We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay here - will be back when in Harlem -XYZ lounge needs refinement”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Albany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“2nd Stay here - will be back when in Harlem -XYZ lounge needs refinement”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As with my first stay, the hotel is lovely. Room was clean, retro, great for the price. Front desk was very friendly. The only negative I have is the XYZ lounge. The bartender (on Monday night)was less than attentive and in fact was more interested in flirting with some guy at the bar while belting out tunes that were playing overhead. It was annoying and unprofessional. When we cashed out she swiftly grabbed the tip before we left. I find that rude - it wasn't busy so can't you wait until we at least get off of our chairs? I would have snatched it back if I had the chance. I hope management addresses this because it certainly doesn't go along with the vibe of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor as street noise kept me awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cab1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
So appreciative for your review. I am happy that you will be back with us and it just pained me to hear about your experience at WXYZ lounge. You can rest assured that we have followed up on this matter and hope that your next experience specifically at WXYZ will be better.
We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    305
    62
    13
    16
See reviews for
158
171
67
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suisun City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I'm a New Yorker who now lives in Cali. When I visit NYC and want to stay in the city, finding hotels that are less than $200.00 per night can be a chore. Upon arrival at Aloft I was initially concerned about on street parking. I'm very familiar with the neighborhood and knew that NYC has alternate side of the street parking rules, and who wants to wake up early to move their car. The recommended parking garage is about 3-4 blocks away. I chose to park streetside( worry free) that didnt have the alternate side rules. The Aloft is a hip looking hotel. Even though the reception area is downstairs, there is a tiny elevator and carts to help with luggage. The lobby/reception area has a very pleasant atmosphere and decor and the staff were outstanding. The room was clean and small which should not be a surprise to any NYC visitor( I've seen smaller for more money). The mini fridge is a joke, they should replace them. Considering the location, I doubt anyone staying here would be in their rooms for large amounts of time anyway, it's NYC!! I found out that the bar area eventually turns into a club. I didn't have a problem with the music, but once the bar closed down the departing crowd noise was a little disturbing. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend Aloft to anyone.

Room Tip: Street view is the best considering the other rooms will be facing walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoNathan910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Aloft Harlem. You detailed description of the hotel and the surrounding area will hopefully give guests some idea of what they have in store.
WXYZ bar never turns into a 'club' per se, but we do have a DJ four nights a week.
We appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Don't understand the good reviews. Hubby and friend say: Arrived at night. Neighborhood seemed very scary. Upon entering the hotel, were engulfed by a deafening and un-welcoming noise since the reception desk is sitting in a bar. Had trouble hearing the receptionist. Had a closet size room barely containing the bed. Had to squeeze into the room after opening the door, and then could barely move in the room. There was no enclosed closet and indeed there would have been no place for a closet door. Bathroom was tiny and with a sliding door for the same reason. Locks on the door were flimsy and were missing some screws. Especially unsettling given the neighborhood. 'View' from the room was of a wall. Got up early wishing to flee the hotel. No regular breakfast in the morning: there were a few pastries for sale but no place to sit. Couldn't find any other reasonable breakfast place nearby. Room was very expensive: had we known in advance how bad this experience would be, we would have either added $50 and stayed in a reasonable place not too far or pay the same price for a little further place.

Room Tip: Go some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Moni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Aloft is a select service hotel so we do not offer a full breakfast. Our wonderful front desk staff will always provide great suggestions of where one can grab breakfast/lunch/dinner in the area. As the name suggests ' a loft' the design is not that of a typical hotel room with walls and closest positioned similarly.
The neighborhood itself is quite diverse and racially mixed with many professionals in the area and major stores and restaurants coming to the area because of that, so not sure what was scary, but i guess NYC can be overwhelming.
As a vision of W Hotels the brand follows a similar style in the layout of the welcome/aloha desk and living room being as one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed her for a business trip. Has a very upbeat, social feel to it. Had a King room. Was a little tight. small bathroom facility, barely there closet space. Clearly not meant for you to stay in the room much, just for sleeping. Even though we had a 6th floor room, the outside noise and music from the 1st floor "club" kept us awake for a lil while. Would only stay here if I absolutely had to, or if I was planning on being out most of the night n just crashing here to get a lil shut-eye.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring City, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Last week we won last minute tickets to see the Metallica show at the Apollo Theater. So last minute we were searching for a hotel for a Saturday night in NYC.

This hotel was great! It was cheaper than other hotels. It was very very clean and bigger than normal NYC hotel rooms. There was room to actually breathe and not be on top of each other. The bathroom area was separated by a nice wall which I liked. It came with complimentary water, coffee, and hot tea. The snackbar downstairs was great too. Typical snack bar .... wraps, sandwiches, yogurts, etc.

Room was very modern. Not the old 60's kinda normal hotel room. Flat panel tv mounted on the wall, extra outlets to plug in all your electronics, etc.

Staff was very very friendly. Quick check in and checkout. You didn't have to walk too far either to find a good place to eat or shop (although we didn't get a chance to shop).

I noticed they had a gym to but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor not above the bar as it was very loud and I can only imagine what the 2nd floor had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dfryer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

first time for me in NYC, and this hotel was a good choice: good price, close to subway, good reception.
I'll take it next time.

Metro D, 1 are close enough, so good place.

general advice for NYC: prepare your feets

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djtonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Nice review. Thank you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in New York City and at the Aloft Harlem. Good advice for all coming to NYC to prepare their feet....lots of walking to do while sight seeing here.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Many people rave about this hotel, presumably since it is "hip", "trendy", "cool" and "modern". These adjectives are very accurate, so if you want a hip and trendy hotel, you will probably love this hotel. By contrast, if you want a more traditional quality hotel (e.g. Hilton, Marriott, or Sheraton) you will probably hate this hotel as much as I did. Here are the features that were very annoying: The elevators had some sort of strong scent that was intentionally added, the tiny lobby had very loud music playing (so loud that I was unable to make a phone call), the small hallway between the elevators and the lobby had the décor (if you can call it that) of a bus station (cement floor and a simple wooden bench), the carpet in my room was dirty, torn and worn out, the first thing that one sees upon opening the room door is a toilet, there is no traditional shampoo in the bathroom - instead there are industrial sized bottles of shampoo fixed to the wall, and the hotel is in an inconvenient location, with only low quality restaurants nearby. To be fair, this hotel does a great job with the cool, hip and trendy factor, but that's it. I hope to never stay at an Aloft hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flintstone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bertrand N, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I must say that inspite of the two stars you gave us, you did give a very fair review of your likes or dislikes in a hotel, which is really great. You are correct Aloft is not the traditional hotel. It is a vision of the W Hotel brand which as you know if far from traditional.
In terms of the location we are a block away from 4 subway lines and you can get to Midtown Manhattan in less than 15 minutes, close to Central Park, Columbia University and a number of fantastic places.
We appreciate you taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bronx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#390 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Harlem
Saint Nicholas Inn
Saint Nicholas Inn
#365 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing