese food all around; next door to little Italy as well. Would stay there again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rel-Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you are searching an ok place to sleep with very good location, Hotel Mulberry is your choise. There are lot's of interesting places nearby and also the subway is not far away. Rooms are big, beds comfortable, everything is clean and still looking new.

We did not have any view, but still liked the room a lot. The walls are thin, you can easely hear the voices outside, but at least in our room this was not a problem, second floor seemed to be very quiet.

Wr paid for the room too much, but it was over the new year, so I don't complain. Normally the price compared to quality is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Visited New York last May and we stayed at The Mulberry Hotel purely because it was in our price range and had good reviews.

The room wasnt overly spacious which was a bit of a shock, and didnt really have any views.. big comfy bed though!
There is no restaurant at this hotel but you get a voucher for breakfast at a place 2 doors down. you dont get a huge selection for breakfast.. just eggs or pancakes.
The Mulberry Hotel sits right in the heart of china town so expect lots of disgusting smells when you walk to the nearest subway (about 15 minute walk). we also kept getting lost on our way back to the hotel so its not the easiest to find!
Nonetheless, staff were friendly, and when we checked out my partner couldnt find his watch, and i thought he had packed it, but just as we were leaving a hotel maid had found it and managed to get it back to us before we left. so that was pretty cool.
probably would look at other options more downtown, but if i had to stay here again i wouldnt be too put out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBunny902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight to be in court early in the A.M. and avoid what promised to be a frigid commute on the coldest day in 20 years. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and the conference room serviceable. This is basically a clean, well appointed, modest boutique hotel on a quiet street across from Columbus park on the edge of Chinatown. Wifi is free and quite serviceable. Mama's restaurant a few doors down provided the complimentary breakfast and was very friendly. There are no services at this hotel other than utility. But it serves that function very well. The parking garage two doors down is convenient and works.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dttlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#283 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
TriBeCa
Duane Street Hotel
Duane Street Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing