We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #21 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a small, chic hotel located in the theater district. It is quiet, chic, clean, affordable, and a great breakfast is included in the price. I would highly recommend it for one person travelling alone. It might be a bit small for two people, but then again, how much time do you spend in a room in NYC?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    538
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
774
928
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Pearl Hotel was absolutely fantastic, gorgeous room, great staff, wonderful location, and a free breakfast to boot. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

From the moment we stepped out of our cab we were made feel so welcome .
The friendly doorman and the staff at the front desk made checking in a breeze and our 1st visit to NYC so memorable.We were upgraded to a big spacious room with a balcony that looked over 49th St! The hotel is relatively new and the rooms and bathrooms are lovely and modern. The continential breakfast was included and was a perfect way to start the day.The hotel is situated just off Broadway and is only a few minutes walk down to Times Square. The Concierge was very helpful and gave us hints and directions to get to subways etc to see the sites. The hotel also had free WiFi which most of the other hotels we stayed at in the States charged for.My husband and I loved everything about the Pearl and will keep recommending it to our friend and relatives travelling to NY. We hope to get back there one day!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We've stayed at a lot of hotels in New York. We've stayed in luxury hotels with rooms so tiny, you could stand in the middle and touch all four walls, in chain hotels that are impersonal and in hotels that purport to be luxurious but fall well below that. We loved The Pearl from the moment we walked in. The lobby is welcoming and well-designed and the rooms are large, modern, comfortable and quiet, this despite being on very busy West 49th Street. There are lots of big drawers for clothes, a coffee machine even complimentary bathrobes. The complimentary breakfast may not be gourmet but it is just fine to start one's day and the fitness room, while small, has high quality equipment. For next time (and there will be one), would it be possible to equip the fitness room with a Swiss ball and a Bosu?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisafitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We booked 4 nights at the Pearl through Expedia. Though we were a bit unsure about all the ravishing reviews, we now concur that they are all very well deserved! Location, cleanliness, comfort, quietness in spite of the busy location, extremely helpful staff, starting from the solicitous doormen, to the desk personnel, to the concierge, always eager to help with highly useful tips.

We had wanted to see "The Book of Mormon" right across the street, but the show was booked till September.... So, we contented ourselves to hang around after the show to see the performers emerge from the service door to be surrounded by admirers and autograph seekers. On Sunday we saw them on the big screen in Times Square in connection with the Tony Awards. For our part we are giving a Tony Award also to the Pearl Hotel! We have already recommended it to three other couples planning to visit NYC. It's fun to share a good find (when you get to find one, a rarer and rarer occasion nowadays...)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingSvvimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The location is perfect. Our room was large, modern, and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. The complimentary continental breakfast needs work, but didn't bother me too much. Will definitely stay at the Pearl again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andiamo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

When you're directly across the street from the hottest ticket on Broadway, "The Book of Mormon", you get an extra treat watching the daily lottery for 10 tickets to purchase. The hotel adds a continental breakfast and one hour hosted wine reception from a second floor perch that keeps you visually glued to the theater traffic.

Room Tip: 10th floor balcony can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tagabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,774 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,463 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#73 of 466 in New York City
3,999 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing