We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #193 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel with a great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Right in the middle of everything. 20 min walk to Ground Zero. 5 min. walk to the Village. Very clean and with updated decors. Helpfull staff. Starbuck ind the lobby - I love it. Super sleep quality and with restaurants and shopping all around you. You can´t go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    219
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
141
164
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to New York, I decided to arrive without a hotel booking, opting a good walk around before booking in. I was on my way to New Hampshire having finished a conference in Washington D.C. In D.C. I stayed at a Marriot hotel and was impressed with their service, and after walking around in NY for a few hours decided that I would try the above mentioned hotel. Obviously it seemed extremely expensive from a South African perspective, but after having a chat to the staff, we got to an agreed rate, and I booked a room. Due to its location, I enjoyed the walks up and down small side streets, getting the sound and smell of New York. The subway is located across the street so after havi9ng walked most of the night I took the subway to 42 street avenue to enjoyi the city that never sleeps!

To the staff at the Mariott, thanks for making my first stay in New York such a memorable experience!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laubscher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We strive to make every stay a memorable one and knowing that we were able to do so for you during your recent stay makes us thrilled. I would have to agree with you, the location is very convenient for many things, dining, shopping and even transportation! Thank you for the wonderful comment and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What made this stay nice was the friendly staff. One in particular went way beyond the call of duty and manged to get us a room as an early check-in and then helped us find a metered parking space and actually went and fed the meter for us for a period of 3-hours until we left for a meeting.

The rooms are all fresh and updated if not small, but hey good price good location in SoHo. I would recommend it as a good launch pad for touring NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Varick Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iacxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I can't wait to share your response with our staff. I am please to see you were able to enjoy the service our staff is so great at giving and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit to NYC. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was my second stay at this property and once again, I arrived and left smiling. The staff is incredibly friendly (you can tell they truly enjoy working together). The rooms were clean. Bed comfortable. The location is just perfect for anyone that likes wandering around SOHO and the Village ---- so many great bars, restaurants and shops. Not to mention fun people watching. I emailed the general manager the day before asking for early arrival and they were able to accommodate. It's also reasonably priced compared to other NYC hotels, and I'd certainly rather spend my money on fun things to do in NYC rather than on a fancy, frilly room.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor and couldn't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We appreciate your response and are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay. SoHo is such a lovely area with so much to do and when you visit again if you need any recommendations please let us know as we would be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
361 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It was a pleasure to visit this Marriott location. Kudos to the reception personnel. They were friendly, accommodating, and they made me feel welcome, not just another guest. The room was comfortable, clean, and everything worked. I'd stay again when visiting this area of Manhattan.

Room Tip: 207, the handicap suite was a bit tight in the bedroom, but with a bedroom and a "living room&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our SoHo hotel. Our staff prides itself on providing great service, I will be sure to share this with them. We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I spent a night here with my wife on 1st July while on our way to Peru and it was great. Location is unbeatable. This time we were in room 203, facing the main road again. As usual its noisy, but it didnt bother us as we are heavy sleepers. Those who are light sleepers might want to request a room not facing the main road. As mentioned the location is unbeatable, its just 5-10min walk to Soho, great food everywhere. Thank you once again for making our stay a memorable one, the facilities are great, bed very comfortable and its of superb value. Rest assured we will stay here again whenever we are in NYC.

Room Tip: Avoid room numbers ending with 02 and 03, they are facing the main road and it can get noisy if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvoc70m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan SoHo. Our location near SoHo's wonderful restaurants, shopping and proximity to local transit to see the rest of NYC is truly unmatched. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you are looking for a hotel while in NYC try staying here. It is new, clean, quiet and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We brought our grand daughter to see the city for the first time and the staff was so helpful with suggestions on restaurants, sites to see, how to navigate NYC, etc. Shops and great restaurants abound near it. We usually stay in Times Square but this time wanted a bit more quiet and wasn't disappointed. Some really great restaurants nearby too. In the lobby they have a Starbucks so you can grab a light breakfast and be on your way. Will stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 17th floor and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi2012_12852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review on the Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan SoHo. The team here at the hotel strives to satisfy every guest and I will be sure to share your review with them. We are also glad to hear the great SoHo location met the needs for your stay.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#333 of 468 in New York City
913 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#226 of 468 in New York City
1,197 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#297 of 468 in New York City
1,655 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#176 of 468 in New York City
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing