We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Note”

Blue Note Jazz Club
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Family Greenwich Village Tour
Ranked #10 of 857 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A special place for Jazz enthusiasts to spend an evening.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blue Note”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was everything I expected, a great venue, and brilliant artists
a must do for blues and Jazz fans

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosanne59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    255
    81
    28
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nicole Henry @ Blue Note”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Blue Note is a typical NYC live jazz bar/restaurant; postage size tables, one is usually sharing with total strangers, watered down drinks. In a previous visit I had a decent brunch but it is definitely not the place to go expecting a good meal. But, going to a jazz club is all about the show. Nicole Henry , a very energetic entertainer and marvelous singer gave a wonderful performance paying homage to some of the great ladies of jazz. If coming to NY and you're a jazz aficionado, check out the Blue Note program and, definitely look up Ms. Henry wherever she may be appearing because I guarantee you will have a terrific experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank vidalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewisburg, pa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“It's a nice club, period!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There seems to be quite a few overly critical reviews of the Blue Note. I got there early, around 6 for an 8pm show. Got great seat seats on the balcony (not the traditional theater balcony, more
like a platform). The seating may have been a little packed in, but that's prevalent in NYC. The act was great, Ramsey Lewis with Phillip Bailey. The drinks were okay, the service very adequate, didn't try the food, but a lot of people were eating it. I think most of the negative reviews expected a recliner with a remote control....there were some big folks packed into tight spaces. I would go back if there's an act I'd like to see. Everyone in the room had a great view
of the stage. Probably no more than 200 people in the place. It's a jazz club, not a 5 star restaurant. Try it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love this spot.....”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a New York treat to see legendary Ramsey Lewis perform with guest performer Philip Bailey from Earth Wind and Fire at the same time. Stayed for the next show at midnight for Mavis "Swan" Poole and was equally as delightful. Food was just ok. Drinks were average but we was there for the music which was excellent. This place is a landmark for Jazz in NY.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Music...Terrible Food/Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I'm torn on this one, because you can't deny the world-class talent that frequents this intimate and renown W.Village jazz club. However, the food and service are typically terrible (bordering on criminal, based on the rip-off extorted prices), which is a huge dis-service to the tremendous talent on stage, and music-lovers who are forced to spend $$ on food/drinks. I'd feel better paying a higher ticket/cover price, and hoping it went into the musician's pocket, rather than eat horrible food, or suffer with watered down highly over-priced drinks. And the service is inconsistent (at best), but mostly slow and unattentive (so the bad food gets even worse, while it gets cold).

Please upgrade the food/service to match the world-class talent on stage (like Smoke uptown).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Note Jazz Club also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blue Note Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing