We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing "Comedy" Club”
Review of Dangerfield's

Dangerfield's
Ranked #109 of 144 Fun & Games in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Comedy club on the Upper East Side
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointing "Comedy" Club”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This "comedy" club was disappointing all around.

Pros: none.

Cons: $20 cover per person; 2-drink minimum (they're expensive and watery); food is terrible; the comedy was the worst I've seen. The atmosphere is dated and grimy, and the jokes are either vulgar or nonexistent. There were times when you could hear a pin drop.

I read on the Dangerfield's website that they don't allow amateurs to perform; however, the routines were generally bad, unpracticed, and boring.

The cost for the two of us, including the cover, was $120. Save your money.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JE and JA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    28
    34
    48
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rodney Dangerfield's famous comedy club”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We were given tickets by a man handing them out in Times Square, so we decided to check it out, and we're glad we did. It's a classic old place w/historic pics on the walls. The standup comedians were hilarious!
Like most NY comedy clubs, you are required to buy two drinks per person--the drinks average about $12/each (even for my small, weak, cranberry and vodka drink), but since we didn't pay for tickets we didn't mind.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a fun time - Weekends are better then Weekdays”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I personally love this place. If you want a decently priced fun night out in the East side of NYC then yes, expect to pay some money, however, you can easily go as a couple and end up spending less then 35 dollars total on these shows. Not sure why you would buy tickets in the first place whoever is doing that Times Square nonsense. They offer up free tickets on there very own website or you can get a Groupon for admission for 2 for 4 dollars.

It is a raunchy place, so if you are conservative this is not your spot. If you can loosen up, enjoy yourself, and feel the vibe of the place you will have a great time. I have been here 4 times, 3 on the weekend shows and one weekday. I highly suggest going on a weekend over a weekeday since the place is usually filled and its atmosphere is better with a full crowd.

Drink prices are slightly higher (maybe a dollar or two more) then the areas surrounding bars, but you are being entertained with 2 hours worth of comedy. If you overpaid to get in, that is not Dangerfields fault, because as previously stated, they offer a bunch of ways to get in for next to nothing. You do realize you are on the East Side as well, where everything is ridiculously overpriced?

I rate it 5 stars, and have yet to have a bad time here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank msacmunoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Shockingly bad”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We bought tickets from a guy in Times Square as the deal and the spiel seemed good; luckily we were fore-warned about the drink prices. Dangerfield's is fine in itself as a venue - seating, your own table, subdued lighting but call that comedy???? We went to the 8.30 show on April 28th - I was shocked at the racist, sexist, misogynistic "gags", topped off by an elderly waiter spouting absolute filth - and the largely American audience lapped it up!!! I know you take a chance on who you're going to see but this was saddening to hear - I would have walked out but having walked 30 blocks to get there was transfixed by the awfulness of it all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Dangerfields Great show!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Me and my wife planned a trip to New York City. We really wanted to go to a comedy club, and our hotel concierge had recommend us to buy tickets from a site Best Comedy Tickets. We didn't know which club to choose, so we bought tickets for Dangerfield's We decided because we enjoyed his movies growing up. Might as well go there, and saw some really great acts! We high recommend this comedy club and thank you for making our night. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dangerfield's also viewed

 

Been to Dangerfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing