We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for doing business in the Financial District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #368 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The DoubleTree hotel is conveniently located in the Financial District. Great for doing business. On a quite street with several restaurant choices near by. The rooms are clean and modern. Nice bar and restaurant on property, but they are very small.

Room Tip: The hotel elevators are very slow so I would recommend asking for a room on the lower floors so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyomaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Lady Omaha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you found our location and facilities so accommodating to your business needs. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,544 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hotel location is great. Being an older hotel it has issues. Hot water would work in sink and not shower and vice versa each day. Flip a coin. Half of the elevators were out on one day so wait time was 30 minutes for an elevator. The rooms were relatively spacious for being in NYC. Staff was terrific.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be glad to know that all three elevators are now fully functional. I apologize for any inconvenience that our elevator maintenance services may have caused during your stay with us. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have made weekend getaway trips to NYC previously, but have always stayed mid town. As our focus this time was Tribeca, SoHo and Greenwich Village, we found the Doubletree, Stone Street to be a reasonable location. Adjacent subway access allowed us to make good use of our time. As others have noted, the hotel has somewhat of a claustrophobic feel , the entranceway (two floors below) the lobby, the hallways and the rooms all being Lilliputian in scale. That said, our room was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff - from the security at street level to the front desk agents were courteous, friendly and helpful. We were satisfied with our weekend, but just didn't think the hotel, with it's quirky television system, limited lounge, food and toiletry shopping options, lack of included wireless, and modest appointments quite managed what we expect from a four star experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will be sure to share your feedback with the DoubleTree Financial Guest Services Team! Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The double tree is located in stone street, fine if you are on business trip, still ok for city trip due to nearby metro. Room was very very small, double bedroom feels like a closet. With freezing temps outside, room was cold and windy. Bed very good though. Shower hot/cold. Staff on the other hand are very friendly and will do their very best to fix problems or arrange your trip. Taxi guys from the hotel are very nice. Irish pub nextdoor is good for a beer (or 2). Didn't have breakfast at hotel, enough nice places nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are very glad that you enjoyed the services of the hotel! We will be sure to share your feedback with the DoubleTree Financial District Guest Services Team! Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

No executive lounge,not even a voucher for a drink just that stupid cookie and noisy people outside the room . Doorbanging and no soundproofing complete this terribble hotel. Got ann upgrade to 44 th floor for being hilton honors vip (haha) ....out of the probably 120 to 150 hilton and doubletrees i kow this was the worst. Really..... A no go !

Room Tip: Dont bother with this place.i stayed in the hampton inn on pearl street after this one and it was ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Adrian,

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our accomodations. We, at the DoubleTree Financial District, strive to provide each and every guest with the highest level of experience, and we are sorry that we fell short in your case. We will be glad to do everything in our power to make your next stay with us as enjoyable as possible! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great hotel overall. I caught a few very cold and windy days in NY. Outside I was very, very cold. For some reason, beneath the heating system, there was a lot of cold air coming in. I had to cover the area with pillows to stop somehow the cold air from coming in. Rooms were very clean and nice, staff very helpful and friendly. Very pleasant stay just a bit chilly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatriceTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Beatrice,

I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us, despite the dreadful NYC winter weather. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me (joshua.daly@hilton.com) and provide me with the room number of the room that you occupied while staying with us, I would be glad to follow up, with our Engineering Team in regards to the maintenance issue that you have reported. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

When my reservation with another local Hotel didn't go as planned (Super owl weekend), I walked over to the Hilton on Stone street in tears, praying they had rooms available. The staff was extremely accommodating, and welcoming. Josh was able to book the room for me immediately. Although there was a slight hold up with paperwork, I was still able to check in, without any further delay. After the afternoon I'd had, I had such a migraine, I passed out immediately, to complete silence! It was a godsend. Hats off to the BEST Hotel staff in the financial district: Josh, Kamiesha, and Kadeem. Thank you for always making my stay so pleasurable, and thank you for the top notch customer service. You guys could teach the other hotels a thing or two about OUTSTANDING customer service. SN: The restaurant downstairs offers an AWESOME breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Keisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Keisa,

We are very sorry that your first hotel of choice did not work out as planned, but we are extremely grateful to have been chosen as your second hotel of choice during this most recent and festive Superbowl Sunday. We will be sure to share your feedback with Kameisha and Kadeem. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#275 of 470 in New York City
73 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#245 of 470 in New York City
591 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#222 of 470 in New York City
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#354 of 470 in New York City
746 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#225 of 470 in New York City
1,361 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#339 of 470 in New York City
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £91 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing