We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #230 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chester Springs, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a family wedding where all the events were located within 0.2 miles of the hotel. Very convenient for our two night stay. Super friendly AND helpful staff - who even loaned us a wheelchair to help us transport my dad to the wedding on Downing St. (How great of them!!)

My husband and I said we would definitely stay at this location for any future NYC visits. The hotel is newer, clean, has a friendly staff and we thought the rooms were a nice size considering NYC standards (even with a mini fridge!). Our room was located right by the elevator and facing Varick street and it was very quiet! Thank you to Martina and her team for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJODE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review regarding your stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! I am so happy to hear that my Team was able to help you out with the wheelchair to ensure you were able to get around the city easily. I have already shared your feedback with my Team as they absolutely love it when our Guests have an overall great experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    208
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
133
157
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is pretty expensive for a Courtyard, but not unexpected in Manhattan. The hotel is clean and quiet. Staff is very friendly. There aren't a lot of rooms on each floor, which makes it a lot quieter than most. I think this hotel is a lot newer than many in Manhattan, so definitely looks cleaner and fresher. Rooms are small, but not claustrophobic. They do a good job with the space they have. It's convenient to Soho/Tribeca, and within walking distance of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mpcSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the overall room, cleanliness and friendly service! My Team prides itself on providing a clean Hotel with great service, so it is great to hear this. Thank you for your review and we hope when your travels bring you back to New York City that we will have the chance to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited this weekend for 4 days and enjoyed my stay. Location is nice near soho shopping/ dining area and within a block of the 1 subway which gets you to most of the city. Hotel still feels newer and clean. Room was fairly sized by New York standards while not large but adequate. I liked how the floors only have maybe 10 rooms each so it'd easy to navigate and doesn't feel overly crowded.

Only annoyances I had was inability to check in early and the elevators requires you to insert your card to choose floor and the reader was spotty. Minor gripes overall I'll be back. Maybe best of all were the people, they all seemed happy and willing to help which is rare these days. Even the guy who joked with me about being a longhorns fan did it with a smile! Thanks courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! I am very sorry to hear that we were unable to honor your request for early check-in. Please feel free to contact me directly when you return at (212)414-8282 and we will do our best to get you into a room as early as possible! Thank you also for your feedback regarding the key card access for our elevators. One of the Hotel's primary goals is to ensure the safety and security of all of our Guests, which is why we have this feature in our elevators. We look forward to welcoming you back and again please feel free to contact me directly when your travels do bring you back to New York City. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Loved everything in this hotel. Location is great. Room is modern and clean. Mini fridge in the room. Ab it pricey compared to other hotels in the area

Loved everything in this hotel. Location is great. Room is modern and clean. Mini fridge in the room. Ab it pricey compared to other hotels in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review! It is so great to hear that you loved everything about the Hotel including the location and our clean, modern rooms. You can always find our best available rates on www.marriott.com and often have advance purchase rates availble which offers discounted rates if you book and pay in advance. Hopefully you can take advantage of this in the near future as we would love the chance to serve you again in the near future. Thank you for selecting the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights - accidentally we were there for fashion week!
This is a really good hotel - comfortable, clean, great staff and great location.
I was a little unsure when using Google maps to check it out but it appears the pictures are relatively old. The neighbourhood isn't as industrial as Google (some other reviewers) would make it seem - subway station almost next door and a short walk to the village and other great areas to eat and enjoy a drink.
I'd be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! As you mentioned the location is great and conveniently located right next to the subway. We hope to welcome you back soon and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 days in New York. The hotel is clean, neat with friendly staff. I thought the rooms and bathrooms were larger than what people have previously mentioned. The wifi is free with a strong signal, plenty of tv channels and housekeeping was excellent. Would stay here again without a doubt!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aussieward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Providing a clean hotel with great service is the primary goal of the Hotel and we appreciate your feedback. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary wireless as well as the overall room size. Thank you for staying with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

New-ish, right- sized (6 rooms per floor), great views, which are the best surprise An ideal place for SoHo or financial center business, neat bistro for quick breakfasts. Very attentive staff and helpful. We felt safe and had everything we needed for a two-night stay. It's nice to know someone was thinking of the business traveler.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review! My Team prides itself on taking great care of our Guests and on ensuring a positive Guest experience. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing