We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, polite staff, not impressed with the room and the breakfast”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, polite staff, not impressed with the room and the breakfast”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is located very close to all the theaters and venues!!!
All the member of staff were really polite and helpful!!

The room was new and I guess for NY standards pretty good.
There was noise in the rooms maybe a combination of street noise, the fan coils and the lifts!

Finally I was surpised to find out that the breakfast was served in a place with very uncomfortable chairs and tables (very low to dine...)
Only PLASTIC CUTTLERY AND CAPS were available.
The sort of breakfast you will get with maximum 10 dollars in the city.
I just want to let you know what to expect cause sure this was not the breakfast I was expecting to have. Even if it is presented as complimentary a lot of people may decide to stay there cause breakfast is included.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Takis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    536
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
768
927
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Advertised as a boutique hotel. Nice location in the theatre district. Rooms
are modern but nothing special. Price on par with other places in that area of the city.
Continental breakfast included in our rate.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gatordiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Came to the hotel by good recomendations of tripadvisor, and the hotel is in a great location, next to times square, but without any noise in th room. We did take a balcony that is perfect to have breakfast, a beer, or whatever, etc...

The rooms very clean and with very good space avaible, very good bed, and the most important for me, no noise at all even if you are near of one of the nosiest zone of new york :)

Breakfast that is included is good with patisserie, muffins, bagels, etc..., fresh fruits (only banana and apples), good to start the day. the restaurant that is side by side has a discount or promotional offer if you have dinner in it..

Our problem was that the last days after a shopping day, we do left a Momas's big bag with some gifts for friends and family in the room and in the afternoon after housekeeping made the room, and once we started to make the baggage’s, the bag wasn't there. we did search in all the room, etc.. no bag appeared. We did ask in the front desk and where told they will investigate about it. next day on our check out the bag wasn't found (they did asked to the housekeeping woman, and looked at the videos outside the rooms we're told). So no solutions for a stolen bag in our room!!!!!!!!

Thanks god it wasn't expensive gifts, but ......

We where offered to be money recovered for the amount of the goods buyed (50 $) in 1 or 2 weeks and felt ok with the solution offered even if it's no normal that in a hotel like this your bags are lost/stolen by someone in your room... we where told that they'll inform us about the final inquires about our bag (as if it was found we did prefer to have it that the money recovery...). Some days after having no news, we did write a mail asking about that, and where told that nothing did changed, the bag wasn't found, etc... and they did told us to us to contact police if we wanted to go further (we're from Spain so you can imagine i'm not going to go to New York and do call our insurance for the goods stolen..... so the recovery in our credit card of the mount stolen by someone in they're hotel finally did never arrive.....

A very bad end for an easy thing to solve after a 4 day and 1600 $ stay...

Can not recommend it and will never come back only because of not feeling easy letting things in the room.... without being lost

Room Tip: good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JMPINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Pearl for 4 nights in August and really like the location of the hotel - a quick walk to the hustle and bustle of Times Square, but far enough away so that you're not right in the middle of all that chaos.

My boyfriend booked the room and I balked when I saw the bill, but I guess $300/night is the going rate for a room in NYC and you do get what you pay for with the spacious room and the fantastic location.

Wine and cheese reception is 4-5pm which is a little early I think. The one time that we went, there were only 3 others there. But there are WAY more important things to do than the wine and cheese reception! The included continental breakfast was standard fare but nothing that I really wanted to eat - cereal, instant oatmeal, muffins, bagels, croissants, apples, bananas, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. We only ate there once and the other days, we just got juice before we headed out for the day and found breakfast elsewhere.

We had a room on the 14th floor, the room was very spacious, TV in the room and bathroom (which took us a while to figure out how to use), not much of a view but it was quiet, clean and suited our needs. Front desk staff was very helpful as were the doormen. No complaints about the Pearl!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KymmieGibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Loved this hotel, right next to Time Square, Broadway & all transport. It is very clean, comfortable & a complimentary continental style breakfast - that we found superior to any contintal breakfast that you get in other Hotels. The staff were lovely especially Emmanuel, very helpful & pleasant. I would recommend this small Boutique Hotel to anyone. We were very happy Aussies & pleased that we had chosen this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank possie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Conveniently located on the 49th street off the worst bustle of Times Square. Smartly designed lobby with a small restaurant & bar downstairs. Very friendly staff at the desk and check-in went smoothly. Got a spacious room on the 14th floor which was great. Large space with a desk and comfortable bed. Walk-in closet including amenities (bath robs etc.) Washroom was clean and bright with a separate TV. Room also had an espresso machine and modern air condition (low noise level). 14th floor room was quiet and great for getting a relaxing sleep. Only minor downside was the quite moderate breakfast that only included basic selection of bread, bagels, yogurt and coffee / tea, orange juice. Was sufficient for a light breakfast though. All in all, a good value hotel with central location and friendly and efficient staff. Will visit again if the prices stay moderate.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you have the opportunity to stay here, grasp it quick.
The (3rd floor) room was superb (although no view), the beds were sooo confortable. Whilst there was only two of us in a room with two doubles, it would be well suitable for a family. Room and bathroom were spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The complimentary continental breakfast is adequate to set you up for the day and although the breakfast area is small, there is usually somewhere to sit. The free wi-fi is very useful.
The location is another plus, very near Times Square and all other sights via nearby subway stop.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keziahjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,714 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,550 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing