We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with a couple of minor areas for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #368 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is a very nice hotel with a lot of floors (44) that is located right in the heart of the financial district, just blocks to Battery Park, The Staten Island Ferry, The NY Stock Exchange, Trinity Church, and Stone Street pubs. The hotel is half a block from the R train, 1 block from the 4/5 train, 2 blocks from the J/Z train, and about 4 blocks from the 1 or the 2/3 trains making it very easy to get into other areas of Manhattan or the outer boroughs as well, being only one stop away from the trendiest parts of Brooklyn. The hotel has a very small footprint which means that the lobby / reception is on the 2nd floor while the restaurant and bar are on the first floor. This is a little awkward, but not anything that is bad. The hotel has modern furnishings and some of the friendliest, most helpful staff members you could ever hope for. Although the rooms are small (it is NYC after all), they are well designed and laid out for maximum efficiency. The bathrooms are modern and have all of the needed amenities.

The only negatives to this hotel are:
- The heating in the rooms is less than ideal (we visited for a cold weekend in February). It is a unit under the window which never seemed to regulate the temperature properly. Either the room was too warm or too cold and typically the side of the bed near the window was very warm at night, while the side away from the unit was cool.

- The elevators in the hotel are very fast, but there are simply not enough of them for a 44 floor hotel (there are 3 elevators). The waits for elevators was consistently too long and was, at times, bothersome.

Other than these two negatives, the hotel was really wonderful. Of course, the bottom line question is would I stay here again? The answer is a whole-hearted YES, especially if the price was right (which it was for our visit).

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 06 have an adjoining door, but also offer a view of the Freedom Tower from the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear ftl-pricipal,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very excited to read your compliments about the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. It is our pleasure to be at your service.

We are looking into the matter of the HVAC units and we are sorry to hear of the inconvenience you experienced waiting for the elevators. We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay despite the aforementioned issues and are proud to be your choice of hotels when travel bring you back to New York. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,826 - 1,832 of 2,520 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

I was in New York for work at the Doubletree on Stone Street.

The pros:
- free wifi as part of the Hilton Honours program
- good location if you're working in the financial district (except that Broad Street and Bowling Green subways don't seem to work on weekends)
- the showers have good pressure
- courteous staff
- if you get a room ending in 05 on a high floor you can have a great view of the freedom tower

The cons:
- the mattresses are a bit too soft

- For a hotel with 44 floors it can a hassle to get to your room since there are only 3 functioning elevators, these can take a long time to arrive (10 minutes was my longest wait), this hotel should have planned for at least another 3 elevators. Elevators often seem to be occupied by service staff at rush hour (7am - 9am) which makes the wait even more painful, they should refrain from doing so at this busy time if possible.

- 18th century air conditioning units in the room, they have the noise and grace of an elephant skating on ice. In some rooms when you turn the unit off you can still feel a rush of air coming in from outside (I'm writing this during winter, it was not pleasant). I had the same problem at a different hotel in the financial district. The US should see if they can learn from hotel chains in other developed countries where discrete and silent units are often found in the form of grills above your door.

- the wardrobes are also a relic from a bygone era, their hanging rails do not go from left to right, instead they go from the back of the wardrobe to the front, meaning that it is awkward to reach clothes at the back of the wardrobe.

- the breakfast room is not large enough to accommodate a hotel of this size, on some occasions you will see a line outside the door waiting to be served. On a couple of morning there was no orange juice.

- there are no plugs by the beds in some of the rooms. I have been traveling for years, and it amazes me how hardly any hotels, Hilton or otherwise, have thought of placing a plug by the bed. It is convenient for charging a phone overnight.

- I have had hassle twice with the digital tv receiver box not working. I have never seen receivers anywhere else except in the US hotels, not sure if this can be resolved by finding a way to plug a cable straight into the tv?

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear numb15,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for itemizing what you liked about the hotel and defining which areas need improvement. We value all feedback and will review each item and will make every effort to find a suitable resolution for each issue.

We are glad to receive 4 stars from you for our overall service. We hope you would give us another opportunity to be at your service again. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel is totally fine but not great. It's full of tourists in groups who don't speak english. The lobby is on the 2nd floor so there is always a wait to get on the elevators and plies of luggage on the ground floor. At night you could hear groups of people at the Irish Bar downstairs yelling and having a good time. The staff is super friendly, though. My room, 3606, had an adjoining room door through which I could hear every word of my neighbors. Also, the heating/cooling unit in the room was way too powerful for the tiny space. It either blew really hot air or really cold air - there was no in between. I ordered room service for dinner and it was fine - literally just what you ordered and nothing extra like bread or salt and pepper or a glass of water. Bare minimum. I think the price is right if you want a place to lay your head (if you're a heavy sleeper). Bed and pillows were comfortable. It's good that they have a restaurant on site because that part of the financial district is completely closed/dead on the weekends. There is a Duane Reed on the corder where you can get necessities.

Room Tip: 3606 has a door to make two rooms join - skip that one if you want to NOT hear your neighbors. It d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblesNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Dear BubblesNYC,

We are very happy to read your comments about our super friendly staff, comfortable bed and pillows, easy access to Duane Reade, and on having an on-site restaurant. It is our pleasure to be at your service.

We apologize for the noise coming from the adjoining room and from the bar next to the hotel. For your future stays with us, please feel free to call us in advance and we will more than happy to assign you a non-connecting room. Thank you for your time and business. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights on business, never had breakfast or dinner at the hotel, but happy with service, staff, location etc happy to return. It was nice to be able to walk straight out onto Wall Street in the morning. The italian restaurant "Ancora" opposite is very good

Room Tip: Room at the front of hotel was nice it is very tall but how far up you go is preference only as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are excited to know that you were very happy during your time with us and that you will stay with us again in the future. Our goal is to ensure all our guests feel home away from home while staying with us – Doubletree by Hilton Financial District.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night to take my mom to JFK ealier this month. We have been to NYC several times before and mostly stayed at either the Mariott in the Financial District or the Holiday Inn in China Town, but the last time we were there was in 2008. We decided against staying in either one because we heard that the Mariott had some damage from Sandy according to some reviews just from Dec, and the Holiday Inn seemed to have aged quite a bit. So we booked this hotel instead.

Very close (less than a min walk) to a subway station (believe it was for the R train) and relatively close (5 min walk) to another subway station serving among others the A train. Parking garage (non valet) right across the street from the hotel at $35 per 24 hrs. You have the valet option too which would cost $ 50. A couple or three doors down from the parking garage there is a decent Thai/Japanese restaurant upstairs, they make tasty food. The hotel is relatively new, quite clean although the dark-colored carpeting in the lobby or the guest room made the inside look darker. Surprisingly the mattress felt old and overworked, it felt more like a mattress you would find in a motel.

The room was very small. Sufficient lighting in the room. The bathroom was also tiny. There was only one hanger behind the door for you to use. There was a small towel hanger under the sink positioned so low that you would not be able to hang your bath towel unless you fold it in two. The closet in the room was located on the other end of the room and not directly right in front of the bathroom. One of the walls in the bathroom would have enough surface area for a good size towel hanger but instead they chose to hang a big picture there that serves no purpose. The standing shower was so narrow. I am a size 4 petite woman, and even for me I did not have enough room to extend my elbow completely on either side before hitting the shower wall/door.

The staff at both the front desk and concierge were very friendly and helpful. The guy at the front desk checked us in before 2pm even though the reservation stated 3pm. They also were willing to give us 1 hr extra for check out (we ended up not needing it). We were given very good directions to get back to the hotel from JFK by the guys at the concierge. One of them actually took the time to look up some info for us on his phone. We ordered a taxi to JFK, and it arrived at the hotel very punctual.

We ordered a wake up call and the guy at the front desk actually had to take the request for us as our call to the wake-up call area was unanswered. We never got the wake up call, thankfully I had set my own alarm as the backup otherwise we might have missed my mom's international flight! It had never happened to us that the hotel did not fulfill our wake up call request.

No breakfast came with the room but they did give us 3 nice warm cookies, and yes they were good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcopoloRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear marcopoloRI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. First of all, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for not providing you with a scheduled wake up call. I want to assure you that we will look into this matter to ensure it will not happen again.

Secondly, we regret to read about your dissatisfaction with our guest room size. Your suggestion about the towel hanger is appreciated and it will be shared and reviewed with the Executive Management team.

We are very happy to read your comments about our friendly and helpful hotel staff, and I will make sure to share your compliments with all team members.

We hope you would choose to stay with us again and allow us to make things right for you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Got a great deal via Priceline on this hotel with a couple of hours notice. Room had a great city view (which I requested). Service was excellent from bell station--storing bag, answering questions and parking and retrieving a car. Conveniently located one block from Bowling Green subway stop and Broadway. Easy walk to downtown/financial district locations, including Battery Park. Room was compact a la NYC standards, but well appointed with good lighting and contemporary furniture.

Room Tip: Request a city view. Because this hotel is on a very small street and so many rooms so high up--noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Durham123,

We are very excited to know that you had a great experience while staying with us. Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us and all tripadvisor members. It is our pleasure to provide you with comfortable accommodations and exceptional service. We look forward to being at your service again. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

For native New Yorkers who have traveled a great deal, we were pleasantly surprised by the extraordinarily efficient and friendly staff right in our home town. Delicious food at hotel's restaurant. Nice change of pace from midtown. Perfect location between Wall Street and Battery Park next to the Staten Island Ferry. Stone Street is one of the few remaining vestiges of Old New York. Lots of shopping and dining all around.

Room Tip: Take a lower floor to avoid long waits for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear Carol M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and all tripadvisor members. It is very rewarding to be described as the best hotel, best location. Your compliment is very motivational and it will be shared with all team members. We strive to provide 5 star service to all our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to be at your service and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#242 of 469 in New York City
586 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#352 of 469 in New York City
742 reviews
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#330 of 469 in New York City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#221 of 469 in New York City
1,497 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#228 of 469 in New York City
1,333 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#344 of 469 in New York City
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £96 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing