We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #208 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in town for my 30th HS reunion. The location was very convenient. The staff and accommodations were excellent-I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in lower Manhattan.

Room Tip: The higher floors would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kids3dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo as well as th overall location. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    216
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
140
160
27
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I had never been to New York City and was excited to stay at this hotel. When we checked in I asked if we could have a room with a little bit of a view and Mario definitely made that happen. The staff was very helpful and very accommodating. We stayed on the 18th floor and it was very quiet and the room was super clean. I was a little surprised that there were only 6 rooms on the floor and our room was very small but I understand its Manhattan. I think this is a great hotel in a very accessible location and at the same time very affordable for NYC.

Room Tip: Try to stay on higher level to abate some of the street noise and get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review! I am very happy to hear that Mario was able to honor your request for a room with a view and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned in your review title, the location of the Hotel is great and very accessible to all of Manhattan. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard double room for six nights in October.

Location: We found the location to be desirable for our needs. After spending seven nights in the more chaotic Midtown, we moved to a hotel to be close to SoHo and Chelsea. SoHo Historic District is a short stroll away and so are plenty of restaurants, especially on Spring and Prince streets. Houston St subway station (1, red line) is virtually out the front and Spring St subway station (C-E, blue line) is also close.

Room: The room was fantastic. It was an acceptable size, very clean and modern. The bathroom was large with a walk-in shower and plenty of bench space. The room came with a refrigerator, good sized desk, cupboard and coffee making facilities.

Service: The staff here are incredible. From the second we checked in they were extremely friendly and had great knowledge of the area. The cleaning staff were fantastic and incredibly quick and efficient.

Other: The wifi was included in the room rate and was quick and reliable. There is a bar downstairs that is stocked with beer, wine, coffee and some snacks.

Overall this hotel is fantastic and by far the best we stayed in during a four week trip in the US. I'll be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ComKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your stay here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! Our Team prides themselves on providing a positive experience and I have already shared this feedback with them as they absolutely love it when a Guest has an overall great experience! Thank you for selecting our Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have spend just one night in the hotel. it was perfectly located for the business I had in the town and easy reachable by car.

The rooms are clean, however extremely small. So good for 1 person but I would not recomend standard double room for two people spending here more han 1 day.

Anyway I have got good bargain on the room, so there is nothing to complain.

Room Tip: Ask for superior not standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Courtyard by Mariott, Manhattan/SoHo! I am delighted to hear that you thought the Hotel was of good value. Providing a clean and comfortable Hotel and great service is the goal of our Team! I would love to hear any feedback from you in order to improve our overall Hotel. If you would like to share, please contact me directly at the Hotel (212) 414-8282. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The primary reason for staying here was the location. It's right on the edge of Greenwich village, easy walk to Chelsea, the Meat Packer and the Hudson River. The rooms are great if not a little small but perfectly adequate, very clean, and whilst they lack wardrobe space they all come with an iron and ironing board. We were on the 19th floor room where road noise is less obvious and had a fantastic view of Manhattan seeing the Empire State from our window. Only gripes had was the aircon which whilst it was a life saver was a bit noisy, easily sorted with a set of ear plugs which I had with me. Friendly staff and a handy place to print off your boarding pass for free.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pressendye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to rate your recent stay with us! We are delighted that you selected to stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the clean room and friendly service! Thank you for letting me know about the noisy AC unit as well. I will have my Engineering Team look into this! We hope that when your travels bring you back to NYC that we will have the opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel was one of the best! The building is only 3 years old.
In a time when customer service is dead; this hotel rises from the Ashes!
The staff is always greeting you when you come down from your room.

We received great directions, recommendations and overall service.

The location is very central in Manhattan.

I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were 3rd floor but our sleep wasn't effected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo. Our Team takes great pride in taking care of our Guests and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and wish to welcome you back soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our room was on the quiet side of the building and we were never awakened by the NYC street noises. Very convenient to the Houston St #1 Subway stop and the Holland Tunnel. The room was big enough by NYC standards and very clean. Check-in was efficient and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1408 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! We are glad you enjoyed your room location and stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#345 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing