We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pearl is a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Pearl is a gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

On high recommendation of a friend, we stayed at the Pearl on our November visit to New York. We could not have made a better choice.

First of all, the property is new and perfectly designed. A small hotel, nicely situated mid-block on west 49th. You are directly opposite Book of Mormon at the Eugene Oneill. We were placed in a king room with balcony, facing 49th street, on the tenth floor. The room is stylish, modern designed. You have a fridge, sink and microwave, desk, wi-fi, even a TV in the bath. Good shower pressure and two showerheads. The bed is fantastic. Everything is high quality and works perfectly. King superior room was roomy enough, but the large balcony added 150 square feet-- enough for two to lounge comfortably. One minor issue--- if you are an ice person like myself, you will find that lacking-- no ice available on the room floors. ask at desk and they bring it.

The door is heavy and seals up tight, so noise was not at all an issue. We slept soundly. We were not theater-going on this trip, but the location would be ideal for those travelers. You are a quick walk to times square, broadway and rockefeller. there are two metro stations nearby for downtown/east village people. Cleanliness was fine, doorman always on duty, management and desk staff were perfect.

I cannot recommend this property more highly. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sleepycapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,690
    529
    68
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
907
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have stayed in some expensive, 'luxury' city hotels but none have offered the value, comfort and service of The Pearl.

The hotel is small in comparison to the other high rise hotels but this is a huge bonus as you receive a truly personal service from the friendly staff.

The Pearl is in a superb location as all the main NY attractions are right on your doorstep so no need for taxis. Considering you are right in the middle on the city once in your room you cannot hear the hustle and bustle outside. We had a queen suite which was impressive. A fantastic modern bathroom, kitchenette and sitting area and large comfortable bedroom.

The hotel also owns the excellent restaurant next door and offers a 15% discount for guests. This is perfect for when you have been out all day having walked for miles, get back to the hotel to freshen up, are hungry and don't want to walk any further for a good meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travelHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goliad, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The Pearl truly is a gem. This quaint boutique hotel has comfortable beds, clean rooms which are quite large I might add and friendly service. It is located right in the heart of Times Square. Chicago is playing right next door and Book of Mormon is across the street but I never heard a sound when I was sleeping. I stayed 4 nights and couldnt have asked for a better location or experience. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road but was quiet as a mouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louloubellDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed the last week of November for the tree lighting. The hotel is in an excellent location for walking to theaters. The Book of Mormon is across the street, Chicago is adjacent, Sister Act is 4 blocks. The proximity to the theaters cannot be stressed enough.

And here's the "gem" part--the rooms are quiet! Once you retire to your room, the noise of the area stays outside. The beds are comfy and plush. There is a coffee maker in the room and continental breakfast (consisting of oatmeal, bagels, pastries, cereals and fresh fruits) is served during generous morning hours. There is also a hosted happy hour although we were never back in time to enjoy it. Service is excellent and friendly!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sduprie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Pearl Hotel extremely well located. Walking distance to Broadway, Times Square, Central Park, and many other venues. It was easy to drop back to the hotel to refresh before going out again. Rooms are nicely outfitted and very clean. There was occasionally some street noise, but that is probably a given in NYC. Nearby is the Playwright Tavern which offers great value, as does the Food Emporium and PAX whole foods. The hotel breakfast offering is quite varied, although the room is smaller and it can get crowded at times.
The Pearl staff was very helpful and friendly.
A great place to stay in NYC. We'll go back to The Pearl again !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldogs36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently had the pleasure to stay at the Pearl Hotel in NYC, in the Times Square area; the stay, accommodations and hospitality was outstanding; my experience was nothing less than extraordinary. From the staff that went out of their way to be accommodating, kind and welcoming; the services and accommodations were exceptionally clean and comfortable. I will return often when business or pleasure brings me to New York City. I am enormously grateful for having such an exceptional and marvelous hotel experience in an amazing city. Great Job and Accolades and Props to the staff at The Pearl Hotel NYC. Daryl DeLuca, Boston

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here over Thanksgiving. Was very impressed with this hotel. Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was VERY nice and is all you need to start your day. Happened to get back to hotel one of our nights and enjoyed the wine reception /snacks after a full day of shopping. Just what we needed to regroup! As far as the rooms are concerned, the beds were comfy, plenty of outlets for recharging your toys, safe in room (eye-level), bathroom was beautiful with awesome fixtures! Philosophy products, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, and lotion. What is not to love about that? Iron, ironing board, and umbrella in closet. Last thing to mention is the location. Just a few blocks off Time Square, and within walking distance of the Theatre District, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, and Rockefeller Center.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbinWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,571 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
3,302 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing