We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Everything but price”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel during a business trip so I am unaware of the cost. However, I would it perfectly located in the heart of the financial district, close to several metro and ferry stops with plenty of places to eat and unwind. However, I did learn that the financial district becomes a ghost town during the weekend. The hotel room ad bathroom were small but enjoyable and clean. The room's decor and amenities seem updated (TV, stands, light, etc.). Wifi was slow and pillows too thin but nothing that a good 4G/LTE connection and pillow stacking cannot fix. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: I heard complains about rooms that were directly in front of the elevator (then again, there are 3 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foghesino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found our location so accomodating to your needs and you will be glad to know that very soon we will be upgrading our WiFi services! Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    867
    547
    231
    169
See reviews for
415
720
157
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The entire staff of this Doubletree were very pleasant. I checked in to my room during the height of a NYC snow storm with very cold weather. When I got to my room a huge cold draft was pouring into the room. It was late and I just turned up the heat to counter act. On my way out the next morning I asked the staff to have someone resolve. When I got back to my room that night I found bathroom towels stuffed all around the heating unit and a bunch of drywall debris on the floor. I would expect this from a lesser cost chain, certainly not a Hilton property. I was there three nights and one morning there was only luke warm water. Again, I am not surprised when I encounter issues at lower cost chains but I get very irritated when it happens at a Hilton. The workout room is very nice and the staff were great but I know there are other chains in this area that are lower cost with a more functional room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I will be sure to tell the staff how much you appreciated their services and I will be sure to speak with our Engineering Manager regarding the A/C issue in the room that you occupied. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights while in NYC on business. This is a nice business hotel in the Financial District. It has average sized rooms for a hotel in NYC. I'm more of a Marriott person, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Eric,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you will be returning to us in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was a perfectly adequate hotel for us. Despite a lot of reviews complaining about room size we found ours absolutely fine (double) and bathroom was adequate. A hook for the towels on the back of the door and a shelf above the basin would be beneficial but not really a big deal if staying for a couple of days only.

There are a lot of rooms on each floor and as such we could hear everything from the TV to the conversations but then it was possible those guests were particularly noisy. The concierge was a bit rude and unhelpful to start with but she did follow up with our request and made sure we were happy with the reservation and transport so this was much a appreciated.

Location was good, we really were doing mainly things in the financial/Soho area so suited us but we also went out further and it was no trouble at all.

Housekeeping was just OK, one day our room was not cleaned until after 4pm. Oh and the bed was so very comfortable. Unlike other reviews we had no problem with the lifts, never had to wait long and we were on the 29th floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Lizzie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Lizzie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you enjoyed the mattresses at the DoubleTree Financial District. Just so you know, anything you find in a Hilton Brand hotel room, incuding the mattresses in our rooms, can be purchased online at hilton2homes.com. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was okay. the room was very small - I haven't stayed in a room this small in NY in a long time. I was on the 19th floor and had absolutely NO view. The bathroom was REALLY small and challenging to work around in. I stayed here during the big snow storm and the staff were very accommodating. They had their car service take me to the airport hotel in a blizzard. Much better than a cab!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthbetold_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you found your room to be small and without a view. Unfortunately, due to the location of our property, space is a bit of a rarity, and due to the surrounding buildings, you will not have a city and/or river view in any floor under floor 33. I apologize for this and would be glad to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our city view rooms on a higher floor on your next visit to New York. Please, reach out to me at joshua.daly@hilton.com and I will be glad to assist with the arrangements. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Nice hotel, great location for world trade centre and easy to access subways to get to midtown, but if always going to midtown it can be annoying to factor in time and cost of catching subways. Could hear some noise from people on the streets overnight when on the lower levels, upper level was quiet. Beds were comfortable. Lift took 15 mins to stop at our level. There was also no hot water when we stayed there and it was freezing outside, however we were moved to an available room which did have hot water.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry for any inconvenience that our emergency plumbing service repairs may have caused you during your stay with us. I am glad to report that these issues have been rectified. I am sorry that you found our proximity to midtown less than convenient. For any future stays you may have with us, I would recommend utilizing the car service arranged by our bell staff or our local subway trains (1,2,3,4,5,E, & R) for transportation to and from Midtown. I hope that you return to our property in the future. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We've just returned from a 5 day stay & we were very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The warm cookie was a nice touch after a long journey and being able to use the computers in the lobby to check-in online was extremely useful. Our room was very spacious and clean, with a huge, comfortable bed. We had no issues with the lifts despite being on the 37th floor and our showers were always hot. When we reported an issue with the safe in our room this was fixed within half an hour. Location wise this hotel couldn't be better, with easy access to all major subway lines. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGraysons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#213 of 467 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#222 of 467 in New York City
1,228 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#218 of 467 in New York City
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#289 of 467 in New York City
505 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#306 of 467 in New York City
136 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#124 of 467 in New York City
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing