We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spicy Ramen”
Review of Hide-Chan Ramen

Hide-Chan Ramen
Ranked #1,191 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spicy Ramen”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Spicy Hakata ramen with an egg was Delicious. Pork buns were awesome as well. For lunch, 2 soups 2 pork buns 2 sapporos was like $50. Worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkFromUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    64
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dont forget to order Kaedama!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Highly recommend Hakata Tonkotso Ramen with rich broth and firm noodles (you get to choose firmness). Hidden gem in midtown (ok not that hidden given lines on Saturday night) but stll get seated much faster than the Ippudos and momofuku noodle bars of the world. Order Kaedama (extra noodle order) after you go through your first round of noodles for about $1.5 extra to add to your leftover broth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good recomendation”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We went to that restaurant due to a friend recomendation and we enjoyed it!
The ramen were amazing, very tasty and natural flavour. The bowl was so big that we couldn't even finish it!
You have to try the cheese dumplings... Sooo good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little Tokyo upstairs”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The two time I went there I had excellent ramen which will bring me back more....the service is spotty but the soup makes up for it! The pork buns are very tasty also.....will be back for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emil1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good and fresh Ramen”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This small upstairs restaurant has wonderful ramen. We had Basil Gyosa ($6) which was different and very tasty. We had the Spicy-Black Ramen dente medium (the noodles are thin and fresh) ($12.50/each). Definitely a full meal. Service was very good and we were there later at night about 830PM and there were few people, so easy to get a table. Have heard that many people wait in long lines to get in at peak hours. Basic tables and sushi bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hide-Chan Ramen also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hide-Chan Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing