We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to NYC, great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #355 of 467 Hotels in New York City
fort worth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First time to NYC, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I thought this was a pretty nice hotel. Our room was small but I already expected that and have stayed in smaller rooms. It was enough room for me and my husband who were only going to be in our room to sleep. The bed was not the most comfortable but it wasn't horrible either. The staff was extremely friendly, everyone we encountered smiled and asked us how our stay was. It's in a very convenient area, lots of subways nearby. My only complaint is about the elevators, they are slow. We only had a major issue when we were trying to check out. It took 10 minutes to get to the lobby from our floor and we had a car waiting on us. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clira85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Christie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words regarding the friendliness of our staff. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the rest of the DoubleTree Financial District Guest Services Team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your most recent visit to NYC and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    832
    523
    217
    157
See reviews for
391
690
146
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Small rooms, but not atypical of NYC. The furnishings were worn but still serviceable. Room was clean. The only oddity of the room is the inconsistent water temperature -- it would occasionally go ice cold for a few seconds. But avoid the restaurant, food was terrible and even the coffee was poor. Wonder a block and find a deli. Plan ahead if you want to catch a cab from the hotel as it is not on a main street (or walk over to Water Street.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Greg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear that our furnishings and restaurant services were not up to par during your stay with us. Your feedback will be shared with our Engineering and Antinori Restaurant Management Teams, so that we may address the concerns that you have raised. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter weekend and yes the location is good but is about the only thing going for this (what I as a HH Diamond would class as a 2 star) hotel. No feeling of being valued guests in this hotel, no upgrade, no privileges apart from free breakfast (which is standard all over for Diamonds).

The public areas, corridors etc were worn, the elevators (as stated in other reviews were slow) and the room small.

We have had some excellent breakfasts in Doubletrees in fact one of the best Hilton breakfasts we have ever had was in Tampa Doubletree. In this New York Doubletree the breakfast room was tiny but it was the complete mismanagement and poor selection and quality food that marked it for us. Tables were worn and dirty, only half set, the buffet was always empty and when you asked them to refill they did so begrudgingly! The restaurant Manager was abrupt and disinterested. We weren't the only guests unhappy!

The hotel was by NY standards not expensive but I agree with the previous reviewer that this is likely the only reason they are still in business.

Very disappointed Diamond Members. Thankfully our next 3 nights we are in a different Hilton!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find the accommodations of the hotel to be satisfactory. We at the DoubleTree Financial District strive to provide each and every one of our guests with the ultimate DoubleTree experience, and I am sorry to hear that you did not find this to be the case during your stay with us. You will be glad to know that your feedback will be shared with our Management Team, so that these issues may be addressed accordingly. I would like to thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed here many times, primarily since it is near my company office. The property is clean, staff is friendly/helpful, and the location is very near to multiple NYC subway lines. The facility is a small. Restaurant is average and affordable. Better than staying in Times Square!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Kurt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the rest of the DoubleTree Financial District Team! Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Don't expect the Palace at this place but for a New York Hotel it's a good deal. Showers, not tubs, small rooms, prickly staff (waiter rolled his eyes when we ordered from the menu instead of the breakfast buffet, if you don't answer your door first thing then your room is not getting cleaned..) but hey, you can't beat the price. If they ever raise prices, they'll be out of business.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Panamajack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear PanamaJack,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad that you found our rates accommodating and competitive with the New York City Financial District. Please, make us your hotel of choice whenever visiting the New York City area! Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Do not stay here. House keeping rob your things, I had lots of clothes stolen and nothing done about it once reported. Staff are not helpful or friendly. They couldn't even take the time to write a report. No compensation just fobbed off every time I went to reception. Very unprofessional and disappointing for a hotel that is supposed to be a four star hilton. Terrible that you have to be worried that your clothes will be robbed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sregan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Ms. Regan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In regards to the issue that you have reported, I would like to assure you that this matter is being investigated with the utmost priority by our Security Management Team, Housekeeping Management Team, as well as the Front Office Management Team. Your sense of safety and security while staying at the DoubleTree Financial District is our highest concern and we will do everything in our power to ensure this. The DoubleTree Financial District Management Team will reach out to as soon as possible with an update on this investigation. Please, contact me with any questions, comments, or concerns (joshua.daly@hilton.com/212.490.9100x7114), and I will do everything that I can help. Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My experience at the Hilton New York/financial District was nothing less than excellent. The front desk staff was professional and warm. They were willing to help and supply all of our needs. I would most definitely recommend the Hilton Hotel New York/Financial District to my friends and family. This staff is to be commend for their integrity and dedication to duty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Shirley,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your kind words towards our staff are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the entire DoubleTree Financial District Team! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#323 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,434 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#210 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing