We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable bed ever!”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Kellyrobin
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Most comfortable bed ever!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, just across from the park in Chinatown and a short walk from the subway. This was the cleanest hotel we have seen in a while in Manhattan in this price range. Well worth the stay and we highly recommend! If management reads this pleas let us know what brand the mattresses are... When the weather is warmer so many things are walkable from here. We had a nice view of the Freedom Tower too.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    234
    34
    13
    9
See reviews for
205
177
16
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I used to live in NYC, and I was intrigued by the location of the Hotel Mulberry, south of Canal Street. It's not the typical midtown experience. Canal Street is lively and bustling during the day, and most of the major subway lines are walkable. At night, it's quiet, but Little Italy is a few blocks north for night dining.

The staff at the hotel was professional and welcoming. The room was quiet and squeaky clean. Breakfast was simple in a cafe a few door fronts down the block.

There are big "Welcome to Chinatown" signs close by that are a good way to get oriented.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

There is nothig extraordinary about this hotel, but it is very clean, quiet and decently priced. Overlooking a nice park, the room was a bit larger than most similarly priced Manhattan rooms, and had a nice sized bathroom. Bathroom toiletries were basic. Free wifi was ok speed. Location is good if convenient otherwise a bit out of the way.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay here in Dec. when we traveled to NYC to get married. To our delight, we were in Penthouse 1 for 3 wonderful nights. The staff is friendly and helpful and the desk staff accurate and efficient. The room was spacious and the view fantastic. I reported the wifi signal not working one night and within minutes(2) it was reset and operating. What a gem of a place and we found the location easy to navigate the subways from and plenty of great restaurants nearby. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Room on the front of hotel have view of park and lower Manhattan. PH01 does not have a patio. The on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kne5017894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokosuka, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Comfy, though not large rooms. Definitely a base rather than a destination. Location was excellent surrounded by Chinatown restaurants. We ate at Hop Lee one block over. Breakfast was served at a small nearby cafe and was generous and tasty compared to what many chain hotels offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trailingwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent three nights at the Hotel Mulberry this last December 2013. The room was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of the park, it was lovely. We had no problems with noise and the beds were super comfy. The hotel is located in Chinatown surrounded by tons of yummy restaurants. Little Italy is a stones throw away I love the way the neighborhoods boundaries blur into one another. If you need a taxi from the hotel, the front desk will call their service and get you a quote so you know how much the ride will cost prior to your journey. Truthfully, I loved everything about this hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper room facing the park. For a little more $$$ they have rooms with wonderful terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlancaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here wanting to escape midtown, and it turned out to be a great decision. The hotel is easy to find, within a stone's throw of several subways, and ideally located for exploring Chinatown, Little Italy, and the East village.

When we arrived there was an array of pastries and bagels for guests to munch on in the lobby (it was New Years day) and the staff were pleasant. The room was standard size for NYC, and the two windows (yes even the bathroom had a window!) offered views of mostly Chinatown rooftops but with glimpses of the Manhattan, Williamsburg, and Brooklyn bridges. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable and the room was quiet, so we slept very well. One of the highlights was the ability to control the temperature of the room as we were in the city during a snowstorm and the bathroom window let in a slight breeze.

Breakfast at Mama's where the staff are friendly was very nice and far supreme to a hotel breakfast - we felt at home being surrounded by NYPD's finest :)

We had a great experience at Hotel Mulberry, felt as though we got exceptional value for money, and were happy to support an independent hotel. We have already recommended the hotel to friends and family. A caveat though - each floor only has three rooms on it and there were no more than 10 or so floors so the hotel probably books up very easily.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park might be nice, but rooms on the upper floors facing east give great views acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smart_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#193 of 467 in New York City
385 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
1,233 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#222 of 467 in New York City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#63 of 467 in New York City
248 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
597 reviews
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#238 of 467 in New York City
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing