We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #177 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed there from 7/5-7/8/12. We were upgraded to a high floor room with a view (18th floor out of 20). The hotel is small (7 rooms/floor)... so very quiet. You need a room key to access your floor, a feature I liked. The only complaint is that the safe in our room did not close. Also the Starbucks was not open Saturday afternoon, so I had to go next door to Dunkin' Donuts for coffee (do NOT go there- very unfriendly staff). The hotel staff was very helpful with directions, restaurant reservations etc. The rooms were clean, the bathroom updated with large shower,and lots of pillows on the beds. The gym access was free, and very busy! After staying there first, and then going to another hotel in Times Square, we were ready to come back to the Marriott Soho.... We walked to the Ferry for the Ellis Island tour (about a 20-25 minute pleasant walk). The Soho shopping district is only a few blocks away from the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuckercal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here for one night on July 6th to attend a wedding at the Trump SoHo. Room was ready at check in & check out isn't until noon - big plus. The room was obviously less expensive than Trump & really close, maybe 4 blocks away. The hotel was clean & comfortable and the staff was very accommodating. There is a little bar downstairs to grab a drink which was a plus for us! The room is small, but functional including a desk/mini fridge..and enough room for 3 adults to get ready for a wedding and we stayed in a King room with a pull out sofa. The bed was very comfortable and even the sofa bed was comfortable - it wasn't one of those thin ones you can feel the springs through. It is small though but perfect for one kid (or adult if it's a quick stay)! We didn't pay for a room with a view but ended up being on a high floor (19 of 20 I think), and with the huge windows we still had a great view. The bathroom was pretty large considering the room isn't that big, and the bathroom was modern with a beautiful glass shower. The hotel was quiet & we felt very safe. We valeted our car which can be a little expensive, but you are in NYC. It would have been cheaper to park it ourselves but with all of our luggage plus it was 100 degrees in the city that weekend - it was worth the convenience of the valet. It is $60/day (per 24 hrs). The staff also held our luggage after we checked out so we could go grab brunch. I would absolutely recommend this hotel as an affordable stay in the SoHo area. We were able to walk to Greenwich Village & the West Village very easily. Very happy with our decision to stay here!

Room Tip: Book direct and look for a AAA rate. A few days before our stay, they had a king room for $162/night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meghan_simmons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed there 7/7/2012-12/7/2012.Great hotel,friendly+efficient staff.Opposite subway,close to ground zero,china town and little Italy.Free Internet+ printing boarding passes great help.Rooms very nice,spacious and clean.Ample good restaurants in close proximity.Excellent value and tops for a 3 star hotel.I would highly recommend it and on my next visit to New York will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoodNagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and within easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants. While the room was small, it had everything that we needed, was clean, and was very quiet, especially considering that we were there on a Saturday night. The staff were pleasant and helpful, accomodating our request for a delayed check-out and securing the cab for us when we left. We found the breakfast quite good as well. I would not hesitate to stay there again should we travel to NYC in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_Paulon, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Wendy: Thank you so much for your feedback! On behalf of the team, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to hosting your next stay with us real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent a Saturday night in Soho and we wisely chose this hotel. It is a short walk from virtually everything Soho has to offer. And the IRT subway entrance is on the opposite corner. The friendly front desk did accommodate our request for a high floor room, and early check-in. We had initially been offered a room on the third floor but did not like its location, but the staff did its utmost to put us in a room more to our liking. The room itself was comfortable, quiet, clean, nicely decorated and furnished, with excellent air conditioning, and it had a small refrigerator. Sleep quality was quite good. The food service downstairs serves breakfast items in the morning, and fresh complimentary coffee is available. Check out was quick and smooth and the staff did help us hail a cab. We'll be sure to stay here again when we revisit this part of town,

Room Tip: Go for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCArchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Courtyard New York Soho makes no pretensions and doesn't need to in order to be a top notch destination Manhattan hotel. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, the location is terrific (comfortable walking distance to the many restaurants and shops of Soho and beyond, and adjacent to the Varick St/Houston No. 1 line subway station). The rooms are small-ish but well appointed and efficient, with Paul Smith amenities in the well-lit bathroom and a glass-enclosed "rain shower" to die for. The wi-fi is free and fast, the bed comfortable and the diminutive in-house restaurant/snack bar perfect for a light meal and/or drink. Can't think of a better or more reasonable property if it's in the Soho district you want to stay. PS: Individual rooms are probably best for a solo businessperson and/or a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! On behalf of the team, we are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We look forward to hopefully hosting your next trip in NYC real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I travel back to NYC several times a year and I have stayed and reviewed in numerous NY hotels. This was my first stay at the Courtyard SOHO. Let me say right off that it was the best experience I've had in a long time. The staff could not be friendlier. Every time I came in or out I was greeted with smiles and courtesy. The room is small but very comfortable. The basement gym is well equipped and underused. The bar/breakfast counter off the lobby serves starbucks coffee and basic breakfast items and the staff there was extraordinarily nice and helpful.
Finally the location cannot be beat. Both the 1 and the E or C subway lines are a short walk away. A few blocks to the river and the pathway for running in the morning. A few blocks the other way and your on Prince or Spring Streets in the heart of SOHO. Tribeca is a short walk away as is Little Italy and the Village. Why stay anywhere else- seriously folks this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

bccrab: If it is one thing we pride ourselves on, it's our top notch staff! We are so thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again real soon. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#330 of 473 in New York City
977 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#171 of 473 in New York City
1,519 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#138 of 473 in New York City
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#133 of 473 in New York City
1,040 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#206 of 473 in New York City
1,439 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#128 of 473 in New York City
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
#115 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £136 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing