We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft Harlem
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Archer Hotel New York(New York City)
US$334
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (749)
Filter reviews
749 results
Traveller rating
315
330
73
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
330
73
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbia universityfrederick douglassapollo theatrefree bottles of waternew yorklaguardia airportbliss productssubway stationstreet levelwould stay here againfront desk stafftrendy hoteltwo blockslobby areamini fridgefree coffeearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 749 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Last week we won last minute tickets to see the Metallica show at the Apollo Theater. So last minute we were searching for a hotel for a Saturday night in NYC.

This hotel was great! It was cheaper than other hotels. It was very very clean and bigger than normal NYC hotel rooms. There was room to actually breathe and not be on top of each other. The bathroom area was separated by a nice wall which I liked. It came with complimentary water, coffee, and hot tea. The snackbar downstairs was great too. Typical snack bar .... wraps, sandwiches, yogurts, etc.

Room was very modern. Not the old 60's kinda normal hotel room. Flat panel tv mounted on the wall, extra outlets to plug in all your electronics, etc.

Staff was very very friendly. Quick check in and checkout. You didn't have to walk too far either to find a good place to eat or shop (although we didn't get a chance to shop).

I noticed they had a gym to but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor not above the bar as it was very loud and I can only imagine what the 2nd floor had to deal with. We got a room on the 6th floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dfryer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

first time for me in NYC, and this hotel was a good choice: good price, close to subway, good reception.
I'll take it next time.

Metro D, 1 are close enough, so good place.

general advice for NYC: prepare your feets

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djtonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Nice review. Thank you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in New York City and at the Aloft Harlem. Good advice for all coming to NYC to prepare their feet....lots of walking to do while sight seeing here.
Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Many people rave about this hotel, presumably since it is "hip", "trendy", "cool" and "modern". These adjectives are very accurate, so if you want a hip and trendy hotel, you will probably love this hotel. By contrast, if you want a more traditional quality hotel (e.g. Hilton, Marriott, or Sheraton) you will probably hate this hotel as much as I did. Here are the features that were very annoying: The elevators had some sort of strong scent that was intentionally added, the tiny lobby had very loud music playing (so loud that I was unable to make a phone call), the small hallway between the elevators and the lobby had the décor (if you can call it that) of a bus station (cement floor and a simple wooden bench), the carpet in my room was dirty, torn and worn out, the first thing that one sees upon opening the room door is a toilet, there is no traditional shampoo in the bathroom - instead there are industrial sized bottles of shampoo fixed to the wall, and the hotel is in an inconvenient location, with only low quality restaurants nearby. To be fair, this hotel does a great job with the cool, hip and trendy factor, but that's it. I hope to never stay at an Aloft hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flintstone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I must say that inspite of the two stars you gave us, you did give a very fair review of your likes or dislikes in a hotel, which is really great. You are correct Aloft is not the traditional hotel. It is a vision of the W Hotel brand which as you know if far from traditional.
In terms of the location we are a block away from 4 subway lines and you can get to Midtown Manhattan in less than 15 minutes, close to Central Park, Columbia University and a number of fantastic places.
We appreciate you taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I'm writing this review primarily to Thank Jermel because I know the hotel manager regularly monitors tripadvisor - which is a good thing. Inevitably, when you travel alot you leave things behind. In this instance I had booked 2 rooms, one for the kids and 1 for us and we left 2 things behind. Jermel was instrumental in returning them to us, and I thank you for the great customer service which seems to be the overwhelming theme of this hotel, customer service.

It's location is great if you are going to Columbia University or the Apollo theater, it's 10 blocks away from the North end of Central Park, just across 110th street you'll find it there. I took advantage of all these things while I was there but ran out of things to do after.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I made sure to give a copy to Jermel and thank him as well. I did however joke with him that I read a scathing review on the site. We got a good laugh.
Jermel is an exceptional and dedicated member of the Aloft team who never fails to go above and beyond to help out guest and coworkers.
Wow...that is what comes to mind in your compliment of the customer service received. The management team know we are lucky to have this team.

Thank you again.

Bertrand, Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Aloft Harlem in August while moving our son to attend Columbia University. When we walked into the lobby, my son said "wow, mom this is really cool". What a great way to start our stay plus the front desk staff were happy to see us! The room was much bigger than any other hotel that we have stayed at in New York. Our stay included a breakfast, there were healthy choices, yogurt, fruit, etc, not a full breakfast. There are some very good restaurants in the area that are within walking distance. I know that some people would be skeptical about the area but we never felt unsafe. We were close enough that we walked to Columbia, some may find it too far but we wanted the exercise. We will stay there again when visiting our son. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank your for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful that your son was so exuberant upon his arrival to the hotel. We appreciate your detailed review of our Re:Fuel (food/snack/soft drinks) area and of the surrounding area. Harlem really is a great neighborhood that continues to get better.
We are glad you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews