We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Hotel in fantastic location, I have stayed in a few hotels in New York - this is by far the friendliest with great concierge service - always very polite and great knowledge. I don't like high-rise hotels (don't use lifts) so this was perfect - stayed on the third floor. The room was very good for the four of us, clean and you couldn't hear any noise from outside.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate, maybe just a little more fruit would be good.

Room Tip: We asked for a low floor - this is what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica_bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,736
    547
    73
    11
    10
See reviews for
789
932
66
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great new boutique hotel in the middle of Broadway - very well presented and great staff

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came to NYC with our daughter to celebrate her 18th birthday. The Pearl was exactly what we were looking for. The room was large, clean, and very attractive. The bathrooms were spacious with seperate tub and shower plus a flat screen tv. The kitchenette in the room with the coffeepot and mini fridge was a nice extra. It was extremely quiet and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on.

We received excellent service. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. The doormen were all very friendly. I do not have one complaint.

The free breakfast was enough for us. It consisted of bagels, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. It was great start to our day. We ate breakfast three mornings and always had a place to sit. It would get a little crowded at times but nothing to complain about. The dining room was not open yet but with all of the food options in NYC who stays in the hotel to eat?

The location was perfect. We were just a few blocks from Times Square, a five minute walk to Rockefeller Center, within minutes of several theaters, about a ten to fifteen minute walk to Central Park, and minutes from the subway stop. Although it is centrally located it is on a relatively quiet street.

It is a wonderful hotel and a perfect place to stay if you want comfort as well as location. I highly recommend The Pearl. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ok_sprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewJersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Staff very friendly, hotel was spotless, bed and bedding so comfortable. The room we had was very roomy. We definitely recommend staying if you want to be in the Times Square area. The continental breakfast could us some fruit.and the coffee in the room was better tasting than the one at the complimentary breakfast. Other than that The Pearl is a pearl in NYC. Gunnytg

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnytgNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I can't recommend The Pearl Hotel highly enough. With so many attractions in New York, not many visitors will want to spend much time in the hotel and that is a bit of a shame since the public areas and bedrooms are freshly decorated and nicely decorated.

The location cannot be any better for anyone who wants to visit the theatres or the Midtown areas and there are plenty of transport options for those who want to travel further afield. We visited the Top of the Rock within 30 minutes of checking in at the hotel and Central Park, the Empire State Building and Grand Central are all within easy walking distance.

Given the location - a few steps from Times Square - we were really surprised by how quiet and peaceful the bedrooms were. We had a great sleep each night and were never bothered by noise.

We spoke with a lot of the staff and every single one was helpful and polite. Special thanks to the receptionist who gave us a recommendation to a great restaurant in Greenwich Village along with great tips for getting around by public transport. The impression we got was: "Nothing's too much trouble" from all the staff.

Other reviewers have commented on the dining options. Breakfast consists of bagels, pastries and yogurts selected self-service style and eaten from plastic plates in an area without enough seats. I considered this was an acceptable offering until the restaurant is complete and was reflected in the excellent day rate I got through Expedia.

Free wine tasting is available in the afternoon but we didn't try this. It would take more than a few glasses of wine to entice me away from the attractions of NYC!

We travelled to and from JFK by taxi for the $45 flat rate, tolls and tips took this to $60. It was only when we got back to the airport that we heard about the Air Train which connects with the E Train for a cost of $5 + subway fare.

I would love to return to the Pearl but I doubt 'll be able to afford the new rates that will apply once the restaurant is ready.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aberbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This hotel is in a great location and is very nice intermsof setup...the junior housekeepers are amazing and takes time to answer whatever questions you may have as well as direct you to various locations and will provide you with whatever extra amenities you require,but i have to say one bad thing about the excutive housekeeper(housekeeping manager)need to learn some people skill,this woman has no idea how to speak to guest she's very rude and talks down to you as a guest when you are requesting extra amenities...i would love to say i am going back there in the summer but i can"t stand the thought of being talked to as a child when i am a paying guest with a right to ask for extra amenities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neveragain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlHotelNYC, Manager at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
I apologize for your feelings of disrespect and want you to know I have addressed it immediately. We want our guests to feel they can ask for anything within reason and it will be given or taken care of directly. We take our guest satisfaction very seriously, and I hope you will give us another chance to show you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Found this hotel on TripAvisor and we were very pleased with The Pearl. My mother and I wanted to stay in the theater district and The Pearl is centrally located. Staff were outstanding! They could not have been more accomodating and helpful. Breakfast is included and is quite nice.Rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for either a business visit or for fun.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 466 in New York City
2,835 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 466 in New York City
3,523 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#61 of 466 in New York City
3,195 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#74 of 466 in New York City
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing