We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and New” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #222 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean and New”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard New York Manhattan Soho just one night. We got a good deal on the hotel and were very happy. The hotel is brand new and very clean. The rooms are large by New York standards. The service was quick and polite. We would definitely stay again.

There are two place for coffee in the lobby. A free coffee bar and a Starbucks. The free one is off to the side and the Starbucks is towards the back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    209
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
157
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

The hotel is either new or recently renovated because everything seems so new. The room is not big, it is almost small in fact, but with some nice furniture and confortable enough. The region is great, walking distance to some restaurants and nice streets and also a subway station that is close to the hotel. The staff is great, very polite and helpful. It is reasonably priced if compared to other NYC hotels. I would definitely return when in New York.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapsRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I'm reluctant to write this review as I fear with all these great reviews, I'll never be able to get a room here again!

The staff were great. I bumped into the cleaning staff in the morning and she was super friendly and asked us how we were doing. My pals had a small problem with their toilet and she was on the phone and had someone up within 2 minutes. The problem was fixed by the time we came back from breakfast.

The rest of the staff were equally as accommodating. They were all really helpful, whether asking for directions, arranging kits for those of us who lost luggage with toothpaste, toothbrushes etc, or just chatting about our day.

WiFi was available in my room. The bed was very comfortable. My room faced right onto the street and the windows are thick enough to keep out the noise. It's not a particularly rowdy area, but enough to keep you awake if the window isn't closed.

The room was bigger than I've had before in Manhattan, so was pleased.The bathroom was huge as my room was the wheelchair accessible room and, while I didn't need the special touches, it was neat seeing the things that were added, like the peephole in the door being lower and a doorbell. There was no tub in the bathroom, but the shower was pretty sweet. (My friends had a tub; my room was the exception for people with mobility needs.) That being said, the rooms are smaller than what you'd get in other cities. But that's just how they roll in NYC. My room was spotless and the safe is easy to use and fit my laptop perfectly.

You can't beat the location as it's right across the street from the subway. Restaurants are a few blocks away. In the mornings, they have a 'help yourself' coffee/tea area. They also have a Coffee Bar (maybe it was a Starbucks?, not sure) in the main lobby as well.

I will definitely book myself into this hotel on my next visit to New York and if a room wasn't available, I'd would work my travel dates around their availability. They are just that good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelorDie7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The service was impecable, the staff very friendly and helpful, the rooms and hotel very clean!
Lush bedding! Location was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hola33408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

While it is in SoHo, this Courtyard by Marriott is about what you'd expect. Clean, efficient, well located to SoHo businesses (though a few blocks from SoHo restaurants). Pricing is high for a Courtyard (and rooms are smallish), but it is Manhattan. Staff is attentive and helpful. As with most Courtyard hotels, it is light on amenities, but you cab get in a decent workout in the small hotel gym and you can assemble a decent and healthy breakfast from the very small on-site Starbucks-type restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I just returned from NYC and the Courtyard. The staff makes all of the difference. Unbelievably friendly and helpful without the insincere friendly formality of many hotel staff at other hotels. The staff is bright, enthusiastic and warm.

The rooms are smaller than other Marriot Hotels in NYC, including the Maquis and the Downtown Marriott. But it's in no way confining. It was perfect, clean and quiet. It is literally steps from the 1 line, which makes for incredible access to anywhere in the city.

This hotel may now be my home base while visiting NYC.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdtravelgirlSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Try to forget the Courtyard brand, this is a terrific hotel in a fabulous location. Not the height of posh, but clean, safe, and very friendly. It may not seem to be the best location on a map, but it is so close to so many wonderful options: SoHo shopping, great restaurants, Hudson River, the Village, etc. etc. The staff was helpful, courteous, and seemed proud of "their" hotel. The rooms are typically New York small, but the prices are just fine. The new Trump SoHo is a block away, but more than triple the price. You won't go wrong staying here, no matter what part of this great city you want to explore.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter, some have views of mid-town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BearZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#342 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#293 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing