We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #190 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family stayed at this hotel in May to celebrate a graduation. We booked two rooms and there were six of us total. This hotel had many great things going for it. For starters the staff at the front desk is excellent, (except for a minor hiccup checking in the second room). One of the staff, Angel was very helpful in making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Ask for him by name. Also there was two other women, but I'm sorry now that I didn't get their names, were very nice and patient in giving us directions. They recommended nearby sights and helped us navigate the metro. That's the second thing that was great. The metro stop was right on the corner of the hotel. Short ride to Freedom Towers, times square etc.. The third thing the had going was the cleanliness of the room. Keep in mind that this is NY so the rooms are not that big and the view was not the best, but hey we were only there to relax after hitting the pavement all day. Lastly the location was walkable. We walked around Soho area (first time), Washington Sq and Greenwich village which was charming. There was also a fresh grocery store (forgot name) that had ready made healthy food such as salads and sandwhiches that was inexpensive and they made omelettes to go for under $5. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladys l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed it. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with a memorable experience and I am glad you were able to experience that during your recent stay with us. Have a wonderful day and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

I just came back from a 4 night stay here and I have to echo all the positive comments. The hotel is in a great location in SoHo, only a short walk from the E train stop (from the airport) on Spring Street and directly across the road from the Houston Street stop for the 1 train which takes you up towards Times Square and down to Battery Park. There are plenty of great shops and cafès/restaurants within short walking distance too.
The room wasn't overly big but absolutely fine for me as I was a single traveller. There was slight traffic noise but what are you gonna do? It's New York for Gods sake! The room was always spotlessly clean. The staff downstairs were great too. One of the guys manning the mini Starbucks even remembered what coffee I had every time :)
You could do a hell of a lot worse than staying here and next time I go back, I'll stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Daytona500a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed their for a week during the time our son graduated from NYU. Had 2 rooms for the entire family.
The room were fine-clean and well maintained. The location is very good-great neighborhood and very good access to public transportation.
What makes this really good is the people working there-everyone-were extremely kind and very nice. They were very helpful and courteous. They responded to any questions quickly.
The free WiFi is a nice perk(esp. in NYC).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heartguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Good afternoon,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and are happy to see it went well. Congratulations to you and your family for such an accomplishment and we look forward to serving you during future travel to NYC! Have a great day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here in February for 6 nights on a sightseeing trip. The room was very clean and comfortable with a good choice of TV channels and the free Wi-Fi worked great. Yes, the rooms are quite small but still big enough for us and we were always out sightseeing anyway. We slept great and there was no traffic noise though we were toward the back of the hotel I think. The Houston Street subway for Line 1 was on the same block so really handy for getting around whether we were going uptown or downtown. There were also plenty of deli's nearby for a quick breakfast and a McDonalds just across the street. The staff were always pleasant and helpful with information and always said hi when we passed heading out or in. They also kept our suitcases on our last day which was handy as we didn't fly home until the evening. We didn't eat here but did have a beer in the bar, again the staff in there were very pleasant and took time to chat. We loved New York and if we went back we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to see you had a great stay and look forward to serving you again during future travel to NYC. Have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Even though I had a somewhat disappointing experience with this hotel the 1st time I stayed there in 2012, the staff did a good job taking care of me then, so I thought I'd take the manager up on her offer to help me book another room should I come back to NYC. (See my older review of the hotel for more details and several pics.)

I called the manager at the # she gave me and she helped me immediately, even though the # she gave me ended up being her cell and she was at home when I happened to call. She helped me by reserving me a quieter room on a higher floor and extended the AAA rate I had in my booking.

This really paid off because my 2nd stay was error-free and pretty quiet (they put us on the 19th for), too. I could hear a little bit of noise from the hallway when the A/C wasn't on, but when it was, noise was not a problem.

When we checked into our room, there was a note from the general manager along with a box of Jaques Torres chocolates saying thank you for trying them again/giving them a 2nd chance. This was just one example of their continued good service. Housekeeping was along the same lines, never did they disturb us when we left the room late and things were always done by the time we got back.

This time around we had a king bed + a pull out sofa, which someone was sleeping on. It was a little tight in the room given 2 large pieces of luggage and 3 bodies, but it was still comfy and doable. It helped that the a/c in the room worked well and kept us comfortable temperature wise. One thing that was annoying though was that the wifi code was only good for 2 devices per room- with 3 people, this was hard at times. But the wifi connection itself worked quite well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lws07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Good day,

Please let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, We are THRILLED to see you enjoyed it and are happy you gave us an opportunity to serve you as we do best. Regarding the internet, there isnt a limit per room and during your next stay if you have any trouble with it let us know and we would be happy to help. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

You know the brand, and the quality of room you're going to get with this hotel. Clean room, up to date decor and very very comfortable bed. This hotel is in SoHo and is a close walk to Greenwich Village and all the food, sights and entertainment you need for a quick stay in the City. Parking is very expensive, but hey- this is NY. If you are staying one night, just park on the adjacent street for free. Just be sure to check for street signs. You may have to move your car by 9:00 am depending on the day of the week. Try the popular hotel auction site. I got a king bed for half of the lowest published rate. Your mileage may vary. There's a Starbucks in the hotel that serves adult beverages at night. Also, a Dunkin Donuts is next door. We opted for coffee and delicious empanadas at the upscale food truck parked right outside as we checked out.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank samjan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will be your Hotel of choice when your travels bring you back to New York City. Thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Having been to NYC many times I found the location of this hotel ideal. Staying mid town can be too busy but the location of this hotel gives you the best of everything. It's located right at the busy shopping and bar area of Bleecker Street where you have a wide choice of eating places as well as up market shops. Right outside the hotel you have one of the main subway lines running both uptown and downtown and they run every few minutes so you never have long to wait. 10 minutes up town takes you to Central Park South at the Plaza and 5 minutes downtown takes you to Battery Park City and the Statue of Liberty. The hotel itself is ideal for New York. The rooms are larger than I have stayed in before and very comfortable. The staff are super friendly and very helpful indeed. Even the maintenance man and housekeeper were lovely. All in all ideal hotel for all your needs in New York. As with all hotels in New York you can here the street noise no matter where the room is but a high floor back room would be quieter.

Room Tip: As with all hotels in New York you can here the street noise no matter where the room is but a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heldo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. As you mentioned the Hotel's location is very convenient to popular NYC destinations such as the Meatpacking District, West Village and more! I will be sure to share this review with my Team as they strive to provide a memorable stay for all of our Guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#331 of 471 in New York City
971 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#207 of 471 in New York City
1,409 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 471 in New York City
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 471 in New York City
916 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#306 of 471 in New York City
1,766 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 471 in New York City
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £117 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing