We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #358 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great deals in NYC”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

When I search the hotel to stay in NYC the price shocked me, then I use priceline.com . Lucky I get this doubletree deal , at rate USD 160 per night it definetely is a steal.
Location is pretty good ( not really in central park or Fifth avenue area ) but all within reach by subway. The room is small though but I do not complain as it s in NYC :-) , room is clean n pretty good condition , if I can give the hotel input it will be the lift , waiting for the lift can be frustating
Other than that this hotel is everything you can hope for to stay in NYC with low price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    879
    555
    235
    172
See reviews for
427
726
159
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

average hotel for big bucks ...No Pool ...decent restaurant small rooms ....the front desk staff was nice and the doorman greeted you but otherwise nothing special ...My work paid for the room so it was easier to swallow at 400 a night it should be awesome but was just a regular room

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank scottl6618644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that our property does not offer a pool as one of our amenities, but I am very pleased and grateful for your kind words towards our staff. I will be sure to share this positive feedback with the rest of the DoubleTree Financial District Guest Services Team. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this off priceline (well that may have been our initial mistake). Upon arriving, they gave us single king bed because they were out of double beds. Then when my friend was half naked first night other guests entered our room. Upon calling the hotel front desk person Cynthia about the incident, first she denied that they had made any mistake. Then she blasted us that there had been a mistake in a threatening voice about sending security and told us we need to come down immediately because we were actually assigned to a different room and they had mistakenly given out keys to the room we already had keys to. We would need to move, she told us in quite a rude tone. We told her she needed to send security up and this was a serious breach of security. They did do this and the security was very nice. But all in all this is a serious breach of security and negligent on the hotel part. The consultation? 4 tickets to the breakfast buffet.

Aside from this serious security breach, there is no pool here. We have not yet checked out the exercise room but was told it is very small. Luckily we we were on a rather low floor so did not have to put up with slow elevators (which seems to be a complaint on here).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Fidel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry to hear about the issues and concerns that you have raised. It is our goal at DoubleTree Financial District to provide each and every one of our guests with the ultimate guest experience, and I am very sorry that we fell short in your case. I assure you that these matters will be shared with our Guest Services Management Team as well as our Security Management Teams, so that we at DoubleTree Financial District can address and improve these issues. If there is any way that I can be of any service to you, regarding this most recent stay, or any future stays that you may have with us, please contact me at joshua.daly@hilton.com and I will do everything in my power to assist you. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel is near to R and 4 trains. That allowed me to take the bus/train from laguardia airport. Area is great for cheap street food during the week. On weekend less food vendors are in the area since offices are closed. I travel a lot on a budget so this was great. Nice walk to world trade memorial, south street seaport and very near to the charging bull sculpture. The rooms were clean and nice. The only problem is that the shower leaks so you need to put extra towels on the floor but staff was great with everything. Descent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun_Tpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Shaun,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the local public transportation and local attractions available. We will be sure to share your feedback regarding the shower in the room that you occupied during your stay with us with our Engineering Management Team, so that we may address and rectify this issue. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please, make us your hotel of choice, whenever visiting the New York City area. We greatly appreciate your business. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Pretty much this is an acceptable accommodation... However some annoying stuff...
Rooms are small, however they are pretty updated and well appointed in the furnishings
Bed, Sheets...clean and comfortable. 44 Floors, around 10 small rooms on each floor, very tight hallways and quarters. Noisy because I was near Elevators and House Keeping Closet.

The Elevators have to be among the slowest in NYC, Waited five -ten minutes each time I used them. Did not eat at the hotel so cant help with that. Staff was courteous and friendly, but not exceptionally so... Would rate it a C+ or Solid B- .

Would stay there again, but use it as a backup when better (more pricey) places are not vacant.
This place is a good example of lower price means you should adjust your expectation.

Room Tip: Bring a good Novel for the elevator wait, Asking for something away from elevators probably will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MwMaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I am glad to hear that you found our rates competitive and satisfactory for your travel needs. Please, make us your hotel of choice, whenever visiting the New York City area. We greatly appreciate your business. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Been staying here multiple weeks for a long-term project but am going to be switching - even if it means forgoing my Hilton Diamond status to stay at a Marriott.

When this hotel was designed the architect clearly was in Lala Land. What other reason can you come up with for three really small elevators in a 44 story hotel? Waiting 15 minutes for an elevator only to have it be too full and need to wait another 10 for a second elevator is unacceptable. Sorry but I do not have the patience for that.

Nothing can be done at his point but they are losing what could have been a frequent guest over the next two years.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frustrated1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. If there is any way that I can encourage your loyalty with DoubleTree Financial District please contact me (Joshua.daly@hilton.com) and I will do everything in my power to ensure your satisfaction with DoubleTree Financial. I greatly appreciate your loyalty and feedback and I thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardonia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel room was clean and comfortable and desk staff was polite, however a male staff member entered our room 5 minutes after we obviously went out for the evening. It just happened that my friend forgot her wallet and ran back up to the room. Of course the management lied and said our smoke detector was going off, and that the battery died. It just happened to die the second we walked out of the room. Super Creepy! Beware!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize for the concern that you raised and assure you that I will be sharing this feedback with our Guest Services Management Team, so that we can address and improve this issue. If you have any further questions, comments, concerns, or if there is any way that I can be of any further service to you, please contact me at joshua.daly@hilton.com. I thank you greatly for the kind words that you offered towards our staff and I thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#234 of 466 in New York City
545 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 466 in New York City
1,252 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#214 of 466 in New York City
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 466 in New York City
1,491 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#348 of 466 in New York City
507 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#120 of 466 in New York City
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing