We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for Harlem and NY City experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #217 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for Harlem and NY City experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

It all started with our desire to dine at The Red Rooster Restaurant for my birthday. Instead of staying in the heart of Manhattan, chose Aloft in Harlem. What a wonderful choice that turned out to be! Aloft is close to the vibrancy of 125th in Harlem. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The crowd is very diverse. We enjoyed dinner and drinks at Red Rooster, lunch at Sylvia and spent a lot of time enjoying the surrounding neighborhood. We felt very safe the entire time. There is a wonderful coffee and tea shop right next door. Do not miss it if you are a java or tea lover.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your Great Review! We are glad that you had a great experience at our hotel and in Harlem. We appreciate your feedback and I will share your review with your staff. We hope that your next trip to NYC that you will choose to stay at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    297
    61
    11
    16
See reviews for
151
170
66
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I came here early in the morning to check- in and Ashton was kind enough to let me in early. He was really helpful and friendly.

As far as the hotel goes, I liked it a lot. It was clean, well maintained with friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your Wondeful Review! We are glad that you had great stay at our hotel. We also know that you have many options for hotel accommodations in NYC and we thank you for choosing the Aloft Harlem! We appreciate your feedback about your experience and we look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I decided to check out the Aloft boutique hotel so I could be closer to a friend who was staying at a nearby B&B. This turned out to be a hidden gem of an oasis. Aloft offers a funky, modern, clean and unpretentious alternative to staying in Manhattan. The staff are friendly and energetic although no one offered to assist with removing my bags from the car which was parked at the street (and at night!) owing to the awkward positioning of the entrance - this probably being the only misgiving I had. Otherwise the hotel offers the normal amenities one would expect from a no-frills establishment. However the idea of one big room which serves as bedroom, kitchenette leading to bathroom doesn't really wash with me. Consequently instead if spending 2 nights I decided to bid Aloft adios after just one.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Tebogo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay not ony at our hotel but in Harlem. We know that you have many options for hotel accommodations in NYC and we thank you for choosing the Aloft Harlem. We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Three friends and I stayed at the Aloft in Harlem from June 16-19, 2014. It is a rare jewel, large, comfortable rooms with two queen beds, walk-in shower, colorful furniture, in a clean, safe location. But the staff members are the best reason for staying here, such cheerful, accommodating, friendly, and attractive young people. They are very helpful with directions, recommendations for food, beauty salon locations, and transportation. The rates are reasonable, about half the rates downtown; at first, I was concerned about taxi fares from this Harlem hotel but decided I could take several rides for the difference in rates! The area is very clean and safe. We will certainly remember the nice features, the convenience, the staff's attitudes, and the rates for future visits to New York City.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yfoster129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a great birthday and a great stay at our hotel! We appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel. We look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived at Aloft Harlem fairly early in the day before check in (10 AM). Since the room was available, the front desk allowed us to check in early - we didn't even ask! The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel is just a 10 minute walk to Central park and 5 min walk to the nearest subway station. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff even allowed us to check out late (2pm). My mother is coming to visit in a few weeks and we just booked another night at Aloft Harlem!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shameka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am glad that you had a great stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our staff and our location. I will share this information with our staff. We look forward to having you stay again at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, "artistically put together" and the hotel's exterior and rooms are "a joy to view." Rooms were large and clean The staff were helpful especially the front desk. The price however; was too high. I should have looked around more.

Room Tip: Pick up your ice from the front desk before you go up to your room or you'll be back in your paj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your Great Review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We know you have many options for hotel accommodations in NYC and we thank you for choosing the Aloft Harlem. I will share your experience at our hotel with our staff. We look forward to having you stay at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Aloft Harlem is a nice relatively inexpensive (for New York) hotel and just a10-20 minute walk to Columbia University (depending on how fast you walk and what part of the campus you are going to). Google Maps will show you a short cut through a nice little park, but beware if you are carrying anything heavy because there are some steep steps to get up to Morningside Drive.
When you call, be sure and tell them that you are there for a meeting/conference/seminar at Columbia U. and you should get a special rate. I paid $249.00. The hotel does not have a restaurant (though there is a nice bar and patio) but there are any number of delis and restaurants right on Frederick Douglass ( I strongly recommend Savann Turkish Restaurant-more Mediterranean really). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is modern,very clean, has a coffee machine and safe. and just as an aside, one of the best hair dryers I've ever used! Having said that, while there is plenty of room for your clothes and so forth (unless you are staying for a long time), there are no drawers, which I find disconcerting. And you may need extra hangers. Also, the AC is a bit loud and is located under the TV just about a foot from the bed-but it works really well.

Room Tip: The only thing I would suggest is that you do not get a room, as I did, facing Frederick Douglass be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquaria H, Director of Sales at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing Aloft Harlem for your hotel accommodations near Columbia University. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel and in Harlem. We look forward to having you stay at our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bronx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#395 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#385 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing