We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of space for less money”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Pearl benefits from it's smaller size that makes a more personal atmosphere. You feel welcomed from the first minute and the staff takes time to assist you. Rooms are comfy, nicely decorated and huge compared to NYC standard. No fridge or minibar but Hells Kitchen offers alot of bars and restuarants. Lobby could be a bit more exciting but the important thing is of course the room and it´s perfect. I would definetly consider to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,920 - 1,926 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel was under $400/night , had a friendly staff, good location for theater & clubbing, and close to 2 subway lines. What made it a standout was the balcony right on 49th St! You can walk out and get a real private taste of Manhattan if you take this upgrade.

Room Tip: get the queen bed upgrade with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just recently wrapped up a weekend in NY with my wife as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Service was excellent and you can't beat the location if you want to hit a show or have business in Midtown.

When we're back in NY, the Pearl Hotel is definitely on the short list of places to stay. We'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zonk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

The position was fabulous, the rooms clean and spacious, and well insulated from the noise of Times Square. You will not be sorry if you stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naengland72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Hotel in fantastic location, I have stayed in a few hotels in New York - this is by far the friendliest with great concierge service - always very polite and great knowledge. I don't like high-rise hotels (don't use lifts) so this was perfect - stayed on the third floor. The room was very good for the four of us, clean and you couldn't hear any noise from outside.
The continental breakfast was more than adequate, maybe just a little more fruit would be good.

Room Tip: We asked for a low floor - this is what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica_bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Great new boutique hotel in the middle of Broadway - very well presented and great staff

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We came to NYC with our daughter to celebrate her 18th birthday. The Pearl was exactly what we were looking for. The room was large, clean, and very attractive. The bathrooms were spacious with seperate tub and shower plus a flat screen tv. The kitchenette in the room with the coffeepot and mini fridge was a nice extra. It was extremely quiet and the bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on.

We received excellent service. The front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. The doormen were all very friendly. I do not have one complaint.

The free breakfast was enough for us. It consisted of bagels, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice, tea and coffee. It was great start to our day. We ate breakfast three mornings and always had a place to sit. It would get a little crowded at times but nothing to complain about. The dining room was not open yet but with all of the food options in NYC who stays in the hotel to eat?

The location was perfect. We were just a few blocks from Times Square, a five minute walk to Rockefeller Center, within minutes of several theaters, about a ten to fifteen minute walk to Central Park, and minutes from the subway stop. Although it is centrally located it is on a relatively quiet street.

It is a wonderful hotel and a perfect place to stay if you want comfort as well as location. I highly recommend The Pearl. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ok_sprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#21 of 470 in New York City
276 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#27 of 470 in New York City
3,191 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 470 in New York City
3,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 470 in New York City
3,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £168 - £500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing