We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Urban Adventures

New York Urban Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Lower East Side Food and Culture Tour
Ranked #1 of 859 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Urban Adventures unlock the secrets of over 100 cities around the world. Joining a small group of up to 12 other people, you'll wander hidden backstreets, browse the stalls of quirky markets, discover New York’s rich cultural heritage as well as exploring some of city's greatest icons; all in the company of an expert local guide. Experience the real New York on a full day or half day New York Urban Adventure.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Did the tour with guide Joey. It was just us and 3 other people. Joey knew the history of NY very good and overwhelmed us with his detailed knowledge. We now know about the birth of this big city! We also had 4 stops during the tour with authentic foods which was a very pleasant break on this hot day. Surely I would recommend this tour to all who want to know something about the history and birth of this city!

Helpful?
Thank TobiKaze
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    36
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Tenements,Tales and Tastings Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great fun. Extremely informative and Excellent value. We learnt so much more about the lower East side of the city - its history and peoples, than we would have done. Our guide Karen, was so knowledgable and so easy to engage with - more than just a tour guide - rapidly became our `mate` - just what you need as an introduction to a different city. Excellent

Harold and Pat Rowse Cornwall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Eat, walk, learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you have a spare half day in New York you should definitely do the Tales and Tastes tour.
We had a lovely stroll through the story of New York immigrants and visited some old local restaurants where we sample food. We had a great time discovering a different side of the city. Nathalie was awesome like they say...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oribie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tenements, Tales and Tastes Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our tour with Urban Adventures. Our guide was enthusiastic and knowledgeable, and taught us a lot about the how NYC was settled. She provided interstice facts and it was great to have this linked with some special foods from different cultures. Taking a hiking tour really gives you the chance to get to know a bit of the city in a much better way than taking a bus would. We feel we got a really good taste of the part of Manhattan that we visited during this tour and would recommend it to others.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smiles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went on the Tenaments, Tasting and Tales tour with Natalie as the Tour Guide. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour, Natalie was excellent and very informative. We walked through areas of New York we probably wouldn't of seen on our own. We loved China Town and Little Italy. Along the way we got to try little tasters of some foods we'd not eaten before like Knishes and pork dumplings and a few other lovely things. We eneded the tour in a German pub which had many different beers you could sample although this wasn't included in the price of the trip but we did have large pretzels to try to end a great tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Treelee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New York Urban Adventures also viewed

 

Been to New York Urban Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing